The Fire in the Glass

The Charismatics

Book 1
Vaughan Woods Publishing
Free sample

Immerse yourself in a gothic world of deadly intrigue, supernatural power and simmering romance.

In the gaslit streets of Edwardian London, someone is draining the blood of the city's mediums. Lily Albright knows who's next.

For as long as she can remember, Lily has been plagued by visions of the future. Never once has she been able to prevent the horrors she foresees from coming to pass.

Now a mysterious fiend is stalking London. The tabloids shriek of vampires but Lily knows the killer is a different kind of monster, one who could be caught and brought to justice before he strikes again.

When her quest to identify the murderer takes her to a bedchamber where one of society's most notorious widows lies dead, she is forced to team up with the reclusive Lord Strangford, a man haunted by his own unusual powers. To save the life of someone she loves, Lily must ask Strangford to face unimaginable horrors, and is compelled to reveal her darkest secrets to a man she has little reason to trust.

Somewhere in the city, a killer is hell-bent on an unspeakable harvest with the potential to reshape the future of the human race. To stop him, Lily must face a past rife with betrayal—and embrace the power she has spent her entire life trying to escape.

Grab The Fire in the Glass and dive into a smart, page-turning new historical fantasy series perfect for fans of Libba Bray, Charlie Holmberg or Lydia Kang.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jacquelyn Benson writes smart historical fantasy where strong women confront the stranger things that occupy the borders of our world. She once lived in a museum, wrote a master's thesis on the cultural anthropology of paranormal investigation, and received a gold medal for being clever. She owes a great deal to her elementary school librarian for sagely choosing to acquire the entire Time-Life Mysteries of the Unknown series.

Her debut novel, The Smoke Hunter, was nominated for Best Historical Fiction by RT Times. When not writing, she enjoys the company of a tall, dark, and handsome English teacher and practices unintentional magic.

If you'd like to be friends, you may find her everywhere @jbensonink or join the email list at jacquelynbenson.com.

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Vaughan Woods Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 30, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
494
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781734559910
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / Gaslamp
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Magical Realism
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Young Adult Fiction / Magical Realism
Young Adult Fiction / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.