The Silver Skull: A Steampunk Romance

· The Elemental Steampunk Chronicles Book 2 · Anne Renwick
4.5
2 reviews
Ebook
490
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

An illegal border crossing. A fake marriage. A mad German count determined to create an army of unbreakable soldiers.


Lady Olivia is not all she seems. Trained for marriage to an assigned political target, her skills lie in programming household steambots to serve tea, dress her hair… and sound the alarm while she picks locks and listens at doors. Humiliated by a failed assignment, she decides to redeem herself by tailing a suspected double agent.


Lord Rathsburn must flirt with treason. Struggles to cure a horrible disease have met with unexpected complications. The cells he engineered can make a man’s bones unbreakable, but the side effects are fatal. He believed the research terminated… until his sister was kidnapped by a German count. Her ransom? A cure. 


Piloting a stolen dirigible, he uncovers an unlikely stowaway, Lady Olivia. Arriving together at a crumbling castle, an impossible task is set before them: cure the count’s guardsmen. Amidst their fake marriage, a very real growing attraction, dying guardsmen and escalating hostilities, Lady Olivia and Lord Rathsburn are thrust deep into the world of international medical espionage from which there may be no return.



THE SILVER SKULL is a story set in the Elemental Steampunk World, including The Elemental Steampunk Chronicles, Elemental Steampunk Tales, and Elemental Steampunk Stories.


ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK CHRONICLES: The Golden Spider, The Silver Skull, The Iron Fin, Venomous Secrets


ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK TALES: A Trace of Copper, In Pursuit of Dragons, A Reflection of Shadows, A Snowflake at Midnight, A Ghost in Amber


ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK STORIES: The Tin Rose, Kraken and Canals, Rust and Steam

 

 

Perfect for fans of Honor Raconteur, Luanne G. Smith, Charlie N. Holmberg, AJ Lancaster and Colleen Cowley.

- Steampunk 

- Science Fiction

- Romantic Fantasy

- Alternate History

- Adventure

- Historical

- Gaslamp 

- Fantasy Romance

- Myths and Legends

4.5
2 reviews
helen Buckthal
November 27, 2019
Picked this up right after reading The Golden Spider. Loved that the author took us on an adventure to Germany. Spies, castles, science and a spicy romance.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author


ANNE RENWICK holds a Ph.D. in biology and greatly enjoyed tormenting the overburdened undergraduates who were her students, fiction has always been her first love. Today, she writes steampunk romance, placing a new kind of biotech in the hands of mad scientists, proper young ladies and determined villains. Anne brings an unusual perspective to steampunk.


A number of years spent locked inside the bowels of a biological research facility left her permanently altered. In her steampunk world, the Victorian fascination with all things anatomical led to a number of alarming biotechnological advances. Ones that the enemies of Britain would dearly love to possess.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.