Comfort Zone

A John Lawrence Novel

Book 3
Painting the Bridge Books
Free sample

They say lightning never strikes twice, but Rae Holland knows better.

Already dealing with the aftermath of death and betrayal, Rae’s life is thrown into crisis when her neighbour is murdered. She wants to know who killed ‘Smokey’ Joe Whitmore and why.

For John Lawrence, Smokey’s death is an affront to the natural order. Smokey was a brother. A warrior who shared John’s pain and scars. He deserved to die fighting, not trapped in his wheelchair.

But Smokey was a man with secrets. Despite losing his legs in Uruzgan, he established a successful business. If you wanted something dangerous, and had the money, Smokey knew where to get it.

Now his business partners want to know what happened to their money and weapons. They don’t care who gets in their way.

Can Rae and John avoid getting each other killed while they pursue their own leads? At least long enough to find out who killed Smokey?

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Andrew Christie is the author of three novels in the John Lawrence crime thriller series: Left Luggage, Tunnel Vision and Comfort Zone.

As well as the novels, Andrew has blogged about his quest to eat at every restaurant and café along the length of Newtown’s King Street; one of the settings for the John Lawrence stories.

 

By the time his first novel came out, he had spent forty years working as a stagehand, cameraman, gardener and landscape architect. He now lives and writes in an old weatherboard house on the far south coast of New South Wales. The only trait he shares with the dangerous and scarred ex-army lead character of the novels is a love of single malts, flat whites, and bacon-and-egg rolls.

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Painting the Bridge Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 15, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
340
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780992574758
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A gripping, exciting read to absorb you from start to finish! He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.

Alone, trapped in the darkness and with no way out, Bart Campbell knows that his chances of being found alive are slim.

Drugged and kidnapped, the realisation soon dawns that he’s been locked inside a shipping container far from his Edinburgh home. But what Bart doesn’t yet know is that he’s now heading for France where his unspeakable fate is already sealed...

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, they face an impossible task – but there’s no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead...

Get ready for a rollercoaster ride like no other, with the next gripping thriller from the number one bestselling crime author, Helen Fields. The perfect read for fans of M. J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

What readers are saying about Perfect Kill:

"I never thought this author could get better. OMG I was so wrong!!!!! Chilling, dark very dark and utterly gripping. This is a MUST READ, finished this book in a day, it was so good. This read had me glued to my seat and tapping my kindle faster and faster."

"I enjoyed this book so much, I finished within 24 hours." reviewer

"Another absolute belter of a book... 110% recommend this series."

"Wow!! This one has to be the best so far!"

"This book starts out with a bang and it just keeps getting better and better. It's a roller coaster of a ride so buckle up!"

"A gritty hard-hitting thriller."

"A series that gets better and better."

"Wow, this was a brilliant read from start to finish and was a roller coaster of a ride! It was unputdownable and I loved every minute of it!"

"Perfect Kill is thoroughly captivating, thrilling, chilling and a perfectly addictive read."

A father’s murder. A mother’s secrets. Can he protect his family from their deadly past?

Scarred by Afghanistan and out of the Army, John Lawrence wants to re-build his life. When his aging mother is injured in Paris, he brings her back to Sydney, hoping to reconnect with the only family he as left. But Betty Lawrence’s life has been shaped by secrets and loss: she is nobody’s little old lady. As a photojournalist she survived Vietnam, Lebanon and Sarajevo, so she has no intention of letting a broken leg slow her down.

But hidden with Betty’s furniture is the secret that killed John’s father. Its arrival triggers a vicious power struggle, and throws John into the middle of a gangland war. He has to fight to save what is left of his family.

This first book in the John Lawrence series is a gripping crime thriller. Full of suspense and gut-wrenching twists, Left Luggage shines a light into the dark edges of Sydney.

What readers have said:

★★★★★    Intense. Could not put it down. It's 4:30 in the morning. What a great story.

★★★★★    Excellent read. The best book I have read in a while.

★★★★★    I loved this book. A new Jack Reacher on the block?! A very exciting page turner. John certainly can look after himself.

★★★★★    Awesome book right up to the end!!

★★★★★    Ripped through it in a couple of days as I was having so much fun

★★★★★    If you like Jack Reacher, you will like John.

★★★★★    The story line was so intense I could not stop reading.

 ★★★★       This fellow can write. And then some.

 ★★★★       Terrific stories, brilliantly written.

 ★★★★       I love crime fiction and I love Sydney… Very good, more please.

 ★★★★       Definitely want to read more from this author. Best book I've read all year!

 ★★★★       Amazing storyline...Stand out characters...Well recommended.


Amos Decker -- the FBI consultant with a perfect memory -- returns to solve a gruesome murder in a booming North Dakota oil town in the newest thriller in David Baldacci's #1 New York Times bestselling Memory Man series.

When Amos Decker and his FBI colleague Alex Jamison are called to London, North Dakota, they instantly sense that the thriving fracking town is ripe for trouble. The promise of a second gold rush has attracted an onslaught of newcomers all hoping for a windfall, and the community is growing faster than houses can be built. The sudden boom has also brought a slew of problems with it, including drugs, property crimes, prostitution -- and now murder.

Decker and Jamison are ordered to investigate the death of a young woman named Irene Cramer, whose body was expertly autopsied and then dumped in the open -- which is only the beginning of the oddities surrounding the case. As Decker and Jamison dig into Irene's life, they are shocked to discover that the woman who walked the streets by night as a prostitute was a teacher for a local religious sect by day -- a sect operating on land once owned by a mysterious government facility that looms over the entire community.

London is a town replete with ruthless business owners, shady government officials, and religious outsiders, all determined to keep their secrets from coming out. When other murders occur, Decker will need all of his extraordinary memory and detective skills, and the assistance of a surprising ally, to root out a killer and the forces behind Cramer's death. . . before the boom town explodes.
"Reading Hideaway is like a mini vacation, as Roberts transports you from the sun-drenched mountains of Big Sur to the rolling hills of Ireland to the bustling streets of New York City." - Associated Press

A family ranch in Big Sur country and a legacy of Hollywood royalty set the stage for Nora Roberts’ emotional new suspense novel, Hideaway.

Caitlyn Sullivan had come from a long line of Hollywood royalty, stretching back to her Irish immigrant great-grandfather. At nine, she was already a star—yet still an innocent child who loved to play hide and seek with her cousins at the family home in Big Sur. It was during one of those games that she disappeared.

Some may have considered her a pampered princess, but Cate was in fact a smart, scrappy fighter, and she managed to escape her abductors. Dillon Cooper was shocked to find the bloodied, exhausted girl huddled in his house—but when the teenager and his family heard her story they provided refuge, reuniting her with her loved ones.

Cate’s ordeal, though, was far from over. First came the discovery of a shocking betrayal that would send someone she’d trusted to prison. Then there were years spent away in western Ireland, peaceful and protected but with restlessness growing in her soul.

Finally, she would return to Los Angeles, gathering the courage to act again and get past the trauma that had derailed her life. What she didn’t yet know was that two seeds had been planted that long-ago night—one of a great love, and one of a terrible vengeance...
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.