Bordertown

Gregory James
Free sample

Seven missing. One dead. No hope.

The Australian outback is beautiful, idyllic, peaceful, and all Detective Bo Campbell has to do is fit in.

Within a day of his arrival, however, he's asked to cover up the murder of a local Aboriginal woman found in bushland. When he discovers she's not the only one, his whole world comes crashing down.

In 1982, north-western New South Wales is plagued by corruption, deaths in custody and inequality. Sent to the remote area after he accidentally shot and killed his partner in a bungled drug raid in Newtown, Bo finds himself caught in a trap and being squeezed by a ruthless group who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Bo only has one choice: will he save himself or risk everything to fight for truth and justice?

In this harrowing, fast-paced novel, survival of the fittest takes on a whole new meaning. With his life and career crashing down around him, Bo gets help from those least expected. But who will pay the ultimate sacrifice?

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Gregory James
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 22, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
391
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780648490616
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

‘I honestly can't give this book enough praise… without doubt being added to my top ten of 2018… an absolute must read… I couldn't put it down.’ A Booking Good Read, 5 stars

 

As he watches his daughter turn the corner and out of sight, he hears the shots. He’d know that sound anywhere. He shouts her name. Silence. All he can do is run.

 

It’s been five years since Zac’s daughter was murdered. Her killer was never found. Now he’s back working as a detective for the Metropolitan Police, and he’s more determined than ever to bring the city’s killers to justice.

 

When a man is found brutally murdered in a rundown south London shop, all fingers point to the highly intelligent and manipulative Darian Wallace. He’s just been released, and two years ago the victim helped send him to prison.

 

Still grieving, Zac knows it will take everything he’s got to catch this dangerously clever killer. But just as he feels he’s getting closer, he realises all is not quite as it seems and makes a devastating personal discovery.

 

Zac has a choice to make – risk letting this killer escape or watch his daughter’s murderer get away again…

 

An absolutely gripping thriller for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Lee Child. Bring Her Back is one fast-paced thriller you won’t be able to put down.

 

This book was previously published as The Murder List

 

What readers are saying about Bring Her Back:

 

‘Wow… What a brilliant debut. A fast paced, captivating thriller that will have you hooked throughout. What an opening to this story! Poor Zac! … made me keep reading, kept me intrigued.’ Between the Pages Book Club

 

‘A fast-paced, action packed and exciting novel … if you like Tania Carver, Stuart MacBride or Jane Casey then you must read this!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Exhilarating… a pacy and tense ride... hugely gripping and exciting… If you enjoy dark crime thrillers with plenty of suspense and intrigue then I highly recommend this book.’ Hooked From Page One

 

‘Brilliant...  I absolutely loved… Addictive reading… You can’t tear your eyes away … I was totally gripped… Absolutely blew me away… One of my top reads of 2018.’ Ginger Book Geek

 

‘Amazing! Gripping from start to finish, with spectacular writing, pacy and tense, this book is nothing short of a masterpiece, carefully crafted to transport and mesmerise. A sublime story from one of the best new crime writers of today.’ Renita D’Silva 

‘A very cleverly written police procedural novel with lots of twists and turns to keep you gripped, reaching an explosive finale!  I look forward to the next book of the series!’ Stardust Book Reviews

 

‘This book had me from the opening pages, it kicks off with you holding your breath, by the time you finish it, you needed an oxygen tank. OMG. Wow. I can see this becoming another of my must-read detective series. I love discovering new authors, and this is certainly one that's been added to my 'must read any future books' list.’ I Love Reading

 

‘A very gripping book indeed and there are a heap of twists and turns in this story. I very much enjoyed the relationship that Zac had with his wife and I found myself wanting to try West African cooking as well. I can't wait until the next book in the series comes out.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘An exciting read with plenty of twists and turns. I like a good police procedural so I loved those aspects of the novel where the search for Darian marries modern policing with instinct and experience. They don't always get it right but it makes for fascinating reading as it seems a very realistic portrayal of modern policing.’ Goodreads Reviewer 

‘She lifted the flap of the envelope and pulled out the single white page. As she opened it up she stared, open mouthed. Four words were typed on the page. I am watching you.’

When Amy Whyte and Penny Brogan leave a local nightclub in the early hours of Sunday morning and don’t arrive home, their families are beside themselves with worry. Conor Dowling has just been released from prison, a man full of hatred for Amy, the girl who put him behind bars in the first place.

The case is given to Detective Lottie Parker, when the girls’ blood-soaked bodies are found, days later, in a derelict squat. Chillingly, both girls are clutching silver coins in their hands – what message is this killer leaving behind? All the signs point to Conor but his alibi is water tight.

As Lottie examines Penny and Amy’s final days alive in a desperate search for clues, two more girls are found stabbed to death in a luxury apartment complex. Caught up in what is fast becoming her toughest case yet, Lottie is unaware that somebody is watching her every move.

Then Lottie’s two daughters, Katie and Chloe suddenly disappear from the town centre. Terrified that the killer has her girls, the stakes have never been higher for Lottie. 

But as Lottie puts everything on the line to find her daughters and solve the case, she’s about to find herself in terrible danger – someone has a personal axe to grind with her and they know the best way to get to her is to hurt the ones she loves the most.

If you love Karin Slaughter, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Abbott, you’ll be hooked by this heart-stopping thriller from Patricia Gibney. Final Betrayal will keep you guessing until the very last page. 

Readers are loving Final Betrayal:

‘Another absolutely riveting, gut gripping and unputdownable book from Patricia Gibney!!
Had this read in record time!! From start to finish it was brilliant!! Literally can't wait for the next one and the outcome for Lottie and Boyd!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A dark and gripping read…There are so many heart stopping moments that had me hold my breath. I was carried along by the authors writing, making assumptions along the way. Lets just say nil points to me as I totally got it wrong.
Final Betrayal is a story that is guaranteed to set your pulse racing. I was totally hooked and enjoyed being part of this thrilling journey that I was taken on alongside Lottie whose character I really enjoyed. Without a doubt I will be going back and reading the rest of the books in the series as this just ticked all the boxes for what I look for in a crime series.’ Bytheletterbookreviews, 5 stars

‘I adore Lottie Parker … go pick up the latest release by this fabulous author. Patricia Gibney is the best!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Well I am now a fan of Lottie Parker !! This is my first book in the series but I am off to buy the rest ! Final Betrayal is a page turning, twists and turns book. So many dead bodies.
I can tell you that if I am missing or in trouble , it's Lottie Parker and her team of detectives I want on my side …Can't wait to read more of Lottie's exploits!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘An epic, compelling story …I look forward to getting reacquainted with DI Lottie Parker every time a new book comes out, and I’m yet to be disappointed. In fact, every time one comes out, I make the same mistake of picking it up and starting, not realising I’m going to get very little done until I’ve finished it. Yes, it happened again, I read this book over two days, well I did have to stop to sleep.’ Nigel Adams Bookworm, 5 stars
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.