One More Kill: A completely unputdownable pulse-pounding serial killer thriller

· Brandon Fisher FBI Series Book 9 · Carolyn Arnold
5.0
4 reviews
Ebook
315
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“Oh my God! I was just taken on a wild ride! I had to hold my breath through most of the book. I didn’t want to put it down, but I had to just to soak in what I just read. Join the FBI in their hunt for a cunning killer.” ~ NetGalley Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

He told her to run. And she did. As fast as her legs would take her, but it wasn’t fast enough…

 

The bodies of a husband and wife are found in a patch of woods in small-town, rural Arkansas by a neighboring farmer. They were shot with an arrow, gutted, and left to bleed out. The killer also removed their eyes and replaced them with large cat’s-eye marbles. The murder method and signature are too bizarre to point toward an isolated incident, and FBI Special Agent Brandon Fisher recognizes this right away. His boss with the Behavioral Analysis Unit, Supervisory Special Agent Jack Harper, confirms that he’s crossed paths with this killer several years ago, and he has a voracious appetite for blood. In fact, Jack’s seen his work firsthand—six times, three couples, in three states.

 

Brandon, Jack, and the rest of the team head to Arkansas for one purpose: to bring down the ruthless and elusive serial killer who calls himself “the Leopard.” Versatile and adaptive, this madman hunts his prey like a wild, hungry cat—tracking them, then striking with swift viciousness. But just as the FBI think they might finally be getting closer to the Leopard’s true identity, he adapts his method and starts killing people faster than ever before.

 

Racing to catch up, and struggling to get one step ahead, the FBI comes to uncover buried family secrets that aid the investigation—while at the same time, flipping it on its head. Suddenly, the hunters are now the hunted. And while this case has haunted Jack since he joined the Bureau, things are about get more personal and dangerous than he ever would have imagined. If he and his team aren’t careful, one of them—or someone they love—may become the Leopard’s next victim.

 

A totally gripping and heart-pounding crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Catherine Coulter.

 

“Gripping, engaging, and atmospheric… Arnold brings depravity, action, and pulse-pounding moments to a gripping crime thriller and police procedural.” ~ Mystery & Suspense Magazine

 

Readers love One More Kill:

 

“A tense, fast-paced, and full-of-action story that got me hooked from the beginning!” ~ NetGalley review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

One More Kill is such a fast-paced, compelling read, I relished every moment!... 5 stars very well deserved here!” ~ NetGalley review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

An unputdownable masterpiece that you must not miss.” ~ NetGalley review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I was glued to every page…” ~ NetGalley review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Another page-turner finished in one day! Tracking a sadistic serial killer by the FBI is a truly thrilling read. I highly recommend it.” ~ NetGalley review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5.0
4 reviews
Leila Brenner
October 14, 2021
Wowzers! This book starts off with ‘thrill of the chase’ and just keeps you enthralled the entire read! I hated putting this book down at night, but if I didn’t, I wouldn’t get any sleep! I wanted to keep reading. I wanted to know what the suspect was going to do next; what the team was going to do; what clues were being left; and where the suspect would make the one tiny mistake that would lead us right to them. Literally, from the very first page, the thrill, the action, the suspense grabbed you by the collar and pulled you right in. I was engrossed in the case and could not – would not – give up until we had something, anything. One More Kill was a non-stop mystery. Working the case with Brandon, Jack, Kelly and Paige; I felt like I was right there with them, sorting out the clues, the past cases, the current cases, trying to think of ways to catch our suspect, waiting for the mistake that would reveal who they were and what was coming. I felt their emotion – the anger, the stress, the worry, the adrenaline, the frustration. I have read previous Brandon Fisher books, but have clearly missed a few in between the last one I read and this current one, but I can confidently say that had absolutely zero effect on my ability to read, follow, and enjoy One More Kill. I know I missed something big from the last book (and will definitely be going back to read it) but it did not detract from One More Kill. I can confidently say that this is a stand alone book and one that is a must read. One More Kill just may be the best thriller I have read this year!
Did you find this helpful?
brf1948
November 5, 2021
The ninth in the Brandon Fisher series, One More Kill by Carolyn Arnold is a sharp, concise story with personable characters who touch your heart. Brandon Fisher has the respect and care of his fellow FBI agents, and a long, storied career behind him that occasionally comes to the fore as flashbacks or memories held by him and some of his co-workers. And those co-workers are in turn personable and loyal, to the shop and their special agent in charge. This is a nasty one, couples hunted down with bow and arrows, their eyes removed and replaced by marbles, and watched as they bled out in the woods. Though there are at least 5 years between known victims, these crimes cover several southern states and were not considered serial kills until this latest, which tied into similar murders 15, 20, and 25 years ago. Fisher and his crew, despite just returning from another severe operation, are up the task and ready to roll. And as usual, this novel is an all-nighter. Couldn't put it down.
Did you find this helpful?
Claudete Takahashi
September 1, 2021
What leads a man to hunt people and maim them? Why treat them as a species to be hunt? What delusional mind is able to do that and does not feel any regrets? His crimes are haunting Jack since the beginning of his career with the FBI and now he and his team are running against the clock to discover the culprit and put him behind bars. This is a tense, fast-paced, and full-of-action story that got me hooked from the beginning! It also highlights Jack's interaction with his team, his self-doubt about his own skills, his family relationships. Very good plot and entertaining!
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.