Just Desserts

Hal Spacejock

Book 3
Bowman Press
Free sample

Full of sarcasm, wit, paybacks and humorous dialog. A fun-filled read for all ages!

Hal Spacejock has a problem. His cargo hold is packed with expensive food, and the freezer equipment he bought from Bent Jimmy's bargain bin has just failed ... exactly as Clunk predicted.

Hal needs replacement parts before the cargo rots, and he's forced to abandon his precious ship at the spaceport to go looking for them.

Which is a pity, because a secret agent has just decided Hal's ship will be ideal for her mission ... with or without his permission.

Can Hal find the new parts and return before it's too late, or will he lose his ship, his cargo and his livelihood ... again?

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Just Desserts is the third novel in the Hal Spacejock series. Book four, No Free Lunch, is also available.

This title is also available in Omnibus One, a collection of the first three Hal Spacejock novels. That's usually a better deal than buying the books individually.


Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.
 

Keywords: funny scifi series

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Simon Haynes is the british-born, australian author of the Hal Spacejock, Harriet Walsh, Robot vs Dragons and Hal Junior series, as well as a number of short stories. His work typically features an underdog fighting for survival against far stronger opponents.

Simon is a huge fan of Isaac Asimov's work, in particular the robot novels and the Foundation series. He also enjoys dry, witty comedy, and loves satire.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bowman Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 18, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781877034046
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Humorous
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Exploration
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / Alien Contact
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A cunning rival determined to ruin Hal's business, a Peace Force officer facing a dangerous investigation and a planet with more bugs than a new operating system ... When Hal and Clunk set out to make a fresh start, this wasn't exactly what they had in mind.
Now Hal must choose: take on the rival to save his own business, or help the officer with her first - and possibly last - investigation? Whatever he decides, it's No Free Lunch for Hal Spacejock!

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, No Free Lunch is the fourth novel in the Hal Spacejock series. Book five, Baker's Dough, is also available.

Winner, Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation Award, 2008
One of five finalists in the 2008 Aurealis Awards Australia's Premier Speculative Fiction award
One of six finalists in the 2008 Ditmar Awards


Also available in Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two, along with books five and six in the series. This is usually the cheapest way to pick up all three novels.

Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.


Keywords:comedy scifi with robots


A cunning rival determined to ruin Hal's business, a Peace Force officer facing a dangerous investigation and a planet with more bugs than a new operating system ... When Hal and Clunk set out to make a fresh start, this wasn't exactly what they had in mind.
Now Hal must choose: take on the rival to save his own business, or help the officer with her first - and possibly last - investigation? Whatever he decides, it's No Free Lunch for Hal Spacejock!

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, No Free Lunch is the fourth novel in the Hal Spacejock series. Book five, Baker's Dough, is also available.

Winner, Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation Award, 2008
One of five finalists in the 2008 Aurealis Awards Australia's Premier Speculative Fiction award
One of six finalists in the 2008 Ditmar Awards


Also available in Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two, along with books five and six in the series. This is usually the cheapest way to pick up all three novels.

Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.


Keywords:comedy scifi with robots


Clunk, a clapped-out robot, is convinced he's about to be junked. Instead, his penny-pinching boss is sending him off to be refurbished.

Being old and wise, Clunk knows there's a catch, but at first it doesn't seem too bad. He just has to help a freelancer pick up some cargo.

Unfortunately, Hal Spacejock - the freelancer - is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and he's never going to let a lowly robot fly his precious ship.

Is there any chance this pair of misfits can lift off, collect the cargo and deliver it in one piece? Or will they fly straight into the nearest star, still bickering and fighting over the controls?



Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, A Robot Named Clunk is the first novel in the Hal Spacejock series. (The first three novels are available in a boxed set called Hal Spacejock Omnibus One, which is cheaper than buying them individually. Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two is also available.)

These novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.

If you get a smile or two out of Hal and Clunk's first outing, you will love the rest of the series.

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.

Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, robot books, robots and empire, Galactic Empires, hhgttg

 

The seventh and final book in the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series brings the Garde’s story to a breathtaking conclusion.

The Garde didn’t start this war, but they’ll do whatever it takes to end it once and for all. . . .

The Mogadorians have invaded Earth and the Garde are all that stand in the way, but they’ll need an army of their own to win this fight. They’ve teamed up with the US military, but it might not be enough. The Garde need reinforcements, and they’ve found them in the most unexpected place. Teenagers from across the globe, like John Smith’s best friend, Sam, have developed abilities. So John and the others must get to them before the Mogs, because if they don’t their enemies will use these gifted teens for their own sinister plan.

But after all that has been taken from John—his home, his family, his friends, and the person he loves most—he might not want to put any more lives in danger. He’s got nothing left to lose, and he’s just discovered he has an incredible new Legacy. Now he can turn himself into the ultimate weapon. So will he risk his life to save the world, or will he realize that power in numbers will save us all?

Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic young adult series is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The Fifth Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

Don’t miss the first book in the brand-new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.