Devil In Texas (Lady Law & The Gunslinger, Book 1): Western Historical Romance

ePublishing Works!
4
Free sample

“Adrienne deWolfe has done it again with a rousing adventure set in the Wild West that’s sure to please any lover of Western novels. Deftly weaving rich characters with a sublimely unique plot, DEVIL IN TEXAS is the perfect blend of laugh-out-loud storytelling and heartfelt emotion. --Barbara Ankrum, National Bestselling Author

--Galveston & Lampasas, Texas, 1883--

Pinkerton Agent Sadie Michelson poses as a casino singer to investigate a Texas Senator. Before she can cozy up to her quarry, she must get past his bodyguard, William Cassidy, her long-lost lover.

An outlaw seeking redemption, Cass was lured to Texas by the promise of a Ranger badge. But he hasn't forgotten the sassy siren, who toyed with his heart. When Sadie proposes a truce, Cass suspects she's hiding something.

With assassins dogging their heels, Cass and Sadie uncover a murder conspiracy in the senate. To stay alive, they must do the one thing they're dead set against: trust each other.

PUBLISHER NOTE: Adrienne deWolfe is known for her meticulous attention to historical detail and character development that make her historical western romance stories leap off the page. Fans of B.J. Daniels, Melanie Shawn, C.J. Petit and Nora Roberts will want to read the Lady Law and the Gunslinger Series.

“Adrienne deWolfe's writing is clever and unconventional . . . Guaranteed to please."~ Pamela Morsi, New York Times Best-selling author

"Adrienne is undoubtedly an author to watch. She writes beautifully, with a style as high, wide, and handsome as the Texas sky... Jennifer Blake, New York Times Best-selling Author

Adrienne deWolfe has a great writing style, with plenty of humor and a pinch of naughtiness that is pure delight to the reader."~ Belles and Beaux of Romance

Adrienne deWolfe is a jewel of a find for your keeper shelf.” ~ Christina Dodd, New York times Best-selling Author

"Adrienne deWolfe never ceases to delight. Her spunky heroine's and sexy heroes offer an exciting read every time. The subtle levels and dimensions deWolfe gives her stories and her characters are an added bonus. She is a true storyteller for anyone who enjoys something above the ordinary." ~ Julie Ortolon, USA Today Best-selling Author

“Adrienne deWolfe is a master storyteller” ~ Scribesworld.com

"Adrienne does not just write bestsellers or award winners, she writes from the heart. Each book captures readers’ interest, pulls them in, then leaves readers wanting more. If it is written by Adrienne, one book is never enough.” ~ Bunny’s Book Reviews


LADY LAW & THE GUNSLINGER, in series order
Devil in Texas
Dance to the Devil's Tune

VELVET LIES in series order
Scoundrel for Hire
His Wicked Dream
Seduced by an Angel

WILD TEXAS NIGHTS in series order:
Texas Outlaw
Texas Lover
Texas Wildcat


Read more

About the author

Adrienne deWolfe is a national bestselling author and the recipient of 48 writing awards, including the Best Historical Romance of the Year. She consistently delights readers with sexy, action-packed Romances, including her Wild Texas Nights series and her Velvet Lies series. In addition, she is the author of the bestselling non-fiction ebook series, The Secrets to Getting Your Romance Novel Published.
A fiction-writing instructor who has taught at the college level, Adrienne continues to mentor aspiring authors. She offers fiction coaching and story critiques through her website, http://WritingNovelsThatSell.com.
To read news and excerpts featuring Cass and Sadie, the star-crossed lovers from the Lady Law & The Gunslinger series, visit www.LadyLawandtheGunslinger.com.

Read more
4.5
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
ePublishing Works!
Read more
Published on
May 12, 2016
Read more
Pages
314
Read more
ISBN
9781614178408
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Victorian
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Romance / Western
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
At twenty-seven years old, Mariah Travers has become what she most feared—a spinster and a perpetual adolescent in the eyes of her family and the law. But her fortunes change when her father announces that he has promised her hand in marriage to an old friend and colleague in the House of Lords. Lord Peter deVere, Earl of Dunsford, is not at all who Mariah imagined marrying, but she is willing to take a chance on the older man in order to gain the freedom that only married women are allowed.

 

After a tragic marriage that stretched on for two decades, Peter is hesitant to marry again. But he needs an heir, or else his dastardly nephew, Lord William, will inherit everything he’s worked his entire life to build. But when he meets Mariah, sparks fly that neither of them expected. Their unlikely match stands a chance of giving each of them all the things they never realized they needed.

 

But trouble abounds when the mine that has provided Peter with his fortune is exhausted and the search for new veins of copper begins. On top of that, Lord William isn’t about to stand by and watch his inheritance disappear. His efforts to drive a wedge between Peter and Mariah cause havoc and heartbreak at Starcross Castle, which will take an act of heroic devotion to overcome as Peter sets out to prove that true love is ageless.

 

PLEASE BE ADVISED – Steam Level – Very Hot!

 

If you would like to read about events leading up to December Heart, check out A NEW LIFE, part of the West Meets East series, available now.

