The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction

· Bookouture
4.5
10 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook



“Absolutely heartbreaking… Gripped me from the first page and I read it in one sitting!… Will stay with me for a long time.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


1942, Czechoslovakia: Gently, she lowered the sleeping infant, swaddled in blankets, down into the tiny, dark space and carefully replaced the wooden floorboards. As she stepped back, she heard the slamming of doors, voices shouting in German and the sound of dogs beginning to bark…


When the Gestapo arrive to arrest Magda’s kind, Jewish employers—clever Dr Tauber and his talented wife—she has only moments to save their tiny new-born son Samuel by placing him in a makeshift hiding place beneath the floor in her room.


With the Taubers gone, their alpine villa is taken over by a brutal Nazi commander, who is determined to hunt down Resistance fighters in the mountains. Trapped in the house, Magda manages to get Samuel into hiding with her friends in the Resistance. Magda supports the cause, passing coded messages about the commander and smuggling much-needed supplies to their secret network.


Magda is playing a dangerous game and it isn’t only her life on the line. And she will need to risk more than she ever thought possible to keep Samuel safe...


A heart-breaking wartime epic of love, bravery, survival and one young woman’s exceptional courage, set against the backdrop of wild and beautiful forests and mountains. Perfect for fans of My Name is EvaThe Alice Network and The German Midwife, this novel will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.


Previously published as Magda’s Mark, this edition has substantial editorial changes.


Praise for The Girl from the Mountains:


Fantastic!!! There wasn’t a moment when I wasn’t gripped!... My heart really ached… Incredibly gripping!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Kept me up all night and I finished this book with tears in my eyes after I read the ending!... Powerful, gripping… Unputdownable… Five stars!” Tropical Girl Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A gripping story that will stay with you long after you have put it down… I highly recommend.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I could barely put down the bookI smiled, cried… I recommend it to all history lovers!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What a story!... I loved the ending!” NetGalley reviewer


Grab a few tissues… Such a powerful story you must read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I loved Magda… A unique and gripping novel. It was hard to put it down.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping read… Magda is a compelling heroine … The authenticity of time and place was captured so well.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wonderful intense read… So vivid you will feel you are there. I could not put this story down. I loved the book.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Riveting, intense… From the very beginning you feel like you're amidst the chaos, the heartbreak, the despair but also the incredible bravery and spirit of the people in WWII.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.5
10 reviews
Kristina Hopf
February 3, 2021
**a huge thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with an ARC!** At the dawn of the Second World War, Magda must find a way to survive as the horrors of Nazi Germany make their way through her beloved Czechoslovakia. This book tells the story of loss, and the story of learning how to fight back. This book was absolutely beautiful. I’ve read several books in this genre—World War II fiction with strong heroines—and while I usually enjoy them, it’s difficult to make one stand out. The Girl from the Mountains stands out. From the very first page, I was drawn in; Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger has an absolutely beautiful writing style that makes her characters come to life. If there is anything I am an absolute sucker for, it is how the author set up the prologue, It is set a few years into the war, and thus a few years into the story; this is one of my absolute favorite tropes, when properly executed. This book properly executed it, and then some. I was kept on the edge, anxious to see how the story unfolded to get to where the prologue introduced you. When characters mentioned appeared in the book, I was excited and engaged. With such a strong start, there was no way this book wouldn’t be amazing. More than anything else, I adored how Magda changed throughout this book. Trauma shaped her, and her changes throughout the book were not always for the better. There were times when she was scared or cold or cruel, even as she grew into her role as a resistance fighter. Something about seeing the worst parts of Magda amplified against the backdrop of her circumstances made her feel so achingly human. Early on, she endures some very traumatic events that seemed a bit too glossed over at the time, but as the book progressed, this decision made more sense. The poignancy of this book blew me away and is sure to stick with me. And, of course, the ending made me cry—but I’ll leave it at that, because this isn’t something that should be spoiled. I keep trying and trying to come up with some meaningful criticism, but I can’t. If you’re interested in historical fiction at all, please read this.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sharon Friedman
February 3, 2021
In The Girl from the Mountains, author Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger delivers a beautifully written story of self-discovery, courage, sacrifice, and an indomitable will to survive. Exhaustively researched, this WWII historical novel leaps off the page, detailing the journey of the protagonist, Magda, from a frightened Czechoslovakian farm girl to a dedicated resistance fighter. Populated with well-drawn, believable characters, and filled with edge-of-your-seat moments, The Girl from the Mountains is a gripping story that will stay for you long after you have put it down. I highly recommend it as an addition to your TBR list.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
Everything about showing love requires an act of courage. Absolutely everything. But loving yourself is perhaps the most heroic act a person can perform. What an incredible story! The author takes a ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.