Young The Giant

Los Angeles quintet Young the Giant expertly juxtapose their adventurous spirit with fearless grace on their new album Mirror Master. As the band’s fourth album, Mirror Master follows 2016's critically acclaimed album Home of the Strange.

“Superposition" comes at a time when everything around us seems to be moving faster than ever, but Young The Giant have found a way to make sense of it all. Expressed through lyrics about the little decisions that enlace, tangle and intersect your path with the people in your life and the ones you’re bound to meet, because together, you are in superposition.

Lead singer Sameer Gadhia explains “Everything in modern life is complicated. Each decision divides into possible alternatives, reflections multiplying within themselves endlessly, like a room of a thousand mirrors. We construct images of how life should be lived: how to act, dress, tweet, and vote, and often times it is easy to lose your true self to the images we create for all to see.

But love is simple, and to love someone is to love all of humanity. It is the closest thing to truth, and even though love can be compromising, painful, and exhausting, we can only see our truest selves in the eyes of another. This is the essence of “Simplify.”

Young the Giant first broke through with their 2010 self-titled debut album, which featured the RIAA-gold certified hits, “My Body” and “Cough Syrup.” This was followed by the release of 2014’s Mind Over Matter, which was both a commercial and critical success and prompted The New York Times to call [Lead singer Sameer Gadhia] “one of the great contemporary rock voices.” Young the Giant continued to brave new themes and sonic landscapes with their wildly adventurous third album, Home of the Strange, anchored by the perspective of the modern American immigrant as most members of the quintet are immigrants or first-generation Americans. Gadhia had an in-depth conversation with NPR’s Ailsa Chang on the topic. The album features hits “Amerika,” “Something to Believe In,” and “Silvertongue.”

Young the Giant is composed of Sameer Gadhia (vocals), Jacob Tilley (guitar), Eric Cannata (guitar/vocals), Payam Doostzadeh (bass), and Francois Comtois (drums/vocals). They’ve sold out performances at historic venues such as Radio City Music Hall, The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles, The Aragon Ballroom in Chicago, Red Rocks Amphitheater in Morrison, and more.

They have become a festival mainstay at high profile outings such as Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, and Governor’s Ball among others. Over the course of their career, Young The Giant has charted 5 singles on the Billboard Alternative Top 10.

Description provided by artist representative

Read more
Top SongsAlbum
Slow DiveMind Over Matter0:47
My BodyYoung the Giant4:04
Brother's KeeperMirror Master4:10
Something To Believe InSomething To Believe In3:48
MirrorballMirrorball / Mind Over Matter (Reprise)3:55
ApartmentYoung the Giant (Special Edition)3:55
Your SideYoung the Giant3:50
IslandsYoung the Giant (Special Edition)4:05
Panoramic GirlMirror Master4:02
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.