Neverland: A Supernatural Thriller

Alkemara Press
29
Free sample

What calls to the children from within the dark shadows of the shack called Neverland? New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Douglas Clegg blends dark suspense and gothic horror in Neverland, a novel of deadly secrets and innocence corrupted. What lurks within the shack? What kinds of dangerous — and deadly — games do the children play there? 

For years, the Jackson family vacationed at their matriarch's old Victorian house on Gull Island, a place of superstition and legend off the southern coast of the U.S. One particular summer, young Beau follows his cousin Sumter into a shack hidden among the brambles and windswept trees near bluffs overlooking the sea. 

And within Neverland, the mysteries and terror grow... 

For fans of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and Bentley Little. 

"Neverland is a masterpiece of dark suspense that will forever haunt your dreams." - Douglas Preston, New York Times Bestselling Author of Impact and (with Lincoln Child) of Relic and Gideon's Corpse. 

"Douglas Clegg's Neverland is an unforgettable novel that combines creeping horror and psychological suspense. It starts like a bullet and never slows down." - David Morrell, New York Times Bestselling Author of Murder as a Fine Art. 

“This is a powerful and thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg’s best novel yet. The novel builds in whispers and ends in a scream. You will never forget Neverland.” - F. Paul Wilson, New York Times Bestselling Author of Nightworld and the Repairman Jack series. 

"From start to finish, Neverland is a haunting and tragic masterpiece. A powerful, thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg tells Beau and Sumner's incredible story with a subtle blend of humor and sadness that resonates with the reader long after the novel ends.” - Marjorie M. Liu, New York Times Bestselling Author. 

“A brilliant novel that grows richer with each reading, a multilayered marvel that will one day be recognized as one of the classics of supernatural literature.” - Bentley Little, Bestselling Author of The Influence and The Haunted. 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." - Dean Koontz, New York Times Bestselling Author of Odd Thomas and Innocence. 

"Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills. Neverland is Clegg at his best." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times Bestselling Author of Girl Missing and the Rizzoli & Isles series of novels. 

“Douglas Clegg . . . could have hung out with (in a better world) Robert R. McCammon, Bentley Little and Stephen King. These are guys who know America, and know how to literally scare up the best and worst aspects of the American character and slap them into a ripping yarn full of monsters, terror and enough action to keep the pages turning late into the night.” - Rick Kleffel, book commentator for NPR 

“Combing