Downpour.com

In-app purchases
4.1
1.21K reviews
100K+
Downloads
Content rating
Everyone 10+
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image
Screenshot image

About this app

The free Downpour.com app gives your Android device access to all your downloadable audiobooks from the Downpour.com e-commerce website, complete with “single-touch” full library and audiobook list views.

No Wi-Fi connection is needed to download your audiobooks. As long as you have a cell connection you can begin your download—but data rates may apply. Once downloaded, you can take your audiobooks with you on the go.

Quick listening — You can start listening to your audiobook as soon as the first track is downloaded to your device. All additional tracks will continue to download in the background.

The Downpour.com app contains well designed playback functionality and controls, including track advance and previous track selection and bookmarking—the app saves your place automatically so you can pick up right where you left off without having to remember where you were. Other key features include track-list view and time elapsed by track/chapter, with on-screen track scrub bar functionality.

Easy Syncing — There is no need for difficult and time consuming transfers/syncing of files between your computer and your Android device. The Downpour.com app will handle all of the technical aspects for you—no more worrying about which file type is the most appropriate for your device.

WHAT’S NEW

◥ AUDIOBOOK RENTALS - First car rentals, then movie rentals, now save a boatload of money with audiobook rentals!

• Get 30-60 days to complete an audiobook.
• Free up space on your device.
• Save up to 70% off retail pricing.

CROSS-DEVICE SYNCING - Now you can listen to your favorite books on all your devices and never lose your place.


OTHER UPDATES
▰ Improved downloads on slow networks.
▰ Added variable playback speed.
▰ Added variable scrub speed.
▰ Individual track downloads.
▰ Individual track deletion.
▰ Save non-rental books to SD storage.
Updated on
Feb 1, 2024

Data safety

Safety starts with understanding how developers collect and share your data. Data privacy and security practices may vary based on your use, region, and age. The developer provided this information and may update it over time.
This app may share these data types with third parties
Personal info, App info and performance, and Device or other IDs
This app may collect these data types
Personal info and Device or other IDs
Data is encrypted in transit
You can request that data be deleted

Ratings and reviews

4.2
1.09K reviews
G Bisco
March 29, 2024
Downpour app does have the ability to adjust playback speed but only at specific speeds. This should be changed to allow the playback speed to be adjusted to any point in the range, as all other such apps do. If this is too difficult, at least the app should add points between .75 and 1, such as .8 and .9. Currently there is only one speed below 100%. A bug in how the playback speed setting works is that if play is paused or stopped, playback speed reverts to 100% and user must reset.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Mary Lou McManus-Richter
March 30, 2024
Have liked the app. There seems to be a rewrite that doesn't work and just installed. All my 30 plus books need to be reloaded. The timer doesn't work. The speed of reading doesn't stay at the setting. Of course no way of contacting company. Downpour got back to me but problem still persist. They tell me to reach out to customer care. Which I have. But they cannot seem to fix the issue. I would love to buy more books but as long as the reader is not working correctly it is not worth it
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Blackstone Audio Books
January 23, 2024
We are really sorry for the trouble and we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We will look into this further! Feel free to reach out to our customer care department for assistance at: customercare@downpour.com
Benjamin Porter
December 24, 2023
I was a big customer years back but stopped as prices rose and selection declined, but I'm back! Selection is now great and prices are good. Prices are a tad more than the major competitor, but that is more than made up by being DRM free! You can use this app to listen, or you can use any app you want! I buy my books from downpour and consume them in Audiobookshelf. If you aren't comfortable seeing that up, I highly recommend Listen Audiobook. Big thanks to downpour for being DRM free!
7 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Blackstone Audio Books
December 5, 2018
We are very sorry for the previous negative experience you had using our app. We are excited to let you know that the app has gone through some major improvements. We would love your feedback if you have time to try again. We greatly appreciate your continued business and hope this message finds you well.

What's new

Bug fixes