Mindfulness in Recovery: A Workbook

Angela Melzer, LCSW, OT
Free sample

A mindful and somatic approach to recovery from substances. This book uses mindfulness tools, neuroscience and meditation to help individuals get sober and stay sober through working with and alongside their brain.  It includes multiple meditations and ways to make meditation and mindfulness more approachable. This workbook is used at the Foundry Treatment Center and can be used for individuals in the outpatient program with equal effectiveness.

 

Mindfulness in Recovery has 6 categories, working on a mindfulness concept each day of the week with Sundays off. The categories are built to breakdown the important components of mindfulness while keeping the reader structured and engaged.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Angela is a licensed clinical social worker, and is the mindfulness expert at the

Foundry Treatment Center. Angela built the mindfulness curriculum and teaches mindfulness at the Foundry. Angela has a medical background in occupational therapy, and understands a great deal of the medical model and how mental wellness connects to overall body health. She began her career as a neuro-based occupational therapist, working as an OT for 12 years. Angela moved in leadership and was an assistant director of a sports medicine clinic for three years. She implemented,

opened, and directed an  Integrated Health Program before moving into private practice. Angela teaches mindfulness-based techniques, neuroscience, and other trauma informed therapies to assist clients in addressing their targeted concerns

Helping individuals understand the brain and why/how thoughts are created is powerful in the therapeutic healing process, and empowering as a client.

Angela believes a practitioner should practice what she preaches, and has been

meditating since 2007. She uses all the tools that she teaches, and humbly continues to learn the art of mindfulness in her own life as a counselor, wife, daughter, and mother of two boys.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Angela Melzer, LCSW, OT
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 16, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
241
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781535609418
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Body, Mind & Spirit / Mindfulness & Meditation
Psychology / Psychopathology / Addiction
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon."

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.