Cry of the Sea: A Mermaid Novel

Fire & Ice Young Adult Books
Free sample

Mermaids are real.

When seventeen-year-old Juniper Sawfeather rescues three mermaids from an oil spill she thinks sharing her discovery will convince people to fight against oil pollution.

But she's wrong.

Things quickly spiral out of control. How can she prevent the mermaids from being exploited by the media? Or murdered by the oil company?


Cry of the Sea has won two literary awards.

2nd place in the 2016 Purple Dragonfly Children's Book Awards
2nd place in the 2015 Green Book Festival (YA category)



Juniper Sawfeather Trilogy
Cry of the Sea
Whisper of the Woods
Echo of the Cliffs
Read more
Collapse

About the author

  D. G. Driver sold her first story in 1995 and has been writing ever since. Echo of the Cliffs is Driver’s fourth book with Fire and Ice. Her other books are Cry of the Sea, Whisper of the Woods, and Passing Notes. In addition, she has a short story in Kick Ass Girls of Fire and Ice YA Books, and in the Satin Romance anthology Second Chance for Love. She is a member of SCBWI Midsouth and lives in Nashville with her family. Please follow her on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook. And if you really want to help make her writing career blossom, please consider leaving a review on Amazon or Goodreads.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Fire & Ice Young Adult Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 23, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
264
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781612357874
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Animals / Marine Life
Young Adult Fiction / Diversity & Multicultural
Young Adult Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General
Young Adult Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Young Adult Fiction / Magical Realism
Young Adult Fiction / Mermaids
Young Adult Fiction / Nature & the Natural World / Environment
Young Adult Fiction / People & Places / United States / Native American
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When her little sister runs away with Peter Pan, Gwen goes on a daring journey to get her back. But what happens when Neverland collides with the real world? An enchanting fairy-tale retelling!

This breathtakingly magical adventure fantasy series is perfect for fans of Splintered, Cinder, and A Court of Thorns and Roses. 

Magic can do a lot—give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That's what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and bring their children home.

However, Gwen doesn't know this. She's just a sixteen-year-old girl with a place on the debate team and a powerful crush on Jay, the soon-to-be homecoming king. She doesn't know her little sister could actually run away with Peter Pan, or that she might have to chase after her to bring her home safe. Gwen will find out though—and when she does, she'll discover she's in the middle of a looming war between Neverland and reality.

She'll be out of place as a teenager in Neverland, but she won't be the only one. Peter Pan's constant treks back to the mainland have slowly aged him into adolescence as well. Soon, Gwen will have to decide whether she's going to join impish, playful Peter in his fight for eternal youth… or if she's going to scramble back to reality in time for the homecoming dance.

"Greathouse took a classic story that has been retold over and over again and added her own unique twist....Excellently written." (Teen Reads)

"Gwen's description of growing up and high school life is one of the most accurate that I've ever read." (Across the Bookiverse)

"The author creates such a peaceful and serene place that it felt likeescape just reading about it...Through this world, the author explores the themes of what it means to grow up." (K.E. Carson, The Underground)



Books for teens

Peter Pan retelling

Fairytale adaptation

Magic

YA books

YA Novels

YA best sellers

Teen fiction trilogy

Teen fiction 

Teen fiction books for boys

Teen fiction books for girls

runaway siblings lost 

sisters adventure 

peter pan in Neverland 

high school adventure 

coming of age teen 

mermaid girls fairytale

contemporary family fantasy

Peter Pan Neverland 

Pied Piper 

Fairy tale retelling adaptation 

young adult fairy tale folklore myths

 fantasy adventure childhood growing up 

books about fairies fae 

teen high school modern fairy tale 

Peter Pan

Neverland

Fairytale

Adventure

Flying

Adulthood

Childhood

Growing Up

Fairies

Sisters

Teenager

High School

Fantasy

Contemporary

Mermaids

Lost

Party

Kidnapping

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold—a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country’s magical military elite—and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

A New York Times Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
An Indie Next List Book
This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for the Grishaverse

“A master of fantasy.” —The Huffington Post
“Utterly, extremely bewitching.” —The Guardian
“The best magic universe since Harry Potter.” —Bustle
“This is what fantasy is for.” —The New York Times Book Review
“[A] world that feels real enough to have its own passport stamp.” —NPR
“The darker it gets for the good guys, the better.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Sultry, sweeping and picturesque. . . . Impossible to put down.” —USA Today
“There’s a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo’s original epic fantasy that sets it apart.” —Vanity Fair
“Unlike anything I’ve ever read.” —Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
“Bardugo crafts a first-rate adventure, a poignant romance, and an intriguing mystery!” —Rick Riordan, bestselling author of the Percy Jackson series
“This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien.” ?RT Book Reviews
Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.