Sleep

The Killers

Book 1
Brian Crowell
2

Flash Fiction. The heat, the noise, the grinding fan... Mark's having trouble sleeping. Only one thing will help.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

D Lee Warren is a pen name used by American author Brian "BD" Crowell.  Under the Warren moniker, he writes horror, suspense, and supernatural fiction.

Find out more about D Lee Warren and his Stories that Disturb at www.dleewarren.com.
Read more
Collapse
3.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Brian Crowell
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 19, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
7
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“The man was clearly insane. He wanted to kill them all. The Baby Boomers. The Generation Xers. Hated them worse than lepers. He wanted to kill them in their cars.”


In the tradition of Infinite Jest and White Noise comes a novel of a darkly satirical alternate future... 

 

Los Angeles. The mid-2020’s. Rock MacLean is an A-list actor at the height of his fame…handsome and wealthy. But middle age is creeping up. With nowhere to go but down, his wife is threatening to leave him and take their two little girls. No wonder—even Rock thinks he might be a sex addict. Far from having it all, Rock’s about to lose everything. And he doesn’t even care.

 

But when a drug deal with Nicaraguan gangsters goes sour, Rock finds himself in the path of Dewey Lane—a fanatical army colonel with a plan to wipe Southern California off the map. Trapped in a mountainside bunker, Rock watches helplessly as Dewey sets off an electronic pulse—causing the simultaneous destruction of every automobile in Los Angeles.

 

But that’s only phase one of Dewey’s plan. Phase two? Nuclear Armageddon. And only Rock can stop it. 1980 “The Year the Past Disappeared” is a novel where delusion, sex, and cheap weapons of mass terror intersect in a satirical look at a materialistic and cynical future. 


From inside the novel…

 

“Spare me the speech. The plan's in motion. There's no way to stop me.”

“You're going to blow the top off this mountain?”

Dewey laughed. “No, I'm going to blow up the crust of the earth under Los Angeles. Let it catch fire. I suppose you had time to examine the tools where I left you the last time.”

“Yeah, but—”

“Next to that conveyor belt is a bore hole. Reaching down twenty-five kilometers into the earth. It's super hot. That's where the bomb will drop, hitting terminal velocity in a vacuum, once the air is sucked out of the hole.”

“What is this?” said Rock. “Some kind of science experiment?”

“The computer simulation—”

“Bullshit. You have no idea what you're doing. That bomb won't destroy anything underground. The Soviets have been doing this for almost a century.”

“Don't be so sure.”

“Tell me, did you create the tsunami, too?”

Dewey smiled. “I doubt it. But who knows what causes earthquakes, right? This IS Los Angeles. Whole lotta shaking going on.”

“And you think the army hasn't noticed you have one of their warheads?”

“They've lost track of dozens. In China and Africa. One more won't make much of a difference. Besides, plenty of people in the government know who I am and what I intend to do. They've been surveilling me for months, but they have done nothing. The spies are hoping for an increase in their budgets. Most of those bureaucrats in Washington and Chicago can't stand California anyway. Tell them Los Angeles is going to fall into the ocean and they'd applaud.”

A NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2019 SELECTION

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.