Calamus - A TTRPG Map-Maker

In-app purchases
3.3
361 reviews
10K+
Downloads
Content rating
Everyone
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image

About this game

The Calamus is a companion for tabletop roleplaying games, such as Dungeons & Dragons or Pathfinder, that allows you to create huge battlemaps utilizing dozens of hand-drawn tiles, create custom PC, NPC, and FOE tokens, and host games in which players can add and move their own characters in real-time.

The Calamus also features a robust chat, in which you can send messages as yourself or any token you have in play, publicly or privately.

Fog of War and 2x2 Characters have recently been added.

Note: To use the app you will need to make an account, which includes your email address. We only use this for communication such as a lost passcode or rare announcements of new features or bug fixes. We will not sell your email address or spam you. Further, signing up for an account grants you a 7-day free trial in which most of the features of the app are available. After that, you can sign up for a monthly or yearly subscription. You will NOT be automatically charged.

You can find more details on our website: https://trapstreetstudios.com/theCalamus.
Updated on
Aug 16, 2022

Data safety

Safety starts with understanding how developers collect and share your data. Data privacy and security practices may vary based on your use, region, and age. The developer provided this information and may update it over time.
No data shared with third parties
Learn more about how developers declare sharing
This app may collect these data types
Personal info, Financial info and 4 others
Data is encrypted in transit
You can request that data be deleted
3.3
361 reviews
Ben
September 19, 2021
This is a remarkably useful tool marred by some bad design. The actual map making functionality is EXCELLENT. Seriously, top notch. It's very easy to make maps look very good. The UI is pretty rough. Menus aren't very easy to navigate and everything is significantly overdesigned. The devs seemed to want the app to be immersive, but honestly I'd prefer a more basic layout with faster load times and better stability. It crashes a LOT. That, combined with the fairly obscure menu design mean 3/5.
16 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
TrapStreet Studios
September 19, 2021
Thank you for the review. If you can email us at us@trapstreetstudios.com with some specific information about your crashes, we'd be happy to look into the issues.
A Google user
January 30, 2020
The UI is easy to use, and well put together. The map components look amazing and feel like a real map not a cluster of busy renderings like other map making software. I like the connectivity, and being able to sync multiple devices. I like cross platform connectivity also. You can make your maps as simple as you like, or you can build a city and all the surrounding country side. The subscription price is easy to swallow and feels very reasonable. I love this app. Must have!!
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
TrapStreet Studios
February 27, 2020
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback!
Simply Zee
December 5, 2020
The UI is terrible, the tools are a pain to find and use, I couldn't even tell what this app was for until I got an email asking me to subscribe (classic scenario where I downloaded it along with a few other apps of it's sort, and forgot a few days later.) Don't waste your time, if you're okay with paying for a mapping tool, get Illwinter's Floorplan Generator on steam. Best mapping software I've tried. For free maps that are roll20 compatible, go to Dungen.app the maps are basic but good.
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
TrapStreet Studios
December 5, 2020
Thanks Simply Zee. We're sorry to hear the Calamus wasn't what you were looking for in a mobile mapping tool. If you have any suggestions for how we could improve, we'd love to hear them. You can shoot us a line at us@trapstreetstudios.com.

What's new

-Zooming no longer deactivates tools.
-When choosing a tool, the bottom bar title now matches the tool name.
-Can hold on erase tile in toolbar to get an option to erase entire map.