Love Songs for Sceptics: A laugh-out-loud debut love story you won't want to miss!

Simon and Schuster
1

A fantastic debut from a HILARIOUS and brilliantly ORIGINAL NEW VOICE in women’s fiction . . .
 
‘I loved it. It’s an absolute joy . . . I finished the book with a huge smile on my face’ BETH O’LEARY, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Flatshare

‘A dazzling debut. Christina has a fresh, fun voice – I laughed and cried in abundance!’ HEIDI SWAIN, Sunday Times bestselling author

My brother’s getting married in a few weeks and asked for help picking a song for his first dance. I suggested Kiss’s ‘Love’s a Slap in the Face’.

It didn’t go down well.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost twenty years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever . . .

But as obstacles continue to get in her way – Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding, and an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin her career – Zoë begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be.

What if, despite what all the songs and movies say, your first love isn't always all it's cracked up to be? What if, instead Zoë and Simon are forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite getting the steps right . . .

With a smart, relatable central character and razor-sharp wit, Love Songs for Sceptics is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lucy Vine and Lindsey Kelk. 

‘Brilliantly written, Love Songs for Sceptics is warm, engaging and so funny. I am officially a huge fan and can't wait for more from Christina’ LUCY VINE

‘Christina is a breath of fresh air, and her book throbs with fun and sentiment. A wry modern eye and a sparkling debutJULIET ASHTON, author of The Sunday Lunch Club 

'Engaging, relatable and brilliantly funny!' JOANNA BOLOURI, author of Relight My Fire

‘An exciting new talent. Funny, sharp and real – it’ll make your heart sing’ LAURA KEMP, author of The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

'I loved this book. Christina’s debut is funny, relatable, and smart. And also made me hungry for Greek food!' CATHERINE BENNETTO, author of How Not to Fall in Love Actually  
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Christina Pishiris was born in London to Greek Cypriot parents, who used to bribe her to go to family weddings by promising that George Michael might be there. To deal with the inevitable disappointment, she began scribbling stories on napkins and has been writing ever since. She started her career as a journalist, specialising in the TV industry, before going freelance. Since meeting her film-maker husband she’s also moved into production, working on music documentaries. Her hobbies include compiling cheesy 80s playlists, coveting the neighbour’s cat and writing protest letters to Guerlain after they discontinued her favourite perfume.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 28, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
320
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781471185816
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / New Adult
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Romance / Workplace
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.