Strong Conviction

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Free sample

Trent Strong is back home in his northern Minnesota lake community after spending ten years working on a Chicago daily newspaper as an investigative journalist covering heinous crimes and traveling to war-torn countries. Sick of all the deaths, and content with returning to a slower pace, Trent buys the local weekly newspaper. But Trent is in town for only one week when an old friend asks him to investigate the Mammoth Paper Mill, which he suspects is polluting a small trout stream beyond EPA standards. Since the mill employs over half the town, the friend hasn't made many friends with his claim. The next day, a woman is found stabbed to death in a lakeshore motel. For personal reasons, Trent is compelled to investigate her death, as well as the paper mill. Are the two related? As Trent investigates, he runs across many people from his past. Some are potential suspects, and others make him question if his move back home was the right one. He starts a relationship with the motel manager, but even wonders if she is somehow involved with the murder. Trent must investigate around a small town sheriff and county attorney running for re-election, out-of-state thugs who want to shut him up, and an entire town that would like the whole thing to go away. What he finds will change his life forever...
Read more

About the author

Trevor Scott was born in Duluth, Minnesota. He is the author of more than thirty mystery/thriller novels in the Jake Adams International Thriller Series, the Chad Hunter Series, and the Tony Caruso Mystery Series. He has a master's in creative writing from Northern Michigan University, and a bachelor's in writing from the University of Minnesota-Duluth. He served in the U.S. Navy as an ordnanceman on the flight deck of aircraft carriers, and as an officer in the U.S. Air Force during the Cold War and the first Gulf War. He has traveled to more than 75 countries, and he currently resides in Nevada and Oregon.
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Jul 5, 2002
Read more
Pages
183
Read more
ISBN
9781627934367
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Jake Adams, former CIA officer and Air Force Intelligence captain, is back with a new thrilling adventure. This second installment pits Jake against some of the most idealistic terrorists ever to strap on a suicide bomb. Jake is hired by a Portland, Oregon company as a private security agent during an international agriculture conference in Odessa, Ukraine. When a world-renowned bio-chemist is murdered, Jake seeks his killer. The scientist had been the foremost authority on chemical and biological weapons, developing the most deadly agents for the former Soviet Union. But now he was supposed to be a staunch opponent of those weapons. Was he still secretly developing those deadly weapons? Across the world, a small group of terrorists poison the entire Johnston Atoll Chemical Agent Disposal System facility on the tiny North Pacific island killing scores of people, and then steal a cluster bomb with over a hundred nerve gas bomblets. Jake battles a deadly group of terrorists who will stop at nothing for their cause. EXTREME FACTION brings all the old agents from the U.S., England, Israel and Russia back together again. The names might have changed, but the games remain the same. Jake travels to the Kurdistan mountain region, where he encounters some of the most deadly, idealistic terrorists on earth. He finds a plot so diabolical, so insidious, that only the most astute would understand it. And those who would normally despise such actions, have actually embraced it this time. Only one man can stop the deadly plan...Jake Adams!
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Jake Adams, former CIA officer and Air Force Intelligence captain, is back with a new thrilling adventure. This second installment pits Jake against some of the most idealistic terrorists ever to strap on a suicide bomb. Jake is hired by a Portland, Oregon company as a private security agent during an international agriculture conference in Odessa, Ukraine. When a world-renowned bio-chemist is murdered, Jake seeks his killer. The scientist had been the foremost authority on chemical and biological weapons, developing the most deadly agents for the former Soviet Union. But now he was supposed to be a staunch opponent of those weapons. Was he still secretly developing those deadly weapons? Across the world, a small group of terrorists poison the entire Johnston Atoll Chemical Agent Disposal System facility on the tiny North Pacific island killing scores of people, and then steal a cluster bomb with over a hundred nerve gas bomblets. Jake battles a deadly group of terrorists who will stop at nothing for their cause. EXTREME FACTION brings all the old agents from the U.S., England, Israel and Russia back together again. The names might have changed, but the games remain the same. Jake travels to the Kurdistan mountain region, where he encounters some of the most deadly, idealistic terrorists on earth. He finds a plot so diabolical, so insidious, that only the most astute would understand it. And those who would normally despise such actions, have actually embraced it this time. Only one man can stop the deadly plan...Jake Adams!
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.