William Landay

William Landay is an American novelist who was born in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1963. He is a graduate of Yale University and Boston College Law School. Prior to becoming a writer, he served for eight years as an Assistant District Attorney in Middlesex County, Massachusetts. Landay is the author of the New York Times bestseller Defending Jacob. His previous novels are Mission Flats, which won the Dagger Award as best debut crime novel of 2003, and The Strangler, which was an L.A. Times favorite crime novel and was nominated for the Strand Magazine Critics Award as best crime novel of 2007.
Read more
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
Entertainment Weekly • The Boston Globe • Kansas City Star
 
“A legal thriller that’s comparable to classics such as Scott Turow’s Presumed Innocent . . . Tragic and shocking, Defending Jacob is sure to generate buzz.”—Associated Press
 
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney for two decades. He is respected. Admired in the courtroom. Happy at home with the loves of his life, his wife, Laurie, and teenage son, Jacob.

Then Andy’s quiet suburb is stunned by a shocking crime: a young boy stabbed to death in a leafy park. And an even greater shock: The accused is Andy’s own son—shy, awkward, mysterious Jacob.

Andy believes in Jacob’s innocence. Any parent would. But the pressure mounts. Damning evidence. Doubt. A faltering marriage. The neighbors’ contempt. A murder trial that threatens to obliterate Andy’s family.

It is the ultimate test for any parent: How far would you go to protect your child? It is a test of devotion. A test of how well a parent can know a child. For Andy Barber, a man with an iron will and a dark secret, it is a test of guilt and innocence in the deepest sense.

How far would you go?

Praise for Defending Jacob
 
“Ingenious . . . Nothing is predictable. All bets are off.”—The New York Times
 
“Stunning . . . a novel that comes to you out of the blue and manages to keep you reading feverishly until the whole thing is completed.”—The Huffington Post
 
“Gripping, emotional murder saga . . . The shocking ending will have readers pulling up their bedcovers to ward off the haunting chill.”—People
 
“The hype is justified. . . . Exceptionally serious, suspenseful, engrossing.”—The Washington Post
 
“Even with unexpected twists and turns, the two narratives interlock like the teeth of a zipper, building to a tough and unflinching finale. This novel has major motion picture written all over it.”—The Boston Globe
 
“Yes, this book came out in January. No, we are not done talking about it.”—Entertainment Weekly

BONUS: This edition contains excerpts from William Landay's Mission Flats and The Strangler and a Defending Jacob discussion guide.
Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel

Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.
 
“Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.
 
Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob
 
“A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”—Rocky Mountain News
 
“Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child
 
Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this widely acclaimed second novel of crime and suspense, which was named a Favorite Crime Novel of the Year by the Los Angeles Times and several other newspapers.
 
Boston, 1963. Meet the charming, brawling Daley brothers. Joe is a cop whose gambling habits have dragged him down into the city’s underworld. Michael is a lawyer, always the smartest man in the room. And Ricky is the youngest son, a prince of thieves whose latest heist may be his last. For the Daleys, crime is the family business—they’re simply on different sides of it. Then a killer, a man who hunts women with brutal efficiency and no sign of stopping, strikes too close to the Daley home. The brothers unite to find the Strangler, a journey that leads to the darkest corners of Boston—and exposes an even deeper mystery that threatens to tear the family apart.
 
Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST CRIME NOVELS OF THE YEAR BY
Los Angeles Times • The Guardian • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Kansas City Star
 
“Reminiscent of Dennis Lehane’s Mystic River, the novel takes us into a dark world where goodness is smothered and villainy thrives. . . . I was completely riveted.”—The Boston Globe
 
“A dense and satisfying novel of crime and retribution . . . [Landay has] been touted as the natural successor to George V. Higgins.”—The Independent
 
“A gripping, atmospheric saga.”—The Wall Street Journal
 
“An impressive and satisfying performance.”—The Washington Post
 
“Smart and surprising.”—Esquire
Despues de su extraordinario éxito en Estados Unidos, donde ha ocupado los primeros puestos en las listas de bestsellers, llega a nuestro país el thriller legal del momento

Bestseller internacional Nº 1 en EE.UU


Cuando descubren el cadáver de Ben Rifkin, de tan sólo catorce años, en medio del bosque con tres puñaladas en el pecho, la paradisíaca comunidad de Newton pierde la inocencia de golpe. El ayudante del fiscal del distrito, Andy Barber, se hace cargo de un caso que se convierte en prioritario. Sin embargo, cuando su hijo Jacob, compañero de clase de Ben, es acusado del crimen, Andy no sólo perderá su trabajo, sino que verá cómo el mundo que tanto esfuerzo le ha costado construir empieza a tambalearse. Apremiado por una creciente ansiedad y convencido de que su hijo ha sido injustamente acusado, buceará en Facebook, interrogará a los compañeros de clase del chico, se enfrentará a su esposa Laurie y al infierno de sus orígenes y hará lo imposible para hallar un culpable que permita devolverle la inocencia a Jacob y la paz a su vida.

Defender a Jacob es un magistral thriller legal en el que William Landay cuestiona los límites de un sistema judicial en el que los niños son tratados como adultos, pero, al mismo tiempo, es una soberbia novela psicológica sobre la devoción paterna, que plantea la escalofriante pregunta que ningún padre quiere responder: ¿hasta qué punto conocemos a nuestros hijos?


«Una mezcla de Presunto inocente de Scott Turow y Tenemos que hablar de Kevin de Lionel Shriver». Amazon UK

«Una novela que será comparada con clásicos del thriller legal como Presunto inocente o Anatomía de un asesino». Phillip Margolin

«Una novela en la que nada es predecible. Se admiten apuestas». Janet Maslin, The New York Times

«Intensa, intrigante, apasionante». The Washington Post

«Con unas caracterizaciones y unos diálogos magistralmente construidos, profundidad emocional e implicaciones aterradoras, esta novela no tiene nada que envidiar a las de Scott Turow y John Grisham. No se la pierdan. Booklist
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.