Things a Little Bird Told Me: Confessions of the Creative Mind

Sold by Grand Central Publishing
22
Free sample

"Biz gives away all his secrets to success. I advised him against it. If you're not inspired and informed by this book, then you haven't read it." --Stephen Colbert

Biz Stone, the co-founder of Twitter, discusses the power of creativity and how to harness it, through stories from his remarkable life and career.

From GQ's "Nerd of the Year" to one of Time's most influential people in the world, Biz Stone represents different things to different people. But he is known to all as the creative, funny, and remarkably savvy co-founder of Twitter - the social media platform that singlehandedly changed the way the world works. Now, Biz tells fascinating personal stories from his early life and his careers at Google and Twitter, sharing his knowledge about the nature and importance of ingenuity today. In Biz's world:
  • Opportunity can be manufactured
  • Great work comes from abandoning a linear way of thinking
  • Creativity never runs out
  • Asking questions is free
  • Empathy is core to personal and global success
In this book, Biz also addresses failure, the value of vulnerability, ambition, and corporate culture. Whether seeking behind-the-scenes stories or wisdom from one of the most successful businessmen of the new century, THINGS A LITTLE BIRD TOLD ME will satisfy every reader.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Biz Stone became an Internet entrepreneur in 1999. He went on to work for Google, helped to create both Blogging and Podcasting, and then invented Twitter. After Twitter, Stone founded Obvious which launched a new publishing platform called Medium.

Over the years, Biz has done a wide array of national media, including The Colbert Report, Howard Stern, Charlie Rose, Fresh Air with Terry Gross, Katie Couric, the Today show, and many more.

Before he was a tech star, Stone wrote books and articles about blogs and technology in the nascent days of the web. Stone regularly addresses thousands of people at a time as a keynote speaker for companies, colleges, and tech conferences.

Most recently, Stone is founder and CEO of his newest venture, Jelly which is operating in stealth mode until it launches this fall.

Biz Stone lives in San Francisco, California.
Read more
Collapse
4.3
22 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Grand Central Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 1, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781455528738
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Business
Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs
Business & Economics / Entrepreneurship
Computers / Web / Social Media
Self-Help / Creativity
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Bad Times Are Never Permanent! This is one man's journey through the lessons of being in business, loving, and losing what matters and finding new reasons to celebrate every day. Andrew Darbyshire finished high school at fifteen and went on to become a self-made hugely successful businessman, philanthropist and sought after professional speaker through his own sheer determination to come out on top of whatever he set his mind to achieving. A qualified pilot, investor and family man, who has dined with world leaders and has been through some of the worst imaginable ups and downs, all before the age of forty-six.In this book he shares with you: • His story of business triumphs, adversities and how he took a fledgling start up to become a world leader in retail software systems. • The lessons he learned along the way about money, people, winning and losing, and the upside of failure. • How the loss of one of his daughters opened his pathway towards his extensive philanthropic interests. • How he successfully, 'works' on his multinational business for less than an hour a week.For anybody seeking additional motivation to know that higher education does not always guarantee success or failure but that what you learn after school does, if you know how to apply the lessons learned. It is also a book for people who are struggling with life through difficult times to give them the tools to pull through.Andrew Darbyshire is a successful Melbourne-born international businessman, author and philanthropist, with an incredibly inspiring story to share. He founded his software business, PacSoft, in the mid-80's and now has staff and offices in Australia, New Zealand and the USA. His path to success wasn't easy and he has experienced significant loss along the way. The lessons he learnt on his journey, that he shares with you, have allowed him to free himself of his business on a day-to-day basis, to concentrate on his philanthropic interests.'You and your work group, your sales team, your company, your students, or your club will learn how to translate dreams into reality.' Ron Barassi
Vibrant, game-changing CEO Lisa Messenger shares an insightful account of her rollercoaster ride as the creator and founder of the globally popular Collective Hub, the hip magazine of inspiration for disrupters and innovators of all stripes—with bold ideas on how you can stay on track and remain true to whatever your passion may be.

Speaking to the new generation of innovators, game changers, and disrupters who want to succeed in a fast changing and often vexing world, Daring and Disruptive: Unleashing the Entrepreneur is a personal and honest chronicle of Lisa Messenger’s various business endeavors, including her shrewd launch of her innovative entrepreneurial magazine, Collective Hub. Exuding honesty and energy, Lisa blends these wonderfully insightful stories with important business lessons she has learned along the way, such as how she empowered herself in ways that helped her harness her creativity, disrupt the system, and be fearless in all of her endeavors. Inspiring as well as instructive, Messenger’s book offers up other big-think insights such as:

-Invest in yourself

-Know your “why”

-Realize that failure is another word for experience

-Break free of the traditional thinking around what a career should look like

Whether you’re a budding entrepreneur, corporate ladder-climber, or a seasoned business owner, Daring and Disruptive is a powerful and practical guide that can help you dig deep, stay on message, and stay true to your ideas in challenging times (so if you’re thrown to the wolves, you’ll have the strength to come out leading the pack).
New York Times Bestseller

Iconoclastic entrepreneur and New York legend Ken Langone tells the compelling story of how a poor boy from Long Island became one of America's most successful businessmen.

Ken Langone has seen it all on his way to a net worth beyond his wildest dreams. A pillar of corporate America for decades, he's a co-founder of Home Depot, a former director of the New York Stock Exchange, and a world-class philanthropist (including $200 million for NYU's Langone Health). In this memoir he finally tells the story of his unlikely rise and controversial career. It's also a passionate defense of the American Dream -- of preserving a country in which any hungry kid can reach the maximum potential of his or her talents and work ethic.

In a series of fascinating stories, Langone shows how he struggled to get an education, break into Wall Street, and scramble for an MBA at night while competing with privileged competitors by day. He shares how he learned how to evaluate what a business is worth and apply his street smarts to 8-figure and 9-figure deals . And he's not shy about discussing, for the first time, his epic legal and PR battle with former NY Governor Eliot Spitzer.

His ultimate theme is that free enterprise is the key to giving everyone a leg up. As he writes:

This book is my love song to capitalism. Capitalism works! And I'm living proof -- it works for everybody. Absolutely anybody is entitled to dream big, and absolutely everybody should dream big. I did. Show me where the silver spoon was in my mouth. I've got to argue profoundly and passionately: I'm the American Dream.
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post • Financial Times • Success • Inc. • Library Journal

Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.