Stig of the Dump

Open Road Media
Ages 9-12
5
Free sample

A boy befriends a young caveman in this modern children’s classic of friendship and adventure.
 
Barney isn’t supposed to go near the chalk pit. His grandmother and sister both told him the edge could give way and he could fall in—but what else is he supposed to do on a miserable gray day?
 
It’s not long before Barney falls into the pit and bumps his head. But where he lands is more than an old garbage dump: It’s a home. There’s a little hut built out of discarded junk, and more surprisingly, there’s a boy, about Barney’s age, inside. He speaks in grunts instead of English, wears a rabbit-skin loincloth, has shaggy black hair, and might be named something that sounds like “Stig.” Barney befriends him immediately.
 
Together, Barney and Stig go on all sorts of adventures, building a chimney for Stig’s hut, joining a foxhunt, stopping robbers, and catching a leopard escaped from the circus!
 
Barney and Stig’s escapades have been delighting children for more than fifty years, while addressing important topics such as bullying, recycling, and language barriers. This timeless classic is sure to captivate readers young and old with its wit, imagination, and sense of adventure.
Read more

More by Clive King

See more
Three brothers embark on daring journeys in this epic of high adventure that reimagines the origins of monumental discoveries in ancient history.
 
Afraid that Aleph may have taught his sister, Beth, the priestly writing, his father sends him to climb the mountain as punishment. But Aleph couldn’t teach Beth the sacred writing even if he tried—there are so many symbols, and he just can’t seem to learn them. Instead, he and Beth have invented a new way of writing with only twenty-two letters. But his father won’t hear it, and so Aleph must go up the mountain to count the felled trees at the lumber camp.
 
Near the top of the mountain, however, Aleph discovers that all is not as it should be: The camp is empty! Curious, he sets off to find the loggers, never suspecting that the writing game he played with his sister will become invaluable, nor that his search will take him much farther than the mountaintop.
 
Meanwhile, Aleph’s two older brothers are on journeys of their own. Zayin, the eldest and a general in their city-state Gebal’s small army, is on a quest to find monsters in the Valley of the Centaurs. Nun, the second son, aims for the sea and the Court of Minos.
 
Then, grave news sends all three brothers hurrying home to protect their small city. But something even more disastrous looms on the horizon . . .
 
From beloved children’s author Clive King (Stig of the Dump), The 22 Letters is an epic tale of three great advances in history, told through the adventures of four young siblings.
 
4.2
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Published on
Sep 6, 2016
Read more
Pages
184
Read more
ISBN
9781504037686
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Juvenile Fiction / Classics
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Three brothers embark on daring journeys in this epic of high adventure that reimagines the origins of monumental discoveries in ancient history.
 
Afraid that Aleph may have taught his sister, Beth, the priestly writing, his father sends him to climb the mountain as punishment. But Aleph couldn’t teach Beth the sacred writing even if he tried—there are so many symbols, and he just can’t seem to learn them. Instead, he and Beth have invented a new way of writing with only twenty-two letters. But his father won’t hear it, and so Aleph must go up the mountain to count the felled trees at the lumber camp.
 
Near the top of the mountain, however, Aleph discovers that all is not as it should be: The camp is empty! Curious, he sets off to find the loggers, never suspecting that the writing game he played with his sister will become invaluable, nor that his search will take him much farther than the mountaintop.
 
Meanwhile, Aleph’s two older brothers are on journeys of their own. Zayin, the eldest and a general in their city-state Gebal’s small army, is on a quest to find monsters in the Valley of the Centaurs. Nun, the second son, aims for the sea and the Court of Minos.
 
Then, grave news sends all three brothers hurrying home to protect their small city. But something even more disastrous looms on the horizon . . .
 
From beloved children’s author Clive King (Stig of the Dump), The 22 Letters is an epic tale of three great advances in history, told through the adventures of four young siblings.
 
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star

· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.