Alpha Minor

Harriet Walsh

Book 2
Bowman Press
Free sample

The Peace Force has a new recruit, and she's driving everyone crazy. 

From disobeying orders to handling unauthorised cases, nothing is off-limits. Worse, Harriet Walsh is forced to team up with the newbie, because the recruit's shady past has just caught up with her.

Meanwhile, a dignitary wants to complain about rogue officers working out of the station. She insists on meeting the station's commanding officer ... and they don't have one.

All up, it's another typical day in the Peace Force! 

Alpha Minor is set in the distant future, where humanity has colonised the galaxy. It's good clean fun, written with wry humor.

The Harriet Walsh Series

Harriet Walsh 1: Peace Force

Harriet Walsh 2: Alpha Minor

Harriet Walsh 3: Sierra Bravo

 

Keywords: sci fi police, future police, sci fi with strong female protagonist, sci fi crime book, female sci fi, robot books, police robot, robot science fiction, flying cars, society of the future, sci fi policing

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Simon is a huge fan of Isaac Asimov's work, in particular the robot novels and Foundation series. He also enjoys dry, witty comedy, and loves satire.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bowman Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 3, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Humorous
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Get three books in one! Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Hal Spacejock will strike a chord with fans of Red Dwarf and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, while simultaneously forging its own wacky, off-beat path through the cosmos.

Hal Spacejock Omnibus One contains the first three books in the Hal Spacejock series (A Robot Named Clunk, Second Course, and Just Desserts) PLUS a bonus short story: Hal Spacejock Visit.

Hal Spacejock 1: A Robot Named Clunk Clunk's grateful when his boss sends him off for a refit, because old robots are usually junked instead.

Since the upgrade centre is on the next planet, Clunk's asked to perform a trivial little task while he's there: help a freelancer pick up some cargo.

It's a simple job, straight in and out ... but don't be late.

How can he refuse? Clunk's a certified co-pilot, so landing in a deserted field under cover of darkness, avoiding customs ships, orbital lasers and trigger-happy warships along the way, is not a problem.

Unfortunately the freelance pilot is a much bigger challenge, because Hal Spacejock is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and yet he refuses to cede control of his ship to a mere robot.

Worse, Hal's only got 24 hours to pay off his debts, or he'll lose his ship ... and his life.

Can the two of them sort out their differences and deliver the cargo, or will they still be wrestling over the controls when both deadlines expire?

A Robot Named Clunk is one part buddy movie, two parts laughter and three parts madcap adventure.

Hal Spacejock 2: Second Course Hal Spacejock’s cargo business is going so well he’s considering getting into passengers ... especially the beautiful and mysterious Sonya Polarov.
Meanwhile, Rex Curtis runs the galaxy’s biggest freight company, and he’s sick of independent pilots stealing his cargo jobs. He’s determined to make a statement by destroying the biggest nuisance of them all: Hal Spacejock. And all he has to do is ensure Hal’s latest cargo job ends in disaster.
Unaware of the threat and distracted by Sonya, Hal’s time-sensitive cargo sits aboard his ship while the deadline looms ever closer. If he doesn’t get a move on, the late fees will ruin him ... and cost him his life into the bargain.

Hal Spacejock 3: Just Desserts Cargo pilot Hal Spacejock has a problem: his hold is stuffed full of expensive food, and the cheap freezer equipment he bought from Bent Jimmy has just failed ... exactly as Clunk predicted.
Hal needs replacement parts before his cargo rots, and he's forced to abandon his precious ship at the spaceport to go looking for them. Which is a pity, because an secret agent has just decided Hal's ship is ideal for an urgent mission.
Can Hal find the new parts and return before it's too late, or will he lose his ship, his cargo and his livelihood ... again?

Hal Spacejock Visit Hal returns to his ship after a shopping expedition and finds Clunk in a right old state. Break out the crayons and colouring sheets ... they're booked in for a school visit!

Omnibus Two, containing Hal Spacejock books 4-6, is also available.

 Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, science fiction books, scifi ebooks, scifi bargain, science fiction omnibus, robot books, red dawrf

For fans of Marie Lu comes the first book in an epic series that bends the sci-fi genre into a new dimension.
 
 “A truly beautiful novel that redefines the form." —Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of Red Queen

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
      The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than a speck at the edge of the universe. Now with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to evacuate with a hostile warship in hot pursuit.
     But their problems are just getting started. A plague has broken out and is mutating with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a web of data to find the truth, it’s clear the only person who can help her is the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.
      Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, maps, files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.
 
“Prepare yourselves for Illuminae.” —EW.com
 
“[Y]ou’re not in for an ordinary novel experience. . . .”  —Bustle.com
 
“A truly interactive experience. . . . A fantastically fun ride.” —MTV.com
 
★ “[O]ut-of-this-world awesome.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred
 
★ “…stylistically mesmerizing.” —Publishers Weekly, starred
 
★ “[A]n arresting visual experience.”—Booklist, starred
  
★ “[A] game-changer.” —Shelf Awareness, starred

“Brace yourself. You're about to be immersed in a mindscape that you'll never want to leave.”  —Marie Lu, bestselling author of the Legend trilogy
 
"Genre: Undefinable. Novel: Unforgettable." —Kami Garcia, bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures & author of Unbreakable
 
“An exuberant mix of space opera, romance, zombies, hackers, and political thrills.”  —Scott Westerfeld, bestselling author of  Zeroes and Uglies
 
“Stunningly creative. Smart, funny, and romantic.”  —Veronica Rossi, bestselling author of Under the Never Sky
 
“This is one of those rare books that will truly keep your heart pounding.” —Beth Revis, bestselling author of Across the Universe
 
“This book is xxxxing awesome.”
—Laini Taylor, bestselling author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Clunk, a clapped-out robot, is convinced he's about to be junked. Instead, his penny-pinching boss is sending him off to be refurbished.

Being old and wise, Clunk knows there's a catch, but at first it doesn't seem too bad. He just has to help a freelancer pick up some cargo.

Unfortunately, Hal Spacejock - the freelancer - is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and he's never going to let a lowly robot fly his precious ship.

Is there any chance this pair of misfits can lift off, collect the cargo and deliver it in one piece? Or will they fly straight into the nearest star, still bickering and fighting over the controls?



Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, A Robot Named Clunk is the first novel in the Hal Spacejock series. (The first three novels are available in a boxed set called Hal Spacejock Omnibus One, which is cheaper than buying them individually. Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two is also available.)

These novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.

If you get a smile or two out of Hal and Clunk's first outing, you will love the rest of the series.

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.

Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, robot books, robots and empire, Galactic Empires, hhgttg

 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.