Ancillary Justice

Imperial Radch

Book 1
Sold by Orbit
575
Free sample

Ancillary Justice is Ann Leckie's stunning debut -- the only novel to ever win the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke awards -- about a ship's AI who becomes trapped in a human body and her quest for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey.
"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi
On a remote, icy planet, the soldier known as Breq is drawing closer to completing her quest.
Once, she was the Justice of Toren - a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of soldiers in the service of the Radch, the empire that conquered the galaxy.
Now, an act of treachery has ripped it all away, leaving her with one fragile human body, unanswered questions, and a burning desire for vengeance.

In the Ancillary world:Ancillary JusticeAncillary SwordAncillary Mercy
Provenance
For more from Ann Leckie, check out:The Raven Tower
Read more
Collapse

More by Ann Leckie

See more
4.2
575 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Orbit
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 1, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
432
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780316246637
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / Hard Science Fiction
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Exploration
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An exciting new era of Star Wars history is about to begin--as fantasy and
science fiction's most acclaimed authors propel the legendary epic into the
next millennium, introducing us to a rich cast of characters that features
old favorites--Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, and Leia Organa Solo--along with the
next generation of Jedi and never-before seen creatures, droids, and deadly
agents of darkness. In Vector Prime, the launch novel for this thrilling new
saga, New York Times bestselling author R. A. Salvatore takes the Star Wars
universe to previously unscaled heights of action and imagination, expanding
the beloved story of a galaxy far, far away . . .

Twenty-one years have passed since the heroes of the Rebel Alliance destroyed
the Death Star, breaking the power of the Emperor. Since then, the New
Republic has valiantly struggled to maintain peace and prosperity among the
peoples of the galaxy. But unrest has begun to spread; tensions erupt in
outbreaks of rebellion that, if unchecked, threaten to destroy the Republic's
tenuous reign.

Into this volatile atmosphere comes Nom Anor, a charismatic firebrand who
heats passions to the boiling point, sowing seeds of dissent for his own dark
motives. In an effort to avert a catastrophic civil war, Leia travels with
her daughter Jaina, her sister-in-law Mara Jade Skywalker, and the loyal protocol droid
C-3PO, to conduct face-to-face diplomatic negotiations with Nom Anor. But he
proves resistant to Leia's entreaties--and, far more inexplicably, within the
Force, where a being should be, was . . . blank space.
Meanwhile, Luke is plagued by reports of rogue Jedi Knights who are taking the
law into their own hands. And so he wrestles with a dilemma: Should he
attempt, in this climate of mistrust, to reestablish the legendary Jedi
Council?

As the Jedi and the Republic focus on internal struggles, a new threat
surfaces, unnoticed, beyond the farthest reaches of the Outer Rim. An enemy
appears from outside known space, bearing weapons and technology unlike
anything New Republic scientists have ever seen. Suddenly Luke, Mara, Leia,
Han Solo, and Chewbacca--along with the Solo children--are thrust again into
battle, to defend the freedom so many have fought and died for. But this
time, all their courage, sacrifice, and even the power of the Force itself
may not be enough. . . .

Features a bonus section following the novel that includes a primer on the Star Wars expanded universe, and over half a dozen excerpts from some of the most popular Star Wars books of the last thirty years!
Winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards: A futuristic masterpiece, “perhaps the most important war novel written since Vietnam” (Junot Díaz).
 
In this novel, a landmark of science fiction that began as an MFA thesis for the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and went on to become an award-winning classic—inspiring a play, a graphic novel, and most recently an in-development film—man has taken to the stars, and soldiers fighting the wars of the future return to Earth forever alienated from their home.
 
Conscripted into service for the United Nations Exploratory Force, a highly trained unit built for revenge, physics student William Mandella fights for his planet light years away against the alien force known as the Taurans. “Mandella’s attempt to survive and remain human in the face of an absurd, almost endless war is harrowing, hilarious, heartbreaking, and true,” says Pulitzer Prize–winning novelist Junot Díaz—and because of the relative passage of time when one travels at incredibly high speed, the Earth Mandella returns to after his two-year experience has progressed decades and is foreign to him in disturbing ways.
 
Based in part on the author’s experiences in Vietnam, The Forever War is regarded as one of the greatest military science fiction novels ever written, capturing the alienation that servicemen and women experience even now upon returning home from battle. It shines a light not only on the culture of the 1970s in which it was written, but also on our potential future. “To say that The Forever War is the best science fiction war novel ever written is to damn it with faint praise. It is . . . as fine and woundingly genuine a war story as any I’ve read” (William Gibson).
 
This ebook features an illustrated biography of Joe Haldeman including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.