Helliconia Spring

The Helliconia Trilogy

Book 1
Open Road Media
Free sample

The Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author and Science Fiction Grand Master delivers a sweeping epic of a planet suffering deadly conditions of alternating extremes in this Nebula Award finalist

Helliconia follows an eccentric orbit around a double-star system with a twenty-six-hundred-year cycle of very long seasons. As spring slowly breaks the brutally long winter, humans emerge from hiding and a long sequence of civilization and growth begins to repeat again, unbeknownst to the participants but watched by an orbiting satellite station, Avernus, created by Earth some centuries ago. Humans free themselves from slavery to the aboriginal Phagors, and religion and science flower and expand.

Brian W. Aldiss has, for more than fifty years, continued to challenge readers’ minds with literate, thought-provoking, and inventive fiction. Helliconia Spring’s prescience with regard to climate change is nothing short of extraordinary.
Read more

About the author

Brian W. Aldiss was born in Norfolk, England, in 1925. Over a long and distinguished writing career, he published award‐winning science fiction (two Hugo Awards, a Nebula Award, and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award); bestselling popular fiction, including the three‐volume Horatio Stubbs saga and the four‐volume the Squire Quartet; experimental fiction such as Report on Probability A and Barefoot in the Head; and many other iconic and pioneering works, including the Helliconia Trilogy. He edited many successful anthologies and published groundbreaking nonfiction, including a magisterial history of science fiction (Billion Year Spree, later revised and expanded as Trillion Year Spree). Among his many short stories, perhaps the most famous was “Super‐Toys Last All Summer Long,” which was adapted for film by Stanley Kubrick and produced and directed after Kubrick’s death by Steven Spielberg as A.I. Artificial Intelligence. Brian W. Aldiss passed away in 2017 at the age of 92. 
Read more


8 total

Additional Information

Open Road Media
Read more
Published on
Apr 1, 2014
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Angst und Entsetzen sind allgegenwärtig. Überall und zu jeder Stunde greifen sie in mannigfaltiger Gestalt und mit eiskalten Klauen nach ihren Opfern...

...wie in der Geschichte von einem ganz speziellen Totentanz...

...oder in der Geschichte von dem Schloss, welches am Rand der Welt und somit an der Grenze zum entfesselten Chaos liegt...

...oder in der Geschichte von der Frau mit Namen Mittwoch...

...oder in der Geschichte von der harmlosen Telefonzelle, die sich in eine Schreckenskammer verwandelt, aus der es kein Entrinnen gibt...

...oder in der Geschichte von der ermordeten Hexe, deren Geist grausame Rache an ihrem Mörder nimmt...

...oder in der Geschichte von einem Vampir, der sich in einer post-apokalyptischen Welt ernste Probleme mit einem Ghul, einem Werwolf und einem anderen Vampir einhandelt...

...oder in der Geschichte von einer ganz besonders perfiden fleischfressenden Pflanze...

...oder in der Geschichte von dem Mann, der das Grab seiner verstorbenen Frau zu lesen lernen will...

...oder in der Geschichte von der jungen Frau und ihrem Zwiegespräch mit einer Epidemie, die bereits die gesamte Menschheit ausgelöscht hat.

DREIZEHN SCHATTEN, der fünfte Band der Horror-Reihe 13 SHADOWS aus dem Apex-Verlag, die ganz in der Tradition legendärer Heftroman-Reihen wie GESPENSTERKRIMI und VAMPIR-HORROR-ROMAN steht, versammelt neun ausgewählte Horror-Erzählungen von Mervyn Peake, Michael Moorcock, William Tenn, Robert Presslie, Brian W. Aldiss, E.C. Tubb, Eric Williams, Theodore Sturgeon und Christian Dörge.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.