Dong Chinese - Learn Mandarin

4.4
140 reviews
5K+
Downloads
Content rating
Teen
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image

About this app

Learn new words in their full context through thousands of real example sentences, captioned images, songs, and videos.

Understand the building blocks of Chinese characters through full explanations of their component parts and etymology.

Keep track of your progress over time, and find new content appropriate for your level.
Updated on
Nov 22, 2023

Data safety

Safety starts with understanding how developers collect and share your data. Data privacy and security practices may vary based on your use, region, and age. The developer provided this information and may update it over time.
No data shared with third parties
Learn more about how developers declare sharing
This app may collect these data types
Personal info, App activity, and App info and performance
Data is encrypted in transit
You can request that data be deleted

Ratings and reviews

Review by A Google user on January 21, 2020
A Google user
Outstanding app! I've tried a lot of Chinese learning apps, and this is by far and away the best! It properly explains the etymology, the context learning is superb, the amount of repetition is great, the charts are great, the ads are unobtrusive. This is exactly what was in my head when I was thinking of writing my own Chinese app - how did you reach inside my mind??? Edit - those are related YouTube clips, not ads? And it all ties into the learning? Oh man, this app deserves 10 stars!
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Peter Olson
January 14, 2020
Thanks so much for your review! I am a bit curious about the unobtrusive ads, since Dong Chinese does not profit from advertising. Are you perhaps referring to the "recommended media" which recommends videos to watch based on the words you can understand?
4.4
136 reviews
A Google user
November 25, 2019
It's similar to ClozeMaster but includes a lot more features and it aggregates lots of Chinese audio/video content to supplement the vocab learning, which is totally unique. The dictionary is similar and sometimes better than the Outlier dictionary on Pleco. I wish the sentence audio was better than the standard TTS. I also wish I could turn of the AI Challenger sentences because they feel lower quality, especially for beginner levels. But totally worth it!
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Peter Olson
November 25, 2019
Thanks for the feedback! Improving the sentence quality is an ongoing process that I'm working on, and beginner levels will require a significant amount of manual review. In any case I'm glad you found Dong Chinese useful!
Samuel Mitchell
May 8, 2020
Love the app, especially the writing section. I haven't found anything besides filling a page with the same character that teaches stroke order well and that's no fun. Also when I had problems accessing it because of my VPN, the developer contacted me within the hour to get it resolved. Very impressive and reassuring to know they're so involved in this app. I recommend this app 100% (and that includes the subscription).
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Peter Olson
May 7, 2020
Hi Samuel, please contact us at peter@dong-chinese.com and we will gladly help you in resolving the issue.
A Google user
July 13, 2019
This app is AMAZING! Beautifully programmed and easy to use, it incorporates reading, writing, listening, and speaking modalities along with cultural and historical resources. It is an absolute game-changer for working on characters. I literally cried when I saw what I could write after just a few weeks of practice. I have worked on multiple languages using all sorts of resources. I can say that this app is the most helpful I have ever encountered.
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?