The Lie

· HarperCollins UK
4.2
518 reviews
eBook
480
Pages

About this eBook

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

This was no accident...

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . . .

4.2
518 reviews
Julie H
27 July 2016
I was hooked from a few chapters in and was looking forward to a good read. I found it rather predictable though. I was a little dissapointed when the shock twist that I had anticipated never came.
15 people found this review helpful
Debbie Callaghan-Scott
8 October 2016
The story reverts from 5 yrs previous to present time but it is so well written & easy to keep up with. I found this book so hard to put down, I battled with just reading another couple of pages & then going to sleep to realise hrs later I was still reading lol hence not much sleep for a couple of nights. Captivating story of loyalty between friends, that would test the closest friendship. It was so well written & i was sad when it ended. Just purchased Accident & cannot wait to start it
7 people found this review helpful
Ebony Holden Bythell
28 May 2016
I loved this book its so not like any book ive read jane is working at an animal sanctuary and one day she gets a letter that will lead you to find out about this whirlwind disaterous situation thats both scary and shocking its a great read i couldnt stop turning the pages and when i finished the book i was sad i didnt want it to end its one of the best books ive ever read
4 people found this review helpful

About the author

C.L. Taylor is a Sunday Times bestselling author. Her psychological thrillers have sold over a million copies in the UK alone, been translated into over twenty languages, and optioned for television. Her 2019 novel, Sleep, was a Richard and Judy pick. C.L. Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and son.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.