Riot Load

Dominick Prince

Book 2
Polis Books
Free sample

Dominick Prince returns. Probably against his better judgment.

Dominick Prince went through hell to make his dreams come true. He has a book deal, time and money to write whatever he wants, and a marriage to his college crush with a child on the way. But instead of working on his next book, Dominick spends his days as a mindless office drone at the university cancer center while his wife chases bail jumpers. When an old friend reappears to call in a favor, Dominick sees an opportunity for a little excitement.

The plan seems simple. Dominick will use his access at the hospital to help steal the last remaining piece of her murdered lover: a sperm sample left during prostate cancer treatment. Standing in their way are a pair of brothers who find kidnapping potential children superior to kidnapping actual children, and Dominick’s wife who has her own plans for it. Torn between his wife’s wrath and the debt he owes his friend, Dominick taps into the most devious parts of his crime fiction training to write himself a proper ending where he saves the day, saves the girl, and lives to write another day. Unless he blows it all to hell.
Read more

About the author

Bryon Quertermous was born and raised in Michigan. His short stories have appeared in Plots With Guns, Thuglit, and Crime Factory among others, and in the anthologies Hardcore Hardboiled, The Year's Finest Crime, Mystery Stories, and Uncage Me. He was shortlisted for the Debut Dagger Award from the U.K. Crime Writers' Association. He currently lives outside of Detroit with his wife and three children. Visit him at bryonquertermous.com and follow him on Twitter at @BryonQ.
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Polis Books
Read more
Published on
Jun 14, 2015
Read more
Pages
272
Read more
ISBN
9781943818129
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

Homicide detective Nan Vining finds her world rocked when a murder investigation becomes chillingly personal in this hard-edged thriller for fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner.
 
In a breathtaking infinity pool on a sprawling Pasadena estate, the naked body of a beautiful young woman floats facedown in a drift of rose petals blowing on the breeze. Police sergeant Jim Kissick responds instantly, pulling the dead victim from the water. When his longtime girlfriend, Detective Nan Vining, arrives on-scene, she’s full of questions, and not just about the Jane Doe. Why did the homeowner text Jim instead of calling 911? Jim’s explanation—that he’s simply an old friend of Teddy and Rebecca Sexton’s—doesn’t sit well with Nan. A survivor of a bizarre murder attempt herself, Nan’s instincts for deception are acute. She senses that they’re all hiding something—including Jim, which plunges a wedge deep into their once steadfast relationship.
 
Then a drought-ravaged lake in a bucolic Central California town reveals a grisly secret. Soon two local detectives arrive in Pasadena to interview Jim and his wealthy friends about a mysterious death from years back, and Nan realizes she has good reasons for her suspicions. Jim’s always been her rock, but suddenly he’s become a stranger. And once Nan identifies her Jane Doe, events careen out of control as darkness from the past threatens to consume the life that Nan has worked so hard to rebuild.
 
Look for all of Dianne Emley’s riveting Nan Vining Mysteries:
THE FIRST CUT | CUT TO THE QUICK | THE DEEPEST CUT | LOVE KILLS | KILLING SECRETS | LYING BLIND
 
“The First Cut should immediately establish Dianne Emley in the front ranks of thriller writers.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly
 
“Stunningly good! The First Cut hurtles the reader down a razor’s edge of suspense to the final, shattering end.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner
 
“Emley masterfully twists, turns, and shocks.”—New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen, on Love Kills
 
“Killing Secrets is diabolically good, a top-notch murder mystery. Nan Vining is a heroine you’ll love.”—New York Times bestselling author Allison Brennan

Praise for Lying Blind

“Another first-rate police procedure that follows the investigations led by the strong, dedicated, and very sharp Detective Nan Vining.”—Kings River Life

“Boasting a wonderful cast of characters and engaging dialogue, this book kept me enraptured from beginning to end.”—Dru’s Book Musings

“[Dianne] Emley once again continues to deftly bring Vining to life in a way that rings true.”—Elizabeth A. White Book Reviews

“Fans of plucky heroines will enjoy this.”—Littoral Librarian

“Another phenomenal installment to this series! . . . There were many twists and surprises in this novel that kept me guessing right up until the shocking ending!”—Red Wine and Books
Don't miss the this exciting adventure from #1 New York Times-bestselling authors Preston & Child, in which the secrets of a mysterious ancient tablet may point the way to untold treasure-or unspeakable danger.
"I just want to be crystal clear about this: if it has value, we're gonna steal it. Are you with me?" Effective Engineering Solutions has been inexplicably shut down and the head of the company, Eli Glinn, has all but vanished. Fresh off a diagnosis that gives him only months to live, Gideon Crew is contacted by one of his coworkers at EES, Manuel Garza, who tells him the two have mere hours to collect their belongings before the office closes forever. After years of dedicated service and several high-risk missions, theirs seems like the most ignoble of terminations-until Gideon and Garza happen upon an incredible discovery. After centuries of silence, a code-breaking machine at EES has cracked the long-awaited translation of a centuries-old stone tablet, the Phaistos Disc, that dates back to an otherwise completely unknown, ancient civilization. The mysteries of the message itself hint at incredible treasures, and perhaps even a world-altering secret. No one remains at EES to take on this most remarkable mission but Gideon and Garza. The two agree to solve the mystery of the disc's message and split the spoils: the perfect parting gift their employer doesn't know he has given. What lies at the end of the trail may save Gideon's life-or bring it to a sudden, shocking close. As Gideon and Garza soon discover, some missions are more dangerous than others. But as Gideon has proved again and again, there's no such thing as too great a risk when you're living on borrowed time.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.