 

And be sure to pick up the two accompanying novellas to December Heart, STARCROSS LOVERS and STARCROSS DREAMS. The rest of the series is coming soon!

 

The Silver Foxes of Westminster Series consists of:

 

DECEMBER HEART (and its accompanying novellas)

--Starcross Lovers

--Starcross Dreams

AUGUST SUNRISE (and its accompanying novellas)

--Winterberry Spark

--Winterberry Fire

MAY MISTAKES (and its accompanying novellas)

--Brynthwaite Promise

--Brynthwaite Summer

When the beautiful, hot-tempered Bailey McShane bursts into the cattlemen's saloon, waving her shotgun and accusing the cowboys of theft, simmering tempers start to boil.

Bailey wants restitution for the fence posts that some low-down cowpokes burned to steal precious water from her land.

No self-respecting cattleman would be caught dead siding with a sheep rancher, like Bailey—and yet Zack Rawlins, the youngest, elected president of the Cattlemen's Association, can't resist this pint-sized wildcat with the big blue eyes. With drought-stricken Bandera County on the brink of range war, Zack faces political suicide if he can’t find a way to mend fences between Bailey and his cattle-ranching neighbors.

But what's a cowboy to do with an unpredictable woman who refuses to be tamed?

AWARDS:
4.5 Stars! – Romantic Times Magazine
Winner, Best Historical Romance of the Year, Calico Trails Magazine
Winner, Cameo Award for Strong Woman Characters, Calico Trails Magazine
Winner, K.I.S.S. Award for Heroes, Romantic Times Magazine
Finalist, Reviewers Choice Award (Best Book in a Series), Romantic Times Magazine

REVIEWS:
"With a true understanding of a woman's heart, Adrienne deWolfe brings two special people together. Snappy dialogue, sharp repartee, a realistic portrait of the era—as well as plenty of passion." ~Kathe Robin, Romantic Times Magazine (4.5 Stars)

"Wonderful! Will set your heart racing..." ~Carmel Vivier, Under the Covers

"...A series destined to become everyone's favorite read." ~Genie Romance and Women's Fiction Exchange

"...An excellent, fast-paced novel." ~Harriet Klausner, Paint Rock Reviews

WILD TEXAS NIGHTS in series order:
Texas Outlaw
Texas Lover
Texas Wildcat
"Sadie is hot on the trail of the jewel thief and deadly perp, Maestro, who uses music to transform his victims into thieves and murderers, who follow his command. This is rather heady super-science for a Western novel: it brings to mind the satisfying feel of the TV classic, The Wild, Wild West." ~ D. Donovan, Midwest Book Reviews

--Denver, November,1883--

Maestro's music creates mindless puppets, who commit crimes at his command. To lure the sinister jewel thief out of hiding, Pinkerton Agent Sadie Michelson poses as a wealthy widow.

Fearing for her safety, William "Cass" Cassidy, her hotheaded lover, hatches his own plot to end Maestro's killing spree. But his daring gamble backfires and costs him Sadie's trust.

Now Cass is on the run, hunted by Maestro and the Pinkertons. Torn between her mission and her gunslinging lover, Sadie must stop Cass's showdown with Maestro, or risk losing her badge and her man.

PUBLISHER NOTE: Adrienne deWolfe is known for her meticulous attention to historical detail and character development that make her historical western romance stories leap off the page. Fans of B.J. Daniels, Melanie Shawn, C.J. Petit and Nora Roberts will want to read the Lady Law and the Gunslinger Series.

“Adrienne deWolfe's writing is clever and unconventional . . . Guaranteed to please."~ Pamela Morsi, New York Times Best-selling author

"Adrienne is undoubtedly an author to watch. She writes beautifully, with a style as high, wide, and handsome as the Texas sky... Jennifer Blake, New York Times Best-selling Author

Adrienne deWolfe has a great writing style, with plenty of humor and a pinch of naughtiness that is pure delight to the reader."~ Belles and Beaux of Romance

Adrienne deWolfe is a jewel of a find for your keeper shelf.” ~ Christina Dodd, New York times Best-selling Author

"Adrienne deWolfe never ceases to delight. Her spunky heroine's and sexy heroes offer an exciting read every time. The subtle levels and dimensions deWolfe gives her stories and her characters are an added bonus. She is a true storyteller for anyone who enjoys something above the ordinary." ~ Julie Ortolon, USA Today Best-selling Author

“Adrienne deWolfe is a master storyteller” ~ Scribesworld.com

"Adrienne does not just write bestsellers or award winners, she writes from the heart. Each book captures readers’ interest, pulls them in, then leaves readers wanting more. If it is written by Adrienne, one book is never enough.” ~ Bunny’s Book Reviews


LADY LAW & THE GUNSLINGER, in series order
Devil in Texas
Dance to the Devil's Tune

VELVET LIES in series order
Scoundrel for Hire
His Wicked Dream
Seduced by an Angel

WILD TEXAS NIGHTS in series order:
Texas Outlaw
Texas Lover
Texas Wildcat


©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.