American Duchess: A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt

17
Sampuli isiyolipishwa

Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess.  Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.

Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind “the glitter and the gold.”

On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just 18, the beautiful bride has not only arrived late, but in tears, yet her marriage to the aloof Duke of Marlborough proceeds. Bullied into the wedding by her indomitable mother, Alva, Consuelo loves another. But a deal was made, trading some of the vast Vanderbilt wealth for a title and prestige, and Consuelo, bred to obey, realizes she must make the best of things.

At Blenheim Palace, Consuelo is confronted with an overwhelming list of duties, including producing an “heir and a spare,” but her relationship with the duke quickly disintegrates. Consuelo finds an inner strength, charming everyone from debutantes to diplomats including Winston Churchill, as she fights for women’s suffrage. And when she takes a scandalous leap, can she hope to attain love at last…?

From the dawning of the opulent Gilded Age, to the battles of the Second World War, American Duchess is a riveting tale of one woman’s quest to attain independence—at any price.

 

Endelea kusoma
Kunja

Kuhusu mwandishi

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author KAREN HARPER is a former Ohio State University instructor and high school English teacher. Published since 1982, she writes contemporary suspense and historical novels about real British women. Two of her recent Tudor-era books were bestsellers in the UK and Russia. Harper won the Mary Higgins Clark Award for Dark Angel, and her novel Shattered Secrets was judged one of the best books of the year by Suspense Magazine.

Endelea kusoma
Kunja
3.8
Jumla ya 17
Inapakia…

Maelezo ya Ziada

Publisher
HarperCollins
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Published on
26 Feb 2019
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Pages
368
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
ISBN
9780062748348
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Features
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Language
Kiingereza
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Genres
Fiction / Biographical
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Endelea kusoma
Kunja
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Endelea kusoma
Kunja

Kusoma maelezo

Simu mahiri na Kompyuta Kibao

Sakinisha programu ya Vitabu vya Google Play kwa ajili ya Android na iPad au iPhone. Itasawazishwa kiotomatiki kwenye akaunti yako na kukuruhusu usome vitabu mtandaoni au nje ya mtandao popote ulipo.

Kompyuta Ndogo na Kompyuta

Unaweza kusoma vitabu vilivyonunuliwa kwenye Google Play kwa kutumia kivinjari wavuti cha kompyuta yako.

Visomaji pepe na vifaa vingine

Ili kusoma kwenye vifaa vya wino pepe kama vile Sony eReader au Barnes & Noble Nook, utahitaji kupakua faili na kuipakia kwenye kifaa chako. Tafadhali fuata maagizo ya kina katika Kituo cha usaidizi ili uweze kuhamishia faili kwenye Visomaji pepe vinavyotumika.
©2021 GoogleSheria na Masharti ya TovutiFaraghaWaendelezajiKuhusu Google|Mahali: MarekaniLugha: Kiswahili
Kwa kununua bidhaa hii, unatumia Google Payments na unakubali Sheria na Masharti na Ilani ya Faragha ya Google Payments.