Her Ocean Grave: An absolutely gripping crime thriller

· Detective Abby Pearce Book 1 · Bookouture
4.6
28 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

The teenage girl in the picture has bright eyes and a smudge of chocolate on her chin. It’s her birthday and she looks self-consciously beautiful in her floral party dress. But nobody has seen this girl’s sweet smile for days. She has vanished without a trace.


Enclosed by endless beaches and crashing waves, the sleepy little island of Martha’s Vineyard is a place where everyone knows each other’s name and locals can leave their front doors unlocked at night without worry. But everything changes the day that Samantha Clayton leaves for an afternoon bike ride along the cliff tops, and never comes home.


Detective Abby Pearce has the difficult job of interviewing the girl’s grieving mother and silent stepfather. But why can’t they answer simple questions about what Samantha was wearing the day she went missing, or who her friends were? Did her family know her at all?


Then a girl’s bright pink shoe is discovered buried on a local beach. What if Samantha is not the first innocent teenager to be taken, but the latest? Another victim is found dead days later, and the terrified residents demand to know what’s happening to their children. But the killer is already planning his next move and more young lives will be taken if Abby doesn’t figure out what secrets this small town is hiding…


An absolutely unputdownable and nail-biting crime thriller that will have you racing through the pages. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Gregg Olsen.


What readers are saying about Her Ocean Grave:


“I really loved it and had to finish it in one day!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


This book I couldn’t put down! I loved Abby’s character. She is fierce and unstoppable!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“A fast-paced and engrossing read.” Goodreads reviewer


“I couldn’t put it down.” Goodreads reviewer


“A great start to a new mystery series.” Goodreads reviewer


What readers are saying about Dana Perry:


WOW, WOW, WOW. I absolutely loved this book. It completely blew my mind and I have not been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading it! I devoured this in one sitting… Magnificent.” Once Upon a Time Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved, loved this book. It totally blew my mind. From beginning to end it was a thrill rideSo chilling and tense… Outstanding!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Addicted to this book… As soon as I started to read, I just knew that I wouldn’t be able to put the book down… One hell of a rollercoaster ride.” Ginger Book Geek, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brilliant… gripping and addictive, it will pull you in from the first page… A must-read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Kept me up well past my bedtime, I could not put it down.” Goodreads reviewer


So many thrilling twists and turns… Just could not put it down… highly recommend.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Phenomenal… I did not want to put it down. I was blown away by this book... brilliant.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.6
28 reviews
Sheila Sobel
June 3, 2021
“Her Ocean Grave” is a well-crafted police procedural with an exciting new character in Detective Abby Pearce. She’s capable. She’s smart. And, like every complex, compelling protagonist, she’s flawed. It’s what makes her relatable. That, and her thirty-five-pound dachshund, Oscar. In Detective Abby Pearce, Dana Perry has not only introduced readers to a thrilling new series but has left us anxiously awaiting the release of book two.
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Janice Tangen
April 14, 2021
friction, Massachusetts, abduction, law-enforcement, family-dynamics, detective, suspense, due-diligence, corruption, betrayal, red-herrings, reporter, alcohol-issues, trust-issues***** The publisher's blurb is a really good hook and only a little misleading so I won't go there, and spoilers are just wrong. There is a bit of possible romance, can't be called a procedural for a few reasons but the due diligence seems impeccable. Very well written and the suspense is awesome. I really loved it and had to finish it in one day! I requested and received a free temporary ebook copy from Bookouture via NetGalley. Thank you!
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Jo W
July 18, 2022
My first book written by this author and it certainly won't be my last. I'm already looking forward to your next book in this series. Well written and a good ending that wasn't predictable, certainly keeps you wanting to read more.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.