Skinny Me

A New Start

Book 1
Coastal Lines
Free sample

 Jennifer Carpenter dreams of being a different person – A person with confidence, a person with beauty, a person who weighs a heck of a lot less. At twenty-seven, her world falls apart. She’s out of work, her mother has died, her estranged brother is in a coma and, despite good qualifications, each and every job interview ends in another rejection. Marked by the teasing, taunts, and fat jokes that defined her childhood, Jennifer blames her current lack of success on her ever-growing waist band. 

In need of a change, Jennifer puts her dream of ‘skinny’ above all else. Obsessed with this mission, she devotes her life to becoming the ideal version of herself even if it means becoming alienated from the only people who love her. Determined to lose the weight she believes is ruining her life, Jennifer finds herself in danger of losing so much more.
Read more
162 total

Additional Information

Coastal Lines
Read more
Published on
Sep 2, 2014
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
You know that book that keeps you up at night, turning the pages as your eyes burn – and you tell yourself just one more chapter, then another and another, knowing you’ll pay for it in the morning, but you Just. Keep. Reading.

This is that book. This is that trilogy.

He’s broken. Her world is falling apart. Neither believes they will trust again.

Lincoln Fraser’s hiding out. His girlfriend cheated on him, he blew a major account at work, and now he’s lying to everyone he loves. After months of chugging craft beer and waking up filthy and alone, he’s ready to pack his bags and head to the woods. Literally.

Kali Johnson feels stuck. Her husband’s gone, her son won’t talk, and she’s living in a mold-filled apartment that's about to be condemned. Things couldn't get worse … until she hears the scurry of little feet in the night. Now she starts her days by checking traps for dead rats.

When a freak accident places Kali and her son in Lincoln’s path, a split-second decision alters their lives forever.

Thought-provoking and brutally honest, complex and deep, Behind Our Lives, Book One in the Behind Our Lives Trilogy, will grip you, breaking your heart at every turn. “Once you start reading, you won’t put it down.”  

Don’t believe me? That quote above comes from Sandra Landry, a reader who happened upon my book, kind of like you just did.

Curious to know if she’s right? Click Ebook to buy now and start reading today. Don’t blame me, or Sandra, if you’re tired tomorrow. We warned you.


Still not sure if you want to buy? That makes sense. The world is full of books, so why should you want this one?

Well, maybe you don't.

If you like characters who seem like paper doll cut outs—you know exactly what to expect from them—practically perfect people living practically perfect lives, and everything gets wrapped up nicely in the end, the way life is ... never, then this book isn't for you.

However, if you want a character you can see yourself in, even the not so great parts of yourself, if you want human frailties, realistic people in realistic situations, and if you won’t shy away when those people or situations get a little ugly—say when you’d like to give Kali a smack or tell Lincoln to smarten up already—then this is the book for you.

Because the truth is, you may not like the characters in this book all the time.

You may even hate them.

But if you've read this far and your interest is still piqued, as I mentioned before, I think they'll grip you.

Still not sure? Maybe it’ll help if you have something to compare the Behind Our Lives Trilogy to.

Love This Is Us?

If you’ve not seen it, it’s a TV drama (also on Netflix) full of characters who definitely don't have it together. They're prideful and stubborn and mess up. A lot.

They've got baggage, and not chic, designer baggage. This luggage is worn in. It's tattered, kinda stinks, and makes them kind of stink.

But, as the story unfolds, you get where they’re coming from. You see that with all their faults, they're also kind and generous and loyal.

They're doing the best they can with the lives they've been given and, in some circumstances, the lives they created for themselves.

That's Kali and Lincoln.

Prideful, stubborn, deeply wounded and so long as you don’t succumb to the occasional urge to throw the book across the room, hard not to love.


Ready to buy?

Move that cursor on over, click Ebook to buy now, and then please, once you’re all done, I’d love to know what you think either through a review or email or both!

Oh, you’re not ready to buy? No worries. Grab yourself a free sample. I dare you not to keep reading once you do.

Sometimes we’re lucky enough to get that second chance – in life and in love.  That Second Chance Series are stand-alone stories of strong women who battle heartache and loss with a courage and determination to find new paths and true love.  What ties them together? A common theme: belief in the beauty of that second chance.
Not Your Everyday Housewife is Book Five of That Second Chance Series.
A wise and humorous tale of living large after 40 as women finally make peace with themselves—wrinkles, blubber, neuroses, exes, and all.
Three women embark on a month-long “discovery” journey and uncover quite a few tidbits along the way…one bottle of Clairol Midnight will not cover a full head of red hair, and never talk to men wearing polyester pants hiked up with a tan belt. But most of what they unearth is about themselves—who they are, what they really want, what they really don’t want. The center of controversy is a Maid-for-You mixer, which symbolizes a boring, routine suburban life with no second chances—then along comes insight in the form of Tula Rae, a sixty-something salsa-dancing, Dalai Lama-quoting, four-time widow in Spandex and a gray braid who gives them a different perspective on life, love, do-overs, and the real reason a man buys his woman a Maid-for-You mixer, which she says is all about S-E-X.
That Second Chance Series:Book One: Pulling Home (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Promise)Book Two: The Way They Were (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Secret)Book Three: Simple Riches (Also prequel to A Family Affair: Winter)Book Four: Paradise FoundBook Five: Not Your Everyday HousewifeBook Six: The Butterfly Garden
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.