Before I Wake

Sourcebooks, Inc.
5
Free sample

Would you risk it all to uncover the truth?

This secret is killing me.

It's only one line from her fifteen-year-old daughter's diary, but Susan knows it means everything. Charlotte is smart, popular, and beautiful. She is also in a coma following what looks like a desperate suicide attempt. What's more, Susan has no idea what compelled her daughter to step out in front of a city bus.

Did she really know her daughter at all? In her hunt for the truth, Susan begins to mistrust everyone close to Charlotte, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past. The secrets hidden there may destroy them both.

"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!"—Paula Daly, author of Just What Kind of Mother Are You?

"One of the best books I've read in ages...such a chilling read."—Mel Sherratt, author of Taunting the Dead

"Gripping, memorable, and tense...a delight."—Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls

Previously published in the U.K.as The Accident

Read more
Collapse

More by Cally Taylor

See more
4.0
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Sourcebooks, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 10, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781402294198
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Medical
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
If the Night Stalker is watching, you're already dead

In the dead of a swelteringly hot summer's night, Detective Erika Foster is called to a murder scene. The victim, a doctor, is found suffocated in bed. His wrists are bound and his eyes bulging through a clear plastic bag tied tight over his head.

A few days later, another victim is found dead, in exactly the same circumstances. As Erika and her team start digging deeper, they discover a calculated serial killer stalking their victims before choosing the right moment to strike.

The victims are all single men, with very private lives. Why are their pasts shrouded in secrecy? And what links them to the killer?

As a heat wave descends upon London, Erika will do everything to stop the Night Stalker before the body count rises, even if it means risking her job. But the victims might not be the only ones being watched Erika's own life could be on the line.

The global bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice is back with a heart-racing, electrifying thriller. If you love Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James, you'll be hooked on Robert Bryndza.

Watch out for more from DCI Erika Foster.

She's fearless. Respected. Unstoppable. Detective Erika Foster will catch a killer, whatever it takes.

1. THE GIRL IN THE ICE

2. THE NIGHT STALKER

What people are saying about The Night Stalker

'Erika is fast becoming one of my favourite detectivesI absolutely loved this heart-pounding, fast-paced, chilling crime thriller.' The Book Review Cafe

'Just when I thought it couldn't get any better...From the first page, we're sucked in with tension that had me holding my breath.' The Suspense is Thrilling Me

'A truly brilliant crime series!The Night Stalker made me feel like I had been swept up in a whirlwind and had me clinging on for dear life, only letting me go right at the very end.' By The Letter Book Reviews

'Intense, suspenseful, and clever__...a gripping page turner that is disturbingly real, and I highly recommend it.' What's Better Than Books?'

What everyone is saying about The Girl in the Ice

'I loved, loved, loved this book and Erika Foster is most definitely my kind of heroine. She is smart, tenacious, direct and passionateI found the writing tight, evocative and enthralling. I CAN NOT wait for the next installment.' Angela Marsons

'An intriguing web of lies, secrets and suspense. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Foster and am already looking forward to the next book.' Mel Sherratt

'A compelling read once you've started, it's hard to put down.' Rachel Abbott

***THE NO.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER***

‘This book is not only gripping, but it ends with a gasp-out-loud twist’ Closer

‘Tense, convincing ... kept me guessing’ Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Marshall and Cara Hunter.

Praise for Sam Carrington

‘A gripping exploration of twisted family secrets’ Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door

‘Saving Sophie is a twisted rollercoaster of a debut . . . Sam Carrington is definitely one to watch out for’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

‘A tense, pacy read. This story’s enough to put you off social media!’ Isabel Ashdown, author of Beautiful Liars

‘I was hooked ... I devoured this story in one sitting. Louise Jensen, author of The Sister

‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me…’

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan's home.

But something isn't right. Things disappear, Dan's acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace's mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie... or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl With No Past.

What people are saying about The Sister:

‘I was gripped to The Sister from the first page until the very end. I thought I had it all worked out until I was proven sooo wrong.’ Robert Bryndza

‘I could not put this book down. I neglected all the house work and put off cooking dinner until I was finished… I loved every page.’ Renee Reads

‘My eyes were racing down the pages… had me guessing right up to the very end and I had tears in my eyes as I relived Charlie's last moments… exceptional… It's an addictive page-turner that begs time and again for just one more chapter until the whole book has been devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.’ The Book Magnet

‘Wow! What an amazing debut novel! Full of intense twists! Fantastic book to start off summer reading! Highly recommend.’ Loud and Proud Book Junkie, 5 stars

‘I loved this book, it grabbed me right from the beginning.' Beady Jans Books

'I genuinely struggled to put this book down… I can't recommend this book enough, it's made it to my favourites... I can't wait for more books to come from Louise Jensen… A well-deserved five stars from me.' Emporio Epidemic

'I couldn't put my Kindle down until I had answers!!… I wasn't sure which characters to trust and which to not trust… a 5 star book that would make a fantastic summer read!' Steph and Chris’ Book Review

'As the skillfully woven web of lies and deceit starts to untangle the author throws in a massive twist that I certainly didn't see coming… a definite must read for all psychological thriller fans and it's one of those books that deserves to be talked about.' The Haphazardous Hippo

'One of those books that you can't stop thinking about even when you're not reading it!!... the tension never seems to drop for one second!… an absolute treat, albeit a scary one, to read!! Highly recommended!' Books and Me!

'Just as I thought the story was wrapping up BANG! I was hit again with another twist. Brilliant! It is chilling and sinister and yet heart-breaking and tragic, and I felt really emotional on finishing it… I can’t wait to read more by Louise.' Bloomin Brilliant Books

'OMG I love this... one corker of a psychological thriller which ticked all the boxes for me giving it an easy 5 stars.' Chelle’s Book Reviews

'Hooked from the first page till the end... A gripping tale for fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train. A must read.' Berlitz Chile

'I was left gaping… You cannot help but speed read through this novel. You have to know what happens.' Aloha Reviews

'I was hooked on the story from the word go.' Hollie in Wanderlust

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.