Mistborn Trilogy: The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, The Hero of Ages

· Mistborn · Sold by Tor Books
3.01K reviews

About this ebook

This discounted ebundle includes: Mistborn: The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, The Hero of Ages

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn trilogy is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action.

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the "Sliver of Infinity," reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. This saga dares to ask a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails?

Mistborn: The Final Empire — Kelsier, a brilliant thief has turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler as the mark. Kel's plan is the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into the fold. But she will have to learn to trust if she is to master powers of which she never dreamed.

The Well of Ascension — Evil has been defeated; the war has just begun. Vin, the street urchin who has become the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.

The Hero of Ages — The Deepness has returned, along with unusually heavy ashfalls and powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed. Vin and Eland investigate the past to save the future, and in the end, sacrifices must be made.

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive

The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)

The Mistborn trilogy

Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners


At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Ratings and reviews

3.01K reviews
Andrew Michel
September 13, 2016
This review looks at the trilogy as a whole, but I will offer thoughts on each book as well. The Final Empire - (4/5) - Although he is not the main character, Kelsier is the main feature of this book. The vision, personality, and sheer inspiration of his character captivated me throughout. The Final Empire introduces the reader to the alluring world of the setting, and sets up a heist-like adventure culminating in a world-changing event. Riveting, fast-paced, and at some points surprising, the first Mistborn novel is a fantastic read. The Well of Ascension - (3/5) - The sequel to The Final Empire catalogues the remaining crew's struggle to create the sort of society they fought for in the first book. Focusing more on internal identity struggles and self-esteem, this installment feels slightly immature and boring from an adult's standpoint. It is a portion of the story that needs to be told, but is not terribly exciting. The Hero of Ages - (3/5) - Continuing many of the identity struggles of the second book, The Hero of Ages feels sluggish until closer to the end. What keeps it going until the interactions with the main villain at the end are the discoveries that the characters make about the nature of their world and what brought it to the danger it faces. An interesting, slightly surprising ending saves this book from being a slog. Overall the series deserves a fair score. The magic systems and the nature of balance described and explored through the text are unique and interesting, but much of the series' content seems focused on fairly tedious identity struggles that are obvious to the reader in their conclusions. I recommend reading the series for its pivotal place in Sanderson's Cosmere, but I do not think that Sanderson's best writing lies in the Mistborn Trilogy.
56 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
David Neff
July 27, 2023
It's an amazing series, and I'm loving rereading it. However, I have discovered there are some page(s) missing in this version of the book. Nothing drastic so far (I'm still working my way through this ebook), but first time readers should know.
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
April 27, 2017
A MUST-READ, the Mistborn Trilogy has something for everyone and words can't describe how amazing it is. Upon finishing the series for the fifth time around, I was in tears and it was just as mind-blowing as the first time reading it. Reading the Mistborn Trilogy doesn't feel like reading a book simply to pass the time. You immerse yourself in a believable and unique world with realistic characters you'll fall in love with. GIVE IT A TRY. I say that it has something for everyone (assuming you don't mind 3,000-or-so pages and a few slow points) because I, eleven years old at the time, loved it just as much as my dad, in his late forties. It has cool action and battles, an interesting world and society, an incredibly unique and fresh magic system, romance, some awesome plot twists, and- what really sold it for me- the best characters I've ever seen. The only bad thing that I can say about the trilogy is that it has some slow points. But it really took its time to build up the characters and world, making the ending so much more heart-breaking. I have to say, other books just aren't as enjoyable anymore after reading Mistborn (uhm... not including Sanderson's other stuff :)). I give this masterpiece 1000 out of 10 stars. ...Seriously. Just go read it! :D
71 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. His bestsellers have sold 30 million copies worldwide and include the Mistborn® saga; the Stormlight Archive novels; and other novels, including The Rithmatist, Steelheart, and Skyward. He won a Hugo Award for The Emperor's Soul, a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time® sequence. Visit his website for behind-the-scenes information on all his books.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.