Gasping For Air 2

Worker Bee Press
4
Free sample

p { margin-bottom: 0.1in; line-height: 120%; }

FEELING DOWN AND OUT? LOST? THEN COME TO THE LAST CHANCE MOTEL. GASPING FOR AIR IS ANOTHER CHARMING STORY IN THE LAST CHANCE FOR LOVE SERIES WHERE HOPE IS RENEWED AND LOVE MAY BLOOM AGAIN.

Lillian is a woman whose life is miserable. Her husband hits her when he drinks and her grown daughter treats her as a servant. Realizing she is wasting time on two people who don’t care, Lillian leaves her little family of self-indulgent narcissists in search of a more meaningful life.

She flees to Key Largo and finds the Last Chance Motel. There she heals from years of abuse. Hoping to begin anew, Lillian works hard to make a place for herself on the island of sun and play. And she makes new friends, but it is not without cost. Lillian finds herself the victim of a stalker who is bent on making her new life as miserable as her old one. Only this time, Lillian is going to confront her tormentor and she is determined to win.

But it may cost Lillian her life! Sometimes the heat in the Keys just brings out the meanness in people!

Read more
Collapse

More by Abigail Keam

See more
Three Great Mysteries In One Package!

Death By Malice 10

Josiah Reynolds opened her front door to find her neighbor, Sandy Sloan, clutching her little dog, Georgie. “Hi Josiah. Sorry to bother you. Can you keep my dog for a couple of days while I check on my mother? She’s ill and needs help.” Josiah reluctantly said yes, not because she didn’t want to take care of the animal. She had plenty of room for a little dog like Georgie. She was reluctant because she knew Sandy’s mother couldn’t possibly be ill. Her mother was, in fact, dead. Josiah knew this because she had attended the woman’s funeral.

Why would Sandy tell such a lie? And a stupid lie at that. Was Sandy trying to signal she was in distress and needed help? Josiah had no way of knowing that in four hours, Sandy would disappear from the face of the earth, and no one–not, even Josiah, would be able to find her.


Death By Drama 11

Josiah joins an amateur thespian group that puts on plays in quirky places like public parks and crumbling antebellum mansions. It is a way to socialize, and Josiah feels lonely when her boyfriend Hunter stops calling. Since the new play is being staged at Hunter’s ancestral home Wickliffe Manor, Josiah sees this as a win-win situation. She gets to have fun and remind Hunter that she is still alive and kicking. Hint. Hint.

What could go wrong? Everything!

Hunter ignores the acting group including Josiah, and it doesn’t help when the leading lady, Madison Smythe, drops dead on Hunter’s antique Persian rug. To make matters worse Franklin, Hunter’s brother, is arrested for her murder!

Josiah does the only thing she can. She sends an S.O.S. to her daughter Asa to investigate the murder. Asa must also discover why a love note from Hunter was found in the dead woman’s coat pocket. Josiah is ready for romance, but she doesn’t want to fall in love with a cheater . . . and possibly a murderer!


Death By Stalking 12

Josiah, Baby, her mastiff, and Lady Elsmere rush to the rescue of their neighbor, Rosie, who is being harassed by Gage Cagle, a mean, old stump of a man.

Lady Elsmere confronts Gage and has him thrown in jail for trying to extort money from Rosie. Glad to be rid of this loathsome man, Lady Elsmere, Josiah, and Rosie attend the Bluegrass Antique Auction and Ball. To their surprise, Gage shows up and boldly threatens Josiah, Rosie, and even Baby.

Dismissing Gage as nothing more than a loudmouth fussbucket, Josiah enjoys the ball until she stumbles upon Rosie covered in blood and standing over Gage’s near lifeless body. “I didn’t do this,” Rosie swears before fleeing, leaving Josiah trying to save the life of a man they both detest. While Josiah attempts to staunch Gage’s bleeding, she can’t help but wonder, if Rosie didn’t assault Gage, then who did?

Death By Bourbon:  Life takes a dramatic turn for Josiah when she witnesses a death at an engagement party for Matt, her best friend.

