Santander Cycles

1.8
4.12K reviews
100K+
Downloads
Content rating
Everyone
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image

About this app

Santander Cycles is the self-service, bike-sharing scheme for short journeys in inner London.
The official Santander Cycles app from Transport for London is the only app to send bike release codes straight to your smartphone. So you can skip past the docking station terminal and get on your bike quicker.
Simply register with your bank card, and use the app to ‘Hire now’ from a nearby docking station. Follow the instructions to get your bike release code. Tap the code into the docking point and you’re good to go!

You can also:
• See up-to-the minute information about which docking stations have bikes and spaces available
• Plan a journey with an easy to follow map
• Receive notifications – for example, summarising the cost at the end of your hire
• View your recent journeys and charges • Save your favourite docking stations
• Become a London Rider - complete challenges and hire cycles to earn entries into a weekly prize draw!

Each bike release code is valid for 10 minutes at your chosen docking station.
Please note the app doesn’t reserve bikes. If there are no bikes available at the docking station, don’t worry. Use the app to find a nearby docking station with bikes, and get another bike release code to use there. You won’t be charged until you use the release code.
You must be 18 or over to hire a bike, and 14 or over to ride one. For full Santander Cycles terms and conditions, see tfl.gov.uk/santandercycles
Updated on
Jun 29, 2022

Data safety

Safety starts with understanding how developers collect and share your data. Data privacy and security practices may vary based on your use, region, and age. The developer provided this information and may update it over time.
No data shared with third parties
Learn more about how developers declare sharing
This app may collect these data types
Location, Personal info and 3 others
Data is encrypted in transit
You can request that data be deleted
1.8
4.12K reviews
Tarun Chakravorty
July 27, 2021
Deleted my one-star review so that I could write another one-star review to express my frustration. The problem with this app is it's reliability on Android. 50% of the time I tried to unlock a cycle and it won't let me. The code that is shown on the app doesn't seem to work on the cycle stands. The app crashes a lot and it is very slow and it's not crashing. Please please fix the reliability of this app. It is my primary means of transport in the city.
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
TfL
July 30, 2021
Hi! Thanks for getting in touch. I'm sorry about your experience with using our app! Its great cycling is your main means of travelling especially with the concern over climate change. Have you tried deleting and installing the latest version of our app and Android? Should help the 'crashing' issue! If not please call us on 0343 222 6666. Sadia
A Google user
October 21, 2019
The app itself is ok. The map takes several seconds to load, which is slow. The service: great price, but availability is an issue. Multiple stations in the same area are often empty. Also, for some reason after I return a bike to an empty station, I must wait a few minutes to rent that same bike again.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Adam Slate
July 28, 2021
I have been unable to use this app. When I log in it greets me by name and gives me a "continue" button, and when I tap that it says "login has failed. I have tried re-installing several times. I have a Moto G Power with all updates installed. I have not been able to find this issue described online anywhere either. The bikes look great, and it's unfortunate that the app doesn't make it easier to rent them.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
TfL
July 30, 2021
Hi Adam! Thanks for getting in touch! I'm sad you haven't been able to log in! You have followed the correct advise of deleting and reinstalling app but sounds like this hasn't helped! Of course its a shame the issues with the app are stopping you from enjoying the joys of cycling! 😣! Please do call us on 0343 222 6666 for further advise! Sadia

What's new

Further improvements to London Riders.