The Newlyweds: A completely gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

· Bookouture
4.2
4 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

One marriage. One lie. Two sides to the story.


The moment Vivien meets Ashton, she knows she will be his wife and absolutely nothing will stop her.


Powerful, rich and from a good family, Ashton is everything Vivien is not. So, she molds herself into Ashton’s perfect soulmate.


Pouring his favorite vintage wine, whispering ‘I love you’ over dinner in front of friends and biting her tongue when she disagrees with him are simple sacrifices for the perfect marriage she has always craved.


When people begin to notice the bruises on her cheek, she holds their stares. There is no cry for help from Vivien. She simply keeps her mouth shut and lets the gossip continue.


If you saw Vivien nursing a black eye, you might be forgiven for thinking what everyone else does – that she is the victim in her marriage, but you’d be wrong. Vivien and Ashton’s life together is much more complicated than that. You will never guess the true story behind Vivien’s undying devotion to her husband. Nor could you possibly predict what she does next…


Perfect for fans of Gone GirlBehind Closed Doors and The Perfect Couple. If you enjoy reading twisted psychological thrillers with bags of suspense, then you’ll love The Newlyweds.


What readers are saying about Arianne Richmonde:


Woah! What a ride! I read this book straight through cover to cover. Full of twists I never saw coming.” Meandering and Muses, 5 stars


Gripping, heart-pounding and completely unpredictable.” Little Miss Book Lover 87, 5 stars


A psychological thrill ride you won’t be able to look away from. Once I started reading, I couldn’t stop. 6 stars!” Alessandra Torre, New York Times bestselling author


Had me up all night to finish it. I just had to know how it ended!!! So many twists that I didn’t see coming.” The Shelves of a Bibliophile, 5 stars


“I was hooked from the very first page. This one blew me away. I couldn’t put it down. Keeps you on the edge of your seat.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Taut and tantalizing… Wow, this author has done a fabulous job. I loved every twist. I finished it in a few hours.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Wow! I read way past my bedtime simply because I didn’t want to stop reading.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“It’s rare that a thriller grips me from the first few pages, but this one did and it admirably didn’t loosen its hold until the end… The atmospheric setting, plentiful WTF moments and numerous plot twists all made this one of my favorite recent reads.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“Definitely a gripping psychological thriller from beginning to end!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I enjoyed this excellent thriller very much. The storyline was exciting and kept me entertained all the way.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“A psychological thriller of epic proportions.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“If you are looking for a fast-paced thriller that will have you fully invested from the very first page, and keep you guessing until the very last, then look no further.” Goodreads reviewer


“It was creepy and had you looking over your shoulder at any noise… It was just awesome.” Goodreads reviewer


“This book was a remarkable read! It had me hooked from the very first page!” Goodreads reviewer

Ratings and reviews

4.2
4 reviews
Marnie Harrison
January 19, 2021
You never really know what goes on behind closed doors in a couples relationship. What is perceived and presented to be a perfect marriage on the outside, can be anything but on the inside and Arianne Richmonde’s, The Newlyweds, delves into this and so much more! The story plays out like a movie, and the reader is taken on a journey into the seemingly perfect life of Vivien, a volunteer charity worker and Ashton, a surgeon. Recently married, the couple are the envy of their friends but, behind the scenes, it is a different story when domestic abuse is implied. But there is more to this story than meets the eye… The Newlyweds is one twisted read that caught me off guard and had me completely in the dark as to how it was going to unfold. Normally I can pick where things are heading in these type of stories but, Arianne Richmonde outsmarted me throughout, as each unexpected twist she revealed outdid the last! Arianne Richmonde has created a thrilling tale that will have you hooked and reading long into the night. My second book from her, I really enjoy her style of storytelling and I look forward to reading what she comes up with next. It was a pleasure to read and review The Newlyweds which I recommend.
Did you find this helpful?
Nilufer Y. Ozmekik
January 26, 2021
Cunning, deceiving, twisty, surprising, mind spinning and entertaining! Newly weds Ashton and Vivien are perfect happy couple, a beautiful postcard image of Christmas Hallmark movies. They’re adorable ! Vivien works at community center to help troubled families, abandoned or problematic children. Especially one of the cases of a 16 years old young woman who is left behind, making her ends meet by e-commerce sales gets her full attention and her successful surgeon Ashton knows how to please her in the bed, buying her precious gifts, cooking dinners. It sounds like too good to be true! Because the people who are close to her start to be doubtful that something is going really wrong about their perfectlicious marriage! There are bruises on her arms as if somebody has pinched her ! But she keeps making excuses, protecting her husband , telling them their marriage is perfect till her husband’s ex Belle appears in the picture and they start arguing. When you read unreliable heroine’s POV and start to resonate with her throughout the domestic violence she endured, you still become suspicious because we only read events via her telling other people, we don’t see them actually happening! And our heroine Vivian never drew a lovely, sweetheart heroine portrait! After the revelation, I think the storyline moved uncontrollably and directionless. I start to lose my interest and some big revelations were too “no freaking way” kind of far fetched! ( of course you cannot see them coming because they were a little extreme) I wish big revelation may appear at the end of the book! Especially Lily’s big mystery was like misplaced piece of the puzzle! It didn’t quite fit with the domestic thriller. I loved to concentrate on Ashton and Vivien’s dysfunctional relationship! But the big twist at the epilogue was kind of likable and it satisfied the batshit craziness hid inside of me. Because of the well played ending I’m rounding up 3.5 stars to 4 ! This could be easily a five starred read for me if that big shocking twist would come at the end! I felt like the second half of the book was a little aimless. But it was still riveting, exciting, interesting read which I finished in record time!
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
This book was provided to me from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This is starts with the wedding of Vivien and Ashton. Ashton is a wealthy neurosurgeon and Vivien has tailored her life to ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.