Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy

· Bloomsbury Publishing USA
3.1
7 reviews
Ebook
320
Pages

About this ebook

A New York Times Bestseller

This edgy anthology teams up acclaimed YA authors and popular YouTubers to create 13 fairy tales and 13 inspired works--all from a "villain's" perspective, in the vein of Maleficent or Wicked.

Leave it to the heroes to save the world--villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Amerie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon.

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).
3.1
7 reviews
A Google user
This is 13 short stories not anthologies by 13 various writers and 13 BookYoutubers - in one book. I chose to read as I saw it being picked up by many reviewers and gaining various reviews and it was ...
A Google user
In theory I should have at least liked this book. A collection of short stories written in the POV of a villain as they commit acts of villainy. In the wise words of Moriarty: "Every story needs a ...
A Google user
I wanted to love this book so freaking much, you have no idea how much i wanted to love it This is breaking my poor villainish heart into million pieces The title is so beautiful , the cover is so ...

About the author

Amerie is a Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter, producer, and lifestyle bon vivant. The daughter of a Korean artist and an American military officer, she was born in Massachusetts, raised all over the world, and graduated from Georgetown University with a bachelor's in English. She began writing at the age of seven, stories of fairies and pirates and witches and phantoms. She lives mostly in her imagination, but also on Earth with her husband, her parents and sister, and about seven billion other people. When she isn't writing or creating music, she talks books, beauty, and more on her YouTube channel Books Beauty Amerie.

amerie.co
@Ameriie

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.