A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning

· A Series of Unfortunate Events Book 1 · Sold by Harper Collins
1.19K reviews

About this ebook


In the tradition of great storytellers, from Dickens to Dahl, comes an exquisitely dark comedy that is both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted. Never before has a tale of three likeable and unfortunate children been quite so enchanting, or quite so uproariously unhappy. 

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

1.19K reviews
December 29, 2016
It's so much deeper than a children's book. It has internal messages on society, on the system on which we run, on morality, and the world is so much more than page-deep. An attentive reader (or an obsessive fan who's been reading and rereading the books since they were 7... I mean what?) will notice small details. The series leaves you with more questions than answers, but those questions can be answered by analysing ASOUE, reading supplementary material, or talking with other fans. Enjoy!
33 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
January 15, 2017
I absolutely fell in love with these books from the very beginning. The openings are always so funny (for me) and amazing. The characters all have their interesting qualities that make the unique. The plot is simply entertaining and fantastic! But what i absolutely lover best of all is the fact that they try to expand one's vocabulary by offering higher vocab words and also providing an explanation to the word's meaning and/ or use in the context provided. What more could you possibly ask for in a book? 5/5
40 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Vanessa Curran
January 3, 2015
I have never read anything better than these series I have never read this book but I have read numbers 3 4 5 and 6 of these series and I cannot wait until number 7 comes to my library it was so good I couldn't put it down With all do respect grade 4 girl😇🐶
29 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Lemony Snicket had an unusual education which may or may not explain his ability to evade capture. He is the author of the 13 volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events, several picture books including The Dark, and the books collectively titled All The Wrong Questions.

Brett Helquist's celebrated art has graced books from the charming Bedtime for Bear, which he also wrote, to the New York Times–bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket to the glorious picture book adaptation of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.