Ancillary Justice

· Imperial Radch Book 1 · Sold by Orbit
4.2
483 reviews
Ebook
432
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards: This record-breaking novel follows a warship trapped in a human body on a quest for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey. 

"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi
On a remote, icy planet, the soldier known as Breq is drawing closer to completing her quest.

Once, she was the Justice of Toren -- a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of soldiers in the service of the Radch, the empire that conquered the galaxy.

Now, an act of treachery has ripped it all away, leaving her with one fragile human body, unanswered questions, and a burning desire for vengeance.

Ratings and reviews

4.2
483 reviews
Rae Foster
May 5, 2023
I adored the way she expressed the difference between thinking as a collective and thinking as a singleton. the complex political machinations she created, and then revealed with perfect timing, made me think about what and how i was thinking in a way that i last saw in Asimov's books (prompting me to pick them up again. lol). She writes in a way that I can see the story organically falling into place, and there's a combination of twists I could see coming, twists I UTTERLY could not, and needed to retrace my steps to figure out, and twists that I knew I SHOULD have seen coming from a mile away. upon reading this one I immediately got the others and read them voraciously. and even after finishing the series, I want more. I intend to get into her fantasy book(s?) next.
Did you find this helpful?
Bobby McCanne
January 7, 2024
One of the best books I've ever read. This and the following stories unfurl a beautifully complex world that's entirely believable. This initial book focuses on humanity and AI, and how separate those two things can really eventually be. The tone of the book and indeed the series parallels the main character's development, as well, making this a difficult, dry, and stilted read that slowly gets better.
Did you find this helpful?
Lori Crews
February 6, 2021
This is the worst book I've ever tried to read. The intricate names used are off-putting, unpronounceable even in thoughts, and make it hard to concentrate on the story. The story is choppy, going back and forth to different times and places confusingly. Unfortunately, I bought all three books in the series before reading the first and I feel cheated. It's very pretentious and I hope others will take my warning before buying these 300 page books for way too high a price.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Ann Leckie is the author of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke, and British Science Fiction Award-winning novel Ancillary Justice. She has worked as a waitress, a receptionist, a rodman on a land-surveying crew, and a recording engineer. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.