To Tame a Wild Lady

Duke-Defying Daughters

Book 2
Sold by Loveswept
15
Free sample

He’s a roughhewn bastard. She’s a rebellious noblewoman. Their passion bridges the class divide in a scintillating novel of forbidden desire and raw sensuality from the USA Today bestselling author of To Lure a Proper Lady.
 
Lady Caroline Wilde is expected to ride sidesaddle, but she’s not about to embrace convention. She’s also expected to keep a chaste distance from men like Adrian Crosby, the new estate agent, yet she cannot cease her ogling—which is especially irksome considering their ongoing feud. Adrian insists that the fields must be planted; Caro needs those same fields to train her horses. But whenever she tries to put him in his place, Caro looks into his steely gaze and her words simply . . . disappear.
 
A bastard son who grew up on the Wyvern estate, Adrian was lucky enough to receive an education at the behest of the late marchioness. Now that he has set out on his own, Adrian knows better than to fall for Lady Caroline, the Duke of Sherrington’s daughter. Caroline is at once a thorn in his side and an exquisite temptation, especially when she’s playing the feisty daredevil. Adrian would give anything for a chance to tame her—and with Caro in the saddle, he just might get his wish.
 
Praise for the novels of Ashlyn Macnamara
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara weaves tales rich in angst, humor, and history as she treats readers to the steamier side of Regency. Her inventive prose has secured her a place on my auto-buy list, and her memorable characters have secured a place in my heart. Don’t forget to set your morning alarm, though. You’ll be reading long past your bedtime!”New York Times bestselling author Jennifer McQuiston
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life.”New York Times bestselling author Tessa Dare
 
“A witty, sexy historical romance . . . which will keep readers turning the pages.”Romance Junkies, on What a Lady Craves
 
“Intriguing, dramatic, and sexually charged.”Library Journal, on What a Lady Demands
 
“A wonderful tale depicting an intelligent heroine who speaks her mind.”Fresh Fiction, on What a Lady Requires
 
Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
Read more
Collapse

More by Ashlyn MacNamara

See more
In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.

After watching her beloved sister, Sophia, pine over the ton’s golden boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf. Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly named Earl of Clivesden . . . the man of Sophia’s dreams.
 
Since resigning his cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has his sights set on Julia, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover that more than friendship is driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when Julia refuses him, and her father announces her betrothal, Benedict fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.

Includes a preview of Ashlyn Macnamara’s next novel, A Most Devilish Rogue

Praise for A Most Scandalous Proposal
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life with this tale of high-stakes scandal and heartfelt passion. A Most Scandalous Proposal is a most delicious treat!”—New York Times bestselling author Tessa Dare
 
“Gossip, scandal, and breezy banter enliven this unusual dual love story that features some beautifully rendered secondary characters, illuminates realistic dilemmas, and highlights the overwhelming importance of one’s social standing.”—Library Journal
 
“A charming tale . . . Readers will find themselves happily enchanted by this debut.”—RT Book Reviews
 
“Engaging and entertaining.”—Night Owl Reviews
 
“Witty, sensual, captivating. A must-read.”—Tracey Devlyn, award-winning author of A Lady’s Revenge
 
“Pithy and engaging! A pure delight from start to finish!”—Valerie Bowman, author of Secrets of a Wedding Night
 
“A great debut novel, a wonderful romantic read!”—Brazen Reads
USA TODAY BESTSELLER • Readers of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries will love Ashlyn Macnamara’s novel about a smoldering new love that is threatened by past betrayals.
 
Viscount Lindenhurst cannot seem to find a governess who meets his impossible standards—until Cecelia Sanford becomes the first woman to interrupt the widower’s brooding in years. Lind had returned home from the Napoleonic wars, broken in body and soul and longing for his wife’s embrace, only to find her changed. Before they could reconcile, an accident struck their son and claimed her life. Now enter Cecelia, with her soft curves and sharp tongue—a tempting distraction, it is true, but not a welcome one.
 
Past the usual marrying age and haunted by a scandal of her own, Cecelia soon finds herself caring for both the child and the man. The viscount is brittle and even abrupt at times, yet she cannot deny the attraction that stirs her body in his presence. Moved by the deep sense of abandonment that tortures his soul, Cecelia aches to fully awaken Lind’s heart from its rancorous slumber—if she can just keep their pasts from destroying a second chance at love.

Praise for What a Lady Demands
 
“An intriguing, dramatic, and sexually charged novel that is recommended for most historical romance lovers.”Library Journal
 
“Loads of scandalous kisses and lusty embraces . . . The sizzling tension adds just the right amount of heat.”Heroes and Heartbreakers
 
“[An] excellent drama . . . The protagonists find true love despite the physical and emotional scars that constantly drive a wedge between them.”RT Book Reviews (Digital First/Indie Press Historical Romance nominee)
 
“Suspense, passion, great love scenes . . . This one is a keeper.”—The Reading Wench
 
“The moments of wicked passion [Ashlyn] Macnamara intersperses balance out the tenderness, creating a truly well-rounded romance.”—Three Chicks After Dark
 
“If you are looking for a hot and steamy historical romance novel, and you enjoy lots of plot to go with the hotness, you should pick up What a Lady Demands.”—(un)Conventional Book Views
 
“This wonderful story has plenty of romance, some mystery and lots of deep passion. . . . If you enjoy a story that pulls at the heart strings, with well-developed characters and an engaging storyline, then this is a book you will not want to miss.”—Romantic Historical Reviews
 
“An emotional ride of a romance that pulls the reader into a plot of mystery, desire and redemption!”—Addicted to Romance
 
Praise for Ashlyn Macnamara
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara is a born storyteller, weaving tales rich in angst, humor, and history as she treats readers to the steamier side of Regency. Her inventive prose has secured her a place on my auto-buy list, and her memorable characters have secured a place in my heart. Don’t forget to set your morning alarm, though . . . you’ll be reading far past your bedtime!”New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer McQuiston
 
“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life.”New York Times bestselling author Tessa Dare
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
4.7
15 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Loveswept
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 31, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
278
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781101967850
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Victorian
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.