The Countess: A Medieval Scottish Romance

· The Bride Quest Book 4 · Deborah A. Cooke
28 reviews

About this ebook

Driven from her late husband's estate, Countess Eglantine de Crevy fled to wildest Scotland to claim a castle, only to find a ruin—and a clan chieftain standing guard. Kinbeath was hers, she declared, vowing to rebuild the manor and launch a bride quest so her daughters could marry for love. But Duncan MacLaren had devised a bride quest of his own, swearing to win the land—and the fiery countess—in a war of sweet seduction…

Eglantine vowed she would never be captured by this barbarian. Yet Duncan awakened passions she had never known before. She promised to fight him with every weapon at her command, even as he vowed to woo her for a year and a day—and make her his pagan bride.

Each thought Kinbeath the prize most desired, a prize to be won at any price. Until passion turned to love, and the chieftain found himself fighting for the heart and the hand of the woman he was born to possess. 

* * *

The 6-book Bride Quest series is two linked trilogies. Begin with book #1 or book #4.

1. The Princess

2. The Damsel

3. The Heiress

4. The Countess

5. The Beauty

6. The Temptress

There are also two boxed sets available, The Bride Quest I Boxed Set with books 1-3 and The Bride Quest II Boxed Set with books 4 - 6.

* * *

scottish medieval romance, medieval romance, widow, second chance at love, highlander, sexy romance, class war, enemies to lovers, scotland, protector, highlander, later in life

28 reviews
catherine hole
December 2, 2015
Enjoyed it!! Will read more of the authors work
Did you find this helpful?
Debbie Martin
April 7, 2017
I enjoyed this story very much.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sinah Essack
September 8, 2022
A very good and interesting read
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Deborah Cooke sold her first book in 1992, a medieval romance called The Romance of the Rose published under her pseudonym Claire Delacroix. Since then, she has published over fifty novels in a wide variety of sub-genres, including historical romance, contemporary romance, paranormal romance, fantasy romance, time-travel romance, women’s fiction, paranormal young adult and fantasy with romantic elements. She has published under the names Claire Delacroix, Claire Cross and Deborah Cooke. The Beauty, part of her successful Bride Quest series of historical romances, was her first title to land on the New York Times List of Bestselling Books. Her books routinely appear on other bestseller lists and have won numerous awards. In 2009, she was the writer-in-residence at the Toronto Public Library, the first time the library has hosted a residency focused on the romance genre. In 2012, she was honored to receive the Romance Writers of America’s Mentor of the Year Award.

Currently, she writes the Dragonfire series of paranormal romances featuring dragon shape shifter heroes under the name Deborah Cooke. She also is writing the True Love Brides series of medieval romances as Claire Delacroix, which continues the story of the family introduced in her popular title The Beauty Bride. Deborah lives in Canada with her husband and family, as well as far too many unfinished knitting projects. 

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.