The Goddard Affair: Tales of the Assassin Without a Name #4

· Umberland Press

About this ebook

The Assassin Without a Name is on the hunt, looking for the secret organizations which recently tried to kill him before they can try again. But the work of his trade doesn't stop just because of personal business, so when a new client named Walter Goddard comes around wishing to have a rival eliminated, the Assassin Without a Name takes the job.

Only after the task is complete does he learn that Walter Goddard is a member of the Society for the Progression of Science and Technology, one of the very same organizations he's been seeking. At one of the society’s premiere technology galas, the Assassin Without a Name meets Gwendolyn Morgan, a beautiful widow who has run into problems of her own with the society. Not only does she believe the organization hired an assassin to murder her husband, but she’s certain she’s next. Convincing himself he’s only helping Gwendolyn in exchange for the society’s darkest secrets and not because of his part in making the woman into a widow, the Assassin Without a Name finds himself in the unusual role of protector as the society dispatches their Black Guard watchdogs to kill them both.

The Tales of the Assassin Without a Name series so far...

1. Fine Wine

2. Killing the Dead

3. Night of Zealotry

4. The Goddard Affair

5. Thief's Gambit

6. Assassin's Justice

7. Witch's Imperative

epic fantasy, sword and sorcery, sword, sorcery, assassin, assassin fantasy, dark fantasy, urban, fantasy, mercenaries, steamfantasy, steampunk, thriller, infernal machines, deception, intrigue, assassin's creed, gentleman assassin

About the author

Scott Marlowe lives in Bentonville, AR, the Mountain Biking Capital of the World, where he drinks extraordinary amounts of coffee, rides his mountain or gravel bike whenever the opportunity arises, and writes stories that often end in wondrous, explosive mayhem.

Join his new release email list ( and receive The Hall of Riddles (An Alchemancer Prequel) and The Killing Knife (Tales of the Assassin Without a Name 1-3) as a thank you. The Hall of Riddles features Aaron and Shanna from The Alchemancer series and is exclusive to email subscribers. The Killing Knife collects the first three Assassin Without a Name stories into a single volume. Both are great launching points into their respective series.

You can find more information about Scott online at

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.