The Girl from the Corner Shop

Head of Zeus Ltd
1
Free Sample

WW2 Manchester: Newlyweds Helen and Jim Harrison have big plans – to leave the family shop where Helen works and set up home together. But when Jim is tragically killed in an air raid, Helen is heartbroken, her life in ruins.

Battling grief and despair, Helen resolves to escape her domineering mother and rebuild her shattered world. Wartime Manchester is a dangerous place, besieged by crime and poverty. So when Helen joins the Women's Auxiliary Police Corps, working with evacuees, the destitute and the vulnerable, she finds a renewed sense of purpose. She's come a long way from her place behind the counter in the corner shop.

But there's still something missing in her heart. Is Helen able to accept love and happiness and find the courage to change her life?

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Alrene Hughes grew up in Belfast and has lived in Manchester for most of her adult life. She worked for British Telecom and the BBC before training as an English teacher. After teaching for twenty years, she retired and now writes full-time.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Head of Zeus Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Published on
11 Jul 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
416
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788543989
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Historical / World War II
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Police & Law Enforcement
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . .

Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women Police Volunteers. They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of.

But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . .

As Maggie and the girls work together to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

Readers are already loving THE BOBBY GIRLS!

'A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age. 5 STARS' (AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky)

'What a fantastic read. I was gripped from start to finish. So well written. 5 STARS'

'Fabulous book. It was so nice to read of women in the police in war time. Great characters and a great story - well done to the author. 5 STARS'

'A read good story that paints the time period really well. I loved all the characters and their stories. I would recommend this to all. 5 STARS'

A #1 New York Times bestseller, Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year, and soon to be a major motion picture, this unforgettable novel of love and strength in the face of war has enthralled a generation.

With courage, grace, and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of World War II and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women's war. The Nightingale tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love, and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France—a heartbreakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the durability of women. It is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime.

Goodreads Best Historical Novel of the Year • People's Choice Favorite Fiction Winner • #1 Indie Next Selection • A Buzzfeed and The Week Best Book of the Year

Praise for The Nightingale:

"Haunting, action-packed, and compelling." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Absolutely riveting!...Read this book." —Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff, Director of the University of Miami Holocaust Teacher Institute

"Beautifully written and richly evocative." —Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A hauntingly rich WWII novel about courage, brutality, love, survival—and the essence of what makes us human.” —Family Circle

“A heart-pounding story.” —USA Today

"An enormous story. Richly satisfying. I loved it." —Anne Rice

"A respectful and absorbing page-turner." —Kirkus Reviews

"Tender, compelling...a satisfying slice of life in Nazi-occupied France." —Jewish Book Council

“Expect to devour The Nightingale in as few sittings as possible; the high-stakes plot and lovable characters won’t allow any rest until all of their fates are known.” —Shelf Awareness

"I loved The Nightingale." —Lisa See, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Powerful...an unforgettable portrait of love and war." —People


READ BOOK 1 FREE! 

 

Thomas Gallo has been living undercover with the Sun Devils MC for far too long. He’s lost track of his life, becoming absorbed in the excess and violence surrounding him. The only bright light in the darkness is Roxanne, a stripper born and raised as a member of the club.

 

When his assignment with the MC draws to a close, he needs to make a decision— either walk away from Roxanne forever, or take her from the only life she’s ever known

 

But unveiling his true identity may jeopardize more than just his life.


---


Read the entire Men of Inked series:

Throttle Me

Hook Me

Resist Me

Uncover Me

Without Me

Honor Me

Worship Me


---


What people are saying about Chelle Bliss & the Men of Inked Series:


"Everything we LOVE in a book!" -Ana's Attic


"SEXY AS HELL." -The Romance Vault


"Had me WEAK AT THE KNEES!" -Fictional Men's Page


"HOOKED." -United Indies Book Blog

 

"MIND-BLOWING and HOT!" -Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club

 

"Hot and steamy" -Not Everyone's Mama

 

"I was hooked from page one" -United Indies Book Blog


"Steamy with the perfect amount of dramatics. A quick reads you're bound to love!" -Prisoners of Print


Topics: adult romance, family saga, Men of Inked series, siblings, forbidden love, alpha male, romantic suspense, happily ever after, usa bestselling romance, chelle bliss, long romance series, happily ever after, bad boy romance, tattooed bad boy romance, emotional read, men of inked, contemporary romance, dirty talking alpha, sports romance, mma fighter romance, fighter romance, medical romance, doctor, fighter, adult romance books, alpha, alpha bad boy, alpha hero, alpha male, American romance, bad boy, bad boy hero, bad boy romance, beach reads, best romance, best seller series, best selling books free, book free, books by Chelle Bliss, books love stories, brothers, captivating romance, captivating romance free, contemporary, contemporary adult romance, contemporary crush, contemporary romance, contemporary romance books, contemporary romance fiction, contemporary romance free, dangerous romance, dominance, dominant, dominate male, drama romance books, family, family business, family life, family saga, family saga romance, fiction, fiction for women, happily ever after, heart-warming, heartwarming, hot, hot guy, hot romance, hot romance free, insta-love, laugh romance, literary fiction, literary romance, literature and fiction, long romance series, long series, love, love books, love story, modern romance, money, motorcycle club, new adult, new adult romance, opposites attract, opposites attract romance, rich, romance, romance and drama books, romance best seller, romance books, romance contemporary, romance drama love story books, romance fiction books, romance free, romance love, romance novels for women, romance novels free, romance series, romancing saga, romantic saga, romantic suspense, romantic suspense free, romantic thriller, romantic thriller free, sagas, sassy, sassy heroine, seduction, seduction romance, sensual, sensual romance, serial, series, sexy book, sexy novel, sexy romance, something hot to read, sparks, steamy, steamy romance, steamy romance novel, stories, story, strong alpha, suspense, swoon, USA Today, USA Today bestseller, wealth, wealthy, Chelle bliss kindle book, Chelle Bliss love, Chelle Bliss romance, contemporary romance, Florida, free romance books, freebie, new adult, romance love triangle, Tampa, tattoo romance, tattoo bad boy, Florida romance, USA Today bestselling romance, free series starter, opposites attract romance, hot romance, smart romance, hot romance, sexy romance, long series, long family saga, family romance, alpha bad boy romance, tattoo artist, ink romance, funny romance, modern romance, Italian romance, good girl romance, family, love, happily ever after, engagement, drama, action and adventure, romantic suspense series, long romance series, action romance, protective alpha, swoon, loving family romance, siblings, adult romance, family saga, men of inked series, siblings, forbidden love, undercover cop, mc romance, alpha male, romantic suspense, happily ever after, USA Today bestselling romance, Chelle Bliss, long romance series, happily ever after, bad boy romance, tattooed bad boy romance, emotional read, men of inked, contemporary romance, dirty talking alpha, brother's best friend romance, motorcycle romance, bad ass alpha romance, strong heroine, strong female character, undercover romance, mc romance, dangerous romance, police romance, adult romance, family saga, men of inked series, siblings, forbidden love, undercover cop, mc romance, alpha male, romantic suspense, happily ever after, usa bestselling romance, chelle bliss, long romance series, happily ever after, bad boy romance, tattooed bad boy romance, emotional read, men of inked, contemporary romance, dirty talking alpha

 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.