Charming socialite Addison DeWitt falls into a fit after taking a sip of bourbon. That would be upsetting enough, but Josiah is sure it is murder. However, no one will believe her except for Lady Elsmere and Meriah Caldwell, the famous mystery writer. The three of them conspire to bring the murderer to justice. It turns out the suspect is always three steps ahead of them.

To make matters worse, Josiah's daughter, Asa decides to move to London, Franklin leaves town, and Jake starts singing a different tune. Josiah doubts her ability to meet the future alone. Maybe it's time to sell the Butterfly and move to Florida with the rest of the old folks.

But Josiah is sure of one thing. There is justice and then there is Kentucky justice.

 

Death By Lotto:  Ethel Bradley thinks someone is trying to kill her, but doesn’t know who or why. She enlists the help of her childhood friend, Lady Elsmere, but Lady Elsmere has troubles of her own in the form of a ne’er-do-well English nephew who’s trying to steal her estate. Both women turn to Josiah Reynolds, who has just returned from New York.

Josiah calls Detective Goetz who recommends a shamus named Walter Neff. Walter and Josiah scour the Bluegrass for answers that turn out to be deadly. To make matters worse for Josiah, Fred O’nan (the rogue cop who tried to kill Josiah in Death By A HoneyBee) is a free man and still gunning for her.

Josiah, full of sass and vinegar, meets these challenges head on with the support of her friends, Franklin and Matt. Will Josiah be thwarted this time?

Kentucky can be a cruel mistress to those wanting justice and exacts a high price for it. Sometimes the “dark and bloody ground” demands double indemnity. This is something Josiah knows very well. Very well indeed.

 

Death By Chocolate:  Josiah Reynolds is tracking down the disappearance of an old friend’s son. But while she is chasing a missing person, O’nan is hot on Josiah’s trail chasing her. And he is threatening, conniving, and blackmailing others to help destroy the woman he thinks ruined his life. Will he finally succeed?

Or will Josiah outwit him as she has always done?

One thing is for sure . . . when Josiah and O’nan finally clash at the Cumberland Falls, will justice will be done? As Josiah always says - there is the law and then there is Kentucky justice.

Will Josiah survive the thundering and treacherous waters of the Cumberland Falls or will O'nan finally push our brave Josiah over the edge?

 

4.5
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Worker Bee Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 18, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
147
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780990678229
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A totally emotional, gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.


Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away…


As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included a bucket list Hallie wrote as a child, for Hallie to complete. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. All the time her childhood best friend Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side.


Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along...


Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything.


Will Hallie be able to fulfill Aunt Clara’s last wish and change her life? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to experience true love?


Why readers are falling in love with Summer at Firefly Beach:


‘I fell in love with this book from the very first page… simply beautiful and if you are a romance fan then this is one not to be missed. I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Amazingly heartfelt and emotional. It's not often that I come across a story that completely moves me to tears, but my gosh has the wonderful talented author Jenny Hale gone and done just that… Absolutely delightful.’ Mixing Reality With Fiction, 5 stars


‘So good I couldn’t put it down! I LOVED Ben and Hallie’s relationship so much… Go grab yourself a copy you won’t regret it!!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This novel is honestly the perfect summer beach read… positive and uplifting… Also, Hallie and Ben? I’m obsessed. I loved their chemistry so much, I could not put the book down because I just HAD to know if they were going to end up together or not!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I am a HUGE fan of Jenny's work and I love her summer books… Ben is perfect. Oh man... I fell hard and fast for him…*Swoon*… This book is the perfect beach read… Grab a copy and curl up with a nice cup of tea (or wine! Wine is good!) and just escape to the beauty of Firefly Beach!’ Starcrossed Reviews


‘Oh how I love this book, and I cannot say enough good things about it… This is the perfect book for summer!... it will leave you with a humongous smile on your heart!’ Kristin’s Novel Café, 5 stars


‘Grab the tissues, curl up on your favourite chair, set aside a reading day and indulge in the new Jenny Hale book. I absolutely adored this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A beautiful love story… I stayed up way too late to finish!... I could envision this beautiful beach town as if I was there… The end is pure perfection.’ Goodreads reviewer


©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.