Ancillary Justice

· Imperial Radch Book 1 · Sold by Orbit
4.2
609 reviews
Ebook
432
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Ancillary Justice is Ann Leckie's stunning debut -- the only novel to ever win the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke awards -- about a ship's AI who becomes trapped in a human body and her quest for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey.

"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi
On a remote, icy planet, the soldier known as Breq is drawing closer to completing her quest.

Once, she was the Justice of Toren -- a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence linking thousands of soldiers in the service of the Radch, the empire that conquered the galaxy.

Now, an act of treachery has ripped it all away, leaving her with one fragile human body, unanswered questions, and a burning desire for vengeance.
4.2
609 reviews
Will Ø Brine
January 7, 2014
...I don't often encounter writing that actively changes ones mental gymnastics during reading. I had a hard time bending to the conventions at first, which took about the first fifth of the novel. But once it "clicked" it seemed completely ordinary. I accepted the notion that the gender identity of any particular character was not relevant to the narrative. It's not an easy read, but one I'd consider worthwhile.
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
December 11, 2013
How do you tell the story of a main character who had the body of a ship but also tens, hundreds, or even thousands of bodies through which it could see, listen, and act? This is the story told here and it is an excellent one.
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Marshall Lysell
October 24, 2014
Very long winded, the author kept explaining the motivations behind every act done by almost anyone. This completely took away any sense of mystery and left boring dialogue.
7 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Ann Leckie is the author of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke, and British Science Fiction Award-winning novel Ancillary Justice. She has worked as a waitress, a receptionist, a rodman on a land-surveying crew, and a recording engineer. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.