Loser

· HarperCollins · Narrated by Steve Buscemi
3.8
4 reviews
Audiobook
3 hr 53 min
Unabridged
Eligible
Want a free 14 min sample? Listen anytime, even offline. 
Add

About this audiobook

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

3.8
4 reviews
Amber Hernandez
June 12, 2018
I haven't downloaded it but I read it in 4 grade and now I'm in 6th and still love it
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
March 31, 2018
I HATE IT
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Jerry Spinelli received the Newbery Medal for Maniac Magee and a Newbery Honor for Wringer. His other books include Stargirl; Love, Stargirl; Smiles to Go; Loser; Jake and Lily; Hokey Pokey; and The Warden’s Daughter. His novels are recognized for their humor and poignancy, and his characters and situations are often drawn from his real-life experience as a father of six children. Jerry lives with his wife, Eileen, also a writer, in Wayne, Pennsylvania.

Steve Buscemi was born in Brooklyn, NY. He has appeared in more than 50 films including Fargo, Reservoir Dogs, Living in Oblivion and The Impostors. He also wrote and directed the film Trees Lounge. On television, he has appeared on L.A. Law and Homicide: Life on the Street.

Rate this audiobook

Tell us what you think.

Listening information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.