Hush Now Baby

Sloane Monroe

Book 6
Cheryl Bradshaw
94
Free sample

On a crisp, fall night, Serena Westwood wakes to the faint stirs of her crying baby. 

Bottle in hand, she tiptoes to the other side of the house, sneaks up to the crib, looks in. A wave of panic grips her as her real nightmare begins. Inside the crib, there is no baby.

If you're a fan of Sue Grafton and Mary Higgins Clark, you'll love these suspenseful mysteries.  

New York Times bestselling mystery series. 

"Bradshaw is a great storyteller." 

"The suspense is consuming!" 

"A fantastic, fast-paced detective novel." 

Read more

More by Cheryl Bradshaw

See more
4.5
94 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Cheryl Bradshaw
Read more
Published on
Jul 17, 2014
Read more
Pages
332
Read more
ISBN
9781500258979
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Legal
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Meet Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend. She’s nice. Too nice to be a police officer, if she’s honest.

Now assigned to DI Donald Murphy’s team, the annoyingly-perky detective finds herself in the grip of a northern British winter, investigating the kidnap-murders of two young women - both strikingly similar in appearance. When a third is taken, they have less than a week to chip away the secrets of a high-society family, and uncover the killer’s objective.


But Richard - the father of the latest victim - believes the police are not moving quickly enough, so launches a parallel investigation, utilising skills honed in a dark past that is about to catch up with him.


As Richard’s secret actions hinder the police, Alicia remains in contact with him, and even starts to fall for his charms, forcing her into choices that will impact the rest of her life.


For a chilling serial killer thriller with a quirky main character, pick up His First His Second today!


˃˃˃ Reviews


CrimeFictionLover.com “An intriguing mix of police procedural and serial killer thriller, that will tease, involve and unnerve you. An entertaining and intriguing debut.”


Undercover Book Reviews: “Want a book with twists and turns? This is the one. It will not disappoint.”


AUTHOR Q&A


Q: Alicia Friend is kind of an oddball, isn’t she?


A: I’d say she’s unique. She knows who she wants to be and she doesn’t compromise, but most police officers she meets are dour and grumpy, and she sees how that impacts their personal lives. She doesn’t want to be as hard-nosed as many women sleuths in fiction, so radiates the sort of perkiness that sometimes grates on her fellow officers. But it’s who she is.


Q: Despite having a quirky woman sleuth as main character, the novel goes to some dark places.


A: Yes. I found that at one point I was trying to include ALL my research, and I’m really aiming for a thrill ride as much a straight police procedural. I originally included the sort of forensic details you get with Patricia Cornwell or Kathy Reichs, but it wasn’t right for this book. I keep it as accurate as possible, but it’s about the characters and how they uncover secrets, both externally and within the police.


Q: So who is your ideal reader?


A: Fans of serial killer books in general. If you like James Patterson, PJ Tracy or Steven James, Mark Billingham or Ian Rankin, Alicia Friend’s series could be worth checking out.


Q: What levels of violence and bad language are there?


A: Some of the violence is graphic, but the language ... that goes as strong as references to one’s posterior and some faecal synonyms, if you get my meaning. No “F” or “C” words, as I don’t think Alicia’s audience appreciates that.


Q: And how, exactly, do you come up with a character like Alicia?


A: She is based on a real person. But very loosely. The essence is there, although I had to invent certain aspects for dramatic effect. The parts from real life are: a ditzy, perky outer shell, yet possesses a fierce intelligence, true dedication, and being brilliant at her job.


Q: So the real Alicia Friend isn’t a serving police officer?


A: No, she isn’t. And if she was, I certainly wouldn’t say so here.


Alicia Friend Books In Order:


His First His Second


In Black In White


With Courage With Fear


A Friend in Spirit


To Hide To Seek (novella for summer 2018)


©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.