Andy McDermott

Andy McDermott is a former journalist and movie critic who now writes novels full-time following the international success of his debut thriller, The Hunt for Atlantis, which has been sold around the world in more than twenty languages. He is also the author of The Tomb of Hercules, The Secret of Excalibur, The Covenant of Genesis, The Pyramid of Doom, The Sacred Vault, Empire of Gold, Return to Atlantis, The Valhalla Prophecy, and The Shadow Protocol. He lives in Bournemouth, England.
Read more
American archaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband, ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie Chase, search for King Midas’s legacy in the latest thrilling adventure in Andy McDermott’s globe-spanning series.

For Nina Wilde and her ex-SAS husband Eddie Chase, locating the legendary lost city of Atlantis was just the beginning of an even greater quest: to discover what mysterious treasure drew an ancient Atlantean explorer to the Himalayas. But they’re unaware of the risks they face, the secrets gathering around them, and the powerful forces desperate to possess history’s greatest prize.

High in the snowbound peaks, Nina and Eddie uncover a cave guarded by Buddhist monks. There, a shadowy enemy awaits them. And after a vicious battle, Nina finds herself with a fragment of a millennia-old puzzle—and questions only one person can answer: her long-lost grandmother. Drawing on her family’s painful secrets, Nina gains knowledge that will lead her and Eddie from a remote Icelandic retreat to the Hermit Kingdom of North Korea—and expose the shocking truth about the mythical King Midas and a terrifying plot that could doom all humankind.

Praise for Andy McDermott

“Nonstop, relentless extreme action . . . What a fantastic series!”—For Winter Nights, on Kingdom of Darkness

“A fun, frantic read that moves along at a breakneck pace . . . big-time popcorn adventure fun, complete with a dose of history and humor.”—Beauty in Ruins, on The Revelation Code

“Adventure stories don’t get much more epic than this.”—Daily Mirror (U.K.)
For fans of James Rollins and Matthew Reilly comes a gripping, globe-spanning adventure in Andy McDermott’s thrilling series featuring American archaeologist Nina Wilde and ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie Chase.
 
History’s most sought after treasure is now mankind’s worst fear.
 
In Los Angeles, a desperate man seeks out renowned archaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband, ex–SAS soldier Eddie Chase—only to be gunned down in front of them. The assassin is soon identified as a ninety-year-old Nazi war criminal—with the body of a healthy forty-year-old.
 
Following the victim’s final warnings, Nina and Eddie travel to Cairo to inspect the newly discovered tomb of Alexander the Great. But the real find is hidden in one of its treasures—a mechanical guide leading to one of antiquity’s most tantalizing myths: a spring of water said to give eternal life to those who drink it.
 
Nina, Eddie, and a team of Mossad agents realize that the myth is real, and that a group of former SS men who have tasted this water are now hunting for its source. But before they can act, Nina is kidnapped and spirited away to a secret Nazi enclave in Argentina, igniting a fierce, fateful, globe-spanning struggle in which her life hangs in the balance. All the while a terrifying possibility emerges—that the world’s darkest evil could live on forever.
 
Praise for the novels of Andy McDermott
 
“Raises the bar to please adventure junkies who prefer to mainline their action.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review), on The Hunt for Atlantis
 
“A fun, action-filled James Bond/Indiana Jones–esque story.”—Geek Speak Magazine, on Return to Atlantis
 
“Adventure stories don’t get much more epic than this.”—Daily Mirror (U.K.)

Praise for Kingdom of Darkness
 
“When it comes to archaeological adventure thrillers, I’m not sure that there’s anyone writing in the genre today who is stronger, smarter, or more consistent than Andy McDermott. His Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase series is like a mixture of Indiana Jones, James Bond, Dirk Pitt, and Jack Bauer. . . . Kingdom of Darkness is smart, clever, and exciting stuff. . . . If you’re looking for a solid archaeological adventure that is as committed to the history as to the thrills, then this is definitely worth a read.”—Beauty in Ruins
 
“Nonstop, relentless extreme action . . . [McDermott’s] thrillers have become increasingly accomplished, confident and rounded. The characters of Nina and Eddie are so well developed they appear almost to have a life of their own and their story has become arguably the most important aspect of the books. The plots are always exciting, pacey and gobsmacking [and] the runaway train action is matched by heart, with many laugh-out-loud lines as well as other scenes of devastating sadness or cruelty. What a fantastic series!”—For Winter Nights
 
“As ever, Andy McDermott mixes high-action car chases, gun battles and mysterious quests, then shakes them well to provide an explosive cocktail. A breakneck running battle on a speeding train is an absolute classic, reminiscent of Bond films at their best.”—Crime Review
 
“An excellent thriller, exhausting, laugh-out-loud funny and gobsmackingly heartbreaking. If you like high octane thrillers then you cannot miss this book.”—Parmenion Books


From the Paperback edition.
For fans of James Rollins and Matthew Reilly comes a heart-stopping, globe-spanning adventure in Andy McDermott’s explosive series featuring American archaeologist Nina Wilde and ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie Chase.

MYSTERIOUS RUNESTONES.
AN ANCIENT VIKING MYTH.
AND A PROPHECY OF LIFE OR DEATH.
 
In a Stockholm museum, thieves steal an enormous Norse runestone, but not before killing a security guard. When Nina Wilde, head of the International Heritage Agency (IHA), and her husband, ex-mercenary Eddie Chase, arrive to investigate, they are told a chilling story: A scholar has discovered that the stone may be one of two keys to finding the mythological site of Valhalla, where the Vikings predicted the world’s final battle would begin. The second stone lies at the bottom of a Norwegian lake. But when Nina and Eddie race to the scene, they’re hit with a shocking surprise.
 
Covert agents from around the world, including a ruthless mole in the IHA, are drawn into a lethal game, . Then a disturbing secret surfaces from Eddie’s past, involving a mission in Vietnam and a woman he tried to save. Suddenly suspicious of her own husband, Nina cannot afford to stop the perilous search for the artifact. For somewhere in a remote wilderness, two forces are about to converge: one that could save the world . . . and one that could destroy it.
 
Praise for the novels of Andy McDermott
 
“Raises the bar to please adventure junkies who prefer to mainline their action.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review), on The Hunt for Atlantis
 
“A fun, action-filled James Bond/Indiana Jones-esque story.”—Geek Speak Magazine, on Return to Atlantis
 
“Adventure stories don’t get much more epic than this.”—Daily Mirror (U.K.)


From the Paperback edition.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.