365 Days

Open Road Media
15
Free sample

National Book Award Finalist: The Vietnam War as seen through the eyes of an army doctor—“a book of great emotional impact” (The New York Times).
 In 1968, as a serviceman in the Vietnam War, Dr. Ronald Glasser was sent to Japan to work at the US Army hospital at Camp Zama. It was the only general army hospital in Japan, and though Glasser was initially charged with tending to the children of officers and government officials, he was soon caught up in the waves of casualties that poured in from every Vietnam front. Thousands of soldiers arrived each month, demanding the help of every physician within reach. In 365 Days, Glasser reveals a candid and shocking account of that harrowing experience. He gives voice to seventeen of his patients, wounded men counting down the days until they return home. Their stories bring to life a world of incredible bravery and suffering, one where “the young are suddenly left alone to take care of the young.” An instant classic of war literature, 365 Days is a remarkable, ground-level account of Vietnam’s human toll.
Read more

About the author

Ronald J. Glasser, MD, is the bestselling and National Book Award–nominated author of 365 Days, an account of his experiences as an army doctor during the Vietnam War. Dr. Glasser has written several investigations of trauma in modern warfare, including Broken Bodies, Shattered Minds, and Wounded: Vietnam/Iraq, as well as the general medical studies The Light in the Skull and The Body Is the Hero. He is also the author of the novels Another War, Another Peace and Ward 402.     
Read more
4.8
15 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Published on
Jan 22, 2013
Read more
Pages
292
Read more
ISBN
9781453290392
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Medical (incl. Patients)
Biography & Autobiography / Military
History / Military / Vietnam War
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An army doctor’s classic Vietnam War memoir—a National Book Award Finalist and “a book of great emotional impact”—plus two powerful novels (The New York Times).
 
Published in 1971 with the Vietnam War still raging, Ronald Glasser’s unflinching memoir of one doctor’s experience with the human cost of the devastating conflict was hailed by William Styron as “a moving account about tremendous courage and often immeasurable suffering . . . [A] valuable and redemptive work.” 365 Days quickly became a powerful anti-war statement of the time that still resonates today, selling over two hundred thousand copies.
 
Turning to fiction, Glasser continued to draw on his own experience as a doctor in the Vietnam War and as an intern in a pediatric ward to craft novels of gripping drama and heartfelt poignancy.
 
365 Days: In 1968, as a serviceman in the Vietnam War, Ronald Glasser, a pediatrician, was sent to Japan to work at the US Army hospital tending to children of officers and government officials. But he was soon caught up in the waves of casualties that poured in from every Vietnam front. In 365 Days, Glasser reveals a candid and shocking account of that harrowing experience, giving voice to the wounded, the maimed, the dead, with unflinching candor and compassionate humanity.
 
“The most convincing, most moving account I have yet to read about what it was like to be an American soldier in Vietnam.” —Newsweek
 
Another War, Another Peace: Assigned to Southeast Asia during the Vietnam War, an idealistic young doctor forms an unlikely bond with his driver, a battle-hardened soldier, as they struggle to bring medical aid to Vietnamese villagers.
 
“The author of the remarkable classic 365 Days has in this small novel written with such power about a young American doctor in the war zone that surely he has added another memorable book to the literature of those ghastly years.” —Gloria Emerson, author of Winners & Losers
 
Ward 402: In this gripping, authentic, and impassioned novel, an intern on pediatric Ward 402 fights to save an eleven-year-old girl with advanced leukemia, which her parents believe to be terminal.
 
“[Dr. Glasser] can describe a medical emergency in a way that makes the entire scene spring to life. . . . This is good and exciting writing.” —The New York Times Book Review
From the era of slavery to the present day, the first full history of black America’s shocking mistreatment as unwilling and unwitting experimental subjects at the hands of the medical establishment.

Medical Apartheid is the first and only comprehensive history of medical experimentation on African Americans. Starting with the earliest encounters between black Americans and Western medical researchers and the racist pseudoscience that resulted, it details the ways both slaves and freedmen were used in hospitals for experiments conducted without their knowledge—a tradition that continues today within some black populations. It reveals how blacks have historically been prey to grave-robbing as well as unauthorized autopsies and dissections. Moving into the twentieth century, it shows how the pseudoscience of eugenics and social Darwinism was used to justify experimental exploitation and shoddy medical treatment of blacks, and the view that they were biologically inferior, oversexed, and unfit for adult responsibilities. Shocking new details about the government’s notorious Tuskegee experiment are revealed, as are similar, less-well-known medical atrocities conducted by the government, the armed forces, prisons, and private institutions.

The product of years of prodigious research into medical journals and experimental reports long undisturbed, Medical Apartheid reveals the hidden underbelly of scientific research and makes possible, for the first time, an understanding of the roots of the African American health deficit. At last, it provides the fullest possible context for comprehending the behavioral fallout that has caused black Americans to view researchers—and indeed the whole medical establishment—with such deep distrust. No one concerned with issues of public health and racial justice can afford not to read Medical Apartheid, a masterful book that will stir up both controversy and long-needed debate.
Since 1927, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the world’s most influential internal medicine resource. In the ground-breaking 25th edition, your original purchase ensures you will be up-to-date without the need for a subscription. Through the new, more powerful Expert Consult eBook platform, this "living text" provides continuous updates that will integrate the latest research, guidelines, and treatments into each chapter, ensuring that the content is as current as the day this edition was first published.

Goldman-Cecil Medicine

offers definitive, unbiased guidance on the evaluation and management of every medical condition, presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine. A practical, straightforward style; templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this dynamic resource quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need.Expert Consult eBook version included with print purchase:

Access continuous updates

from Editor Lee Goldman, MD, who thoroughly reviews internal medicine and specialty journals, updating online content to reflect the latest guidelines and translating that evidence into treatment.

Interactive Q&A section

features over 1,500 board-style questions and answers to aid in preparing for certification or recertification exams.

Outstanding supplementary tools

include figures, tables, videos, heart and lung sounds, treatment and management algorithms, fully integrated references, and thousands of illustrations and full-color photos.

Search all of the text, figures, supplementary material, and references from the book on a variety of devices and at no additional cost — Expert Consult access is included with this title!

Practical, bulleted, highly templated text

with easy-to-use features including flow charts and treatment boxes.

New chapters

on global health, cancer biology and genetics, and the human microbiome in health and disease keep you on the cutting edge of medicine.

Today's most current evidence-based medicine guidelines help you form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible.

Focused coverage of the latest developments in biology includes the specifics of current diagnosis, therapy, and medication doses.

The reference of choice for every stage of your career!

Goldman-Cecil Medicine is an ideal learning tool for residents, physicians, and students as well as a valuable go-to resource for experienced healthcare professionals.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.