Gracelin O'Malley

The Gracelin O'Malley Trilogy

Book 1
Open Road Media
3
Free sample

Set during Ireland’s devastating potato famine, a spellbinding novel of a young woman torn between love for her family and duty to her English husband.

Patrick O’Malley names his newborn daughter Gracelin for the light of the sea that shines in her eyes. But when young Gracelin is only six years old, her mother’s untimely death drains joy and laughter from the O’Malley clan.
 
At fifteen, Gracelin saves her family from financial ruin by marrying Bram Donnelly, the son of a wealthy English landowner. But, even though Gracelin is Protestant, she is snubbed by English high society for marrying above her station. To temporarily appease her husband’s cruel nature, she intends to provide him with an heir—but that, too, will end in sorrow.
 
As famine sweeps Ireland, Gracelin openly defies her husband by feeding the desperate souls who come to their door. In secret, she also sides with the rebels who call themselves the Young Irelanders. Led by Morgan McDonagh and joined by Gracelin’s beloved brother, Sean, the Irelanders are determined to fight and free their homeland from the yoke of English rule.
 
A vivid chronicle of nineteenth-century Ireland, the first volume of Ann Moore’s popular trilogy introduces a courageous young heroine and movingly portrays an indomitable people as they struggle to survive the infamous famine and the brutal civil war that arrived in its wake. Fans of gripping historical fiction will love this “epic saga that sweeps you into the life of a remarkable woman” (Romantic Times).
 
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Ann Moore was born in England and grew up in the Pacific Northwest region of Washington State. An award-winning author, Moore holds a master of arts from Western Washington University. Her trilogy of historical novels—Gracelin O’Malley, Leaving Ireland, and ’Til Morning Light—has been published internationally and enjoys a wide readership of enthusiastic fans. Moore and her family live in Bellingham, Washington.
Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 30, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
400
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781453272930
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Meet Dolly Devoy, the brash new girl at Dublin’s Jacob’s Biscuit Factory...

An unforgettable Irish saga set over the Easter Uprising and the First World War

Dolly Devoy, a bold young Dubliner, has become very sure of herself since being promoted to work in the office of the local biscuit factory. Too sure of herself.

She should be a lord’s daughter, like Alice Delahunt, to be that confident.

For Alice the path looks smooth, with a glittering marriage to a hero of the Somme. But her husband, Stephen, is no hero to Alice, and she covets another. Her unlikely rival for the love of that man? One Dolly Devoy...

It is an age of great passion and, in Dublin, of seething unrest. Love and war leave no one untouched, and in this story of loss and longing, those who survive are changed for ever.

For readers of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Mary Gibson, A Man Made to Measure is an incredibly emotive novel, absorbing and affecting from the get-go.

‘Extremely moving... a splendid, vigorous, warm-hearted novel’ Irish Press

Elaine Crowley was born in Dublin. She left school at fourteen and became an apprentice tailor. She married a soldier, and they lived in Egypt and Germany, before settling down in Port Talbot, Wales. Elaine had six children and numerous grandchildren. Prior to her highly successful writing career she worked as an Avon lady, a dinner lady, and for the personnel department of British Steel. She is perhaps best known for her novels Dreams of Other Days, The Young Wives and A Family Cursed, all written during her latter years. She died in 2011, in Swansea.

This “elegantly written” trilogy follows an unforgettable Irish heroine from the potato famine through immigrating to America (Eileen Goudge).
 
“An epic saga that sweeps you into the life of a remarkable woman,” Ann Moore’s trilogy of breathtaking historical novels covers Gracelin O’Malley’s life from the 1845 Famine and the Young Ireland movement to the mass emigration to America, culminating in the wild frontier of 1850s California (Romantic Times). Through it all, Gracelin’s indomitable spirit and Moore’s “vivid historical detail” prove most hauntingly memorable (Kirkus Reviews).
 
Gracelin O’Malley: As the potato famine devastates Ireland, Gracelin openly defies her English husband by feeding the desperate souls who come to their door, and secretly sides with the rebels who call themselves the Young Irelanders—including her beloved brother, Sean—as they fight to free their homeland from the yoke of English rule.
 
“Lyrical, pitch-perfect prose . . . Historical fiction at its finest.” —Publishers Weekly
 
Leaving Ireland: Forced to flee Ireland, Gracelin takes her young daughter with her on an arduous transatlantic voyage to New York City. As she tries to make a new life for herself and her daughter, she reunites with her brother and befriends a runaway slave, getting swept up into the volatile abolitionist movement.
 
“Moore blends romance and adventure. . . . Strong and likable characters and a well-paced story will make readers look forward to Gracelin’s next appearance.” —Booklist
 
’Til Morning Light: With her two children, Gracelin travels to post–Gold Rush San Francisco to meet the sea captain who has proposed to her. But when she arrives, he is nowhere to be found. Although destitute in a dangerous city, Gracelin vows to make a secure life for her children and find her brother.
 
“Readers who have been following the story of Gracelin O’Malley will be thrilled with the concluding volume in Moore’s trilogy.” —Booklist
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.