Don Miller

Donald "Don" Miller is a best-selling American author and public speaker based in Portland, Oregon who focuses on Christian spirituality as "an explanation for beauty, meaning, and the human struggle".
Read more
In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.”

Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it.

“Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today

“If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA

“For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

Follow Don and Paul as they dive headlong into the deepest of human questions and find answers outside words?answers that have to be experienced to be believed.

Day 1: "Trips like ours are greener grass left unknown for fear of believing trite sayings; sayings that are sometimes true. But our friends back home live an existence under the weight and awareness of times; a place we are slowly escaping; a world growing fainter by the hour and the mile."

Day 13: "It feels again that we are leaving who we were, moving on into the people we will become, hopefully, people with some kind of answers, some kind of thing to believe tht makes sense of beauty, of romance. Something that would explain the red glow against Paul's face, the red glow that seems to be coming off the console . . . 'Did you notice the engine light is lit, bud?' I ask . . ."

Day 83: "I sit in the van, waiting for her to come out when I notice a window in one of the classrooms open, and a backpack comes falling out, spilling a few books onto the lawn. After the backpack comes Elida, falling atop the pack and laying low, peeking back into the window to see if the teacher noticed. She gathers her books, reaches into the classroom and closes the window, then runs toward the van as though this were a prison break."

As you read Through Painted Deserts, you'll soon realize this is not just one man's account of finding light, God, and beauty on the open road. Rather, this book maps the journey you're already traveling . . . or soon will be.

Praise for Chronicles of a Million Dollar Trader

"Focus, tenacity, self-analysis, and intensity. Don Millerconveys the essence of trading in such a compelling anddown-to-earth manner—the reader literally eats, sleeps, andbreathes Don's moments of triumph and exhaustion. Don clearly nailsthe most pertinent points in this business: add to your positionwhen you have a strong hand, fight to dig yourself out of theinevitable abyss, and don't trade when you are tired. This book iswhat professional trading is TRULY about!"
—Linda Raschke, President, LBRGroup, Inc.

"My career as a broker with some of the largest futuresbrokerages in the world has put me in a unique position to evaluatetraders. I've been able to observe many of the best futures tradersin the industry over the past twenty years. And what I can statewith certainty is that Don Miller is one of, if not the, bestfutures traders I've seen. Great traders are able to recognize andadapt to changing market environments. They take their mistakes anduse them to become better traders. Great traders possess the uniquediscipline to manage a losing trade as well as a winning one. Theseare the qualities I have witnessed Don Miller master. The fact thatDon has agreed to share his experiences and insights makes thisbook an invaluable doctrine to all traders and investorsalike."
—Patrick Lafferty, President, Capital Trading Group

"I've had the good fortune of watching Don Miller tradeprofitably in front a live group of full-time traders over atwo-day period of time. The methods Don teaches are solid, and moreimportantly, as you will see here in his book, they've beenconsistently successful. This book goes further than most tradingbooks because you get to live with Don day by day, seeing both hisactual trading along with his mind frame. If you want to learn fromsomeone who has mastered day trading, and has successfully done sofor years, then this book is must reading. Highlyrecommended!"
—Larry Connors, founder, TradingMarkets.com; author ofHow Markets Really Work

"I have personally seen Don trade for several years, and he iscandidly one of the best. His book is enlightening and helpful inunderstanding the mindset of a successful trader."
—Steve Demarest, President, MB Trading

"A true story of sacrifice, hardship, and success. Don Millershares his story to make $1 million in one year in real time, realtrading records, and real life."
—James L. Koutoulas, Esq., CEO, Typhon

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.