Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

· A Miss Morton Mystery Book 2 · Kensington Books
4.7
3 reviews
Ebook
304
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

From the author of the critically acclaimed Kurland St. Mary series, this new historical mystery series is “a charming cross between a Regency romance and a well‐constructed detective story” (Kirkus Reviews), and will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Deanna Raybourn.

Lady Caroline is happy to be back amid the swirl of London society, guiding her employer’s daughter, Dorothy Frogerton, through her first Season. Dorothy has been declared “an original” by a patron of the exclusive social club, Almack’s, and is sifting through potential suitors. Mrs. Frogerton, meanwhile, finds her own diversions, including spiritualist gatherings at the home of Madam Lavinia, and begs Caroline to come along.
 
Caroline is skeptical of Madam’s antics and faux French accent—until she slips a note into Caroline’s hand, which contains intimate family knowledge. Even as Caroline tries to discern whether the spiritualist’s powers are real, a much darker mystery presents itself. Madam Lavinia is found lifeless in her chair, a half-empty glass of port at her elbow. In her desk is a note addressed to Caroline, entreating her to find her murderer.
 
Caroline needs no psychic abilities to determine a motive, for it seems that Madam was blackmailing some of her clients and has left a trail of aggrieved aristocrats behind. But as Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton investigate further, they find other suspects, and a litany of deceptions, some very close to home. Now Caroline will need to keep all her wits about her if she is to stop others from joining Madam Lavinia in the afterlife . . .

Ratings and reviews

4.7
3 reviews
Lori Dykes
August 23, 2023
August 11, 2023 England 1830 Exciting, entertaining and a fun whodunit will have you enthralled to the last page! Lady Caroline, companion to Mrs Frogmorton, is in London trying to guide her employer's daughter through her come out in society. Meanwhile Mrs Frogmorton asks Caroline to attend a seance with Madame Lavinia. Of course, a murder occurs and it seems Madame had many enemies. Who could the culprit be? Delightful and engaging, you will be thoroughly engrossed until the end!!
Did you find this helpful?
Christine Woinich
September 11, 2023
I enjoy this duet of Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton. This time out, Mrs. Frogerton found spiritualism and dragged Caroline along. Secrets led to murder and a note for Caroline. I loved how they worked out the clues together. A bit on the long side, but overall, the secrets, danger, and witty conversations kept this story moving along. I received an ARC, and this is my unsolicited review.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Catherine Lloyd was born just outside London, England, into a large family of dreamers, artists, and history lovers. She completed her education with a master’s degree in history at the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, and uses the skills she gained there to research and write her historical mysteries. Catherine currently lives in Hawaii with her husband and four children. Her website is located at www.catherine-lloyd.com.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.