The Sea of the Dead

· The Magicians of Venice Book 2 · BHC Press
4 reviews

About this ebook

The battle for Venice might be over, but the war is just beginning… Penelope’s and Alexis’s adventure continues in this exciting second installment of The Magicians of Venice series.

Penelope has accepted her role as the new Archivist for the magicians, but with war brewing on the horizon and the tide of magic on the rise, she’s going to have to learn her way around this new and dangerous world if she has any hope of outsmarting their enemies. 

When Penelope’s friend and fellow archaeologist uncovers a scroll containing a magical secret lost in the Dead Sea for two thousand years, Penelope and Alexis must travel to Israel to find them before Abaddon and Kreios get there first.

To defeat Thevetat and his followers, they’ll need to find a weapon capable of ending him for good. As her old life collides with her new, Penelope will soon discover the price of keeping the magicians’ secrets safe.

4 reviews
Third-party review
I was at a disadvantage since I hadn't read the first book and this one wasnt really interested in catching me up. I found it fairly boring actually and skimmed thru to the end because it dragged for ...
Third-party review
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Full disclosure, when I requested The Sea of the Dead, I did not realize it is the second book in a series (The Immortal City is the ...
Third-party review
Jumping in mid-series is never the best way to get to grips with a story, but even so the beginning of this is not as good as the eventual finish. There's a lot of telling, especially of people's ...

About the author

Amy Kuivalainen is a Finnish-Australian writer who is obsessed with magical wardrobes, doors, auroras, and burial mounds that might offer her a way into another realm. Until that happens, she plans to write about monsters, magic, mythology and fairy tales because that's the next best thing. She enjoys practicing yoga and spending her time hanging out with her German Shepherd, Duke in the beautiful city of Melbourne. 

Her upcoming Firebird Faerie Tale series combines Russian and Finnish mythology with legends, magic, the mysterious firebird and her love of reluctant heroes. Cry of the Firebird, book one in the series, is slated for release fall 2021 from BHC Press.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.