An Imperfect Engagement

· Wiltshire Chronicles Book 2 · Seductive Quill LLC
4.7
12 reviews
Ebook
308
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Planning her wedding takes a dangerous turn, when a woman realizes a member of her engagement party would rather kill her than walk down the aisle.


So far, Miss Samantha Hastings' engagement to Benjamin, Lord Westwood, has been tumultuous at best. Kidnapped by the man who murdered her father, nearly beaten to death, and severely poisoned, Samantha barely manages to escape alive.


When the killer reveals his revenge plot had assistance, the Hastings and Westwood families must band together to defend themselves against a new threat, and Samantha concocts a risky plan to draw the accomplice out of hiding. However, this scheme may cost her more than she is willing to sacrifice. There is a traitor in their midst—one who has already committed murder and is willing to do so again.


The masked ball approaches and, by the evening's end, at least one more person will die. Will Samantha survive until her wedding day... or will her imperfect engagement become a grizzly prelude to murder?


The second book into this intriguing series drags you deeper into the mystery, surrounding the reader in a dizzying array of passion, intrigue, and the richness of the Victorian era. In the vein of Deanna Raybourn and Amanda Quick, this darker installment of the Wiltshire Chronicles will reveal the violent nature of man.


Click now to capture the culprits.


WARNING: Although this book contains a happily ever after for Samantha and Benjamin, it, too, ends with cliffhanger.

4.7
12 reviews
Jamie Jack
June 26, 2019
This is the first book that I have read in this series, and that is unfortunate because this book is certainly not a standalone. The author does try to explain some things at the beginning, but the plot gets thick really fast, so there isn't much time for backstory. So I did find it a little confusing. I might have to go back to that first book, though, because this one is quite a ride, and I am curious to see how it all got to this place. I thought, though, that the characters really didn't seem particularly historical; instead, they seem to have modern sensibilities and just happened to live in what we would call historical times. The book has some issues with grammar, punctuation, and usage--including some unusual ones--so that was distracting at times. But the author does know how to write a good suspenseful and romantic tale that just kept me forging ahead despite the confusion about the greater story and minor annoyance at the grammar. She's able to set time and place well; I could imagine myself in that dingy apartment at the beginning. This book does end on a cliffhanger, so if you don't like those kinds of stories, you might want to pass this one by; I understand the first book of the series ended similarly.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Diane Major
March 16, 2021
Wow! Talk about a creepy cousin, Franklin takes the cake. He goes from a mad man to someone misunderstood back to a mad man. This book was much better than the first one. A real page turner which kept you wanting to learn more and find out what was going to happen next. The family jewels are found but the story doesn’t end. More secrets come to light. I would recommend this book to all. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Did you find this helpful?
Carole Burant
June 20, 2019
This story just keeps getting better and better! The intrigue, the suspense, the secrets, the twists and turns, the danger, the evilness of what man can do, all intermingle with passion, love and humor. The two main characters, Miss Samantha Hastings and Benjamin, Lord Westwood, are so adorable together, I just love them to bits!! This second installment of the Wiltshire Chronicles starts off where the first installment left us...Samantha being kidnapped by cousin Franklin, thus revealing his true self. What she goes through at his hands is absolutely horrible and it's surprising that she even lived through it! At the same time, she learns that he has an accomplice that resides at her brother Edward's estate so their lives continue to be in danger. Every time I think I've figured out who the accomplice is, I'm proven wrong! lol Now I will wait (im)patiently for the third book to come out! I was given an ARC of this book and am voluntarily leaving an honest review.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

USA Today Bestselling Author Alyssa Drake has been creating stories since she could hold a crayon, preferring to construct her own bedtime tales instead of reading the titles in her bookshelves. A multi-genre author, Alyssa currently writes Historical romance, Paranormal romance, Contemporary romance, and Cozy mystery. She thoroughly enjoys strong heroines and often laughs aloud when imagining conversations between her characters. 

Alyssa graduated from the University of the Pacific, with a B.S. in business and a concentration in French literature. Currently she resides in Northern California with her blended family, where she works full-time at a chocolate factory.

She believes everyone is motivated by love of someone or something. One of her favorite diversions is fabricating stories about strangers surrounding her on public transportation. Alyssa can often be found madly scribbling notes on a train or daydreaming out the window as the scenery whips past.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.