Bombay Bhel

Loquent Press
Free sample

Like the city’s ubiquitous snack food, Bombay Bhel blends a variety of ingredients to serve up glimpses of life among the Goan and Anglo-Indian communities—minorities in one of the world’s most cosmopolitan cities. The interlinked stories are set in the late twentieth century, before a wave of anticolonialism crested across India and resulted in the city’s rechristening.

A schoolboy’s loyalty to a street vendor is tested when the vendor disappears without notice. A grandmother prepares to begin a new chapter in her life. Bombay’s tangled web of bureaucracy threatens the livelihood of an ex-serviceman. Each story in this debut collection offers a taste of the rhythm and verve of Bombay life.

Fans of Jhumpa Lahiri or Rohinton Mistry will enjoy this collection.

Praise for Bombay Bhel:

"Each story a jewel, a gem to be treasured and savored." -- Renita D'Silva, author of Monsoon Memories and The Forgotten Daughter

"Treat yourself to a trip through one of the most misunderstood, beautiful, smelly, thrilling, complex cities in the world and meet some of its most enticing denizens." -- Paul Dyer, author of Elixir of Death

"Doyle's deep empathy for his colorful characters shines through in every story and sentence." --Tara Masih, award-winning editor and author of Where the Dog Star Never Glows

Keywords: bombay stories, short stories, mumbai india, indian authors, indian fiction, indian writers, multicultural fiction, world literature

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Ken Doyle was born in Bombay, India, into a family with Portuguese and Anglo-Indian roots. He moved to the USA for graduate studies and currently lives in Madison, Wisconsin with his family. His first collection of short fiction, Bombay Bhel, was published in 2013 and was followed by Gateway of India in 2015. His other projects include literary fiction and science fiction for young adults.
Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Loquent Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 12, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
192
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781507030998
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Asian American
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Short Stories (single author)
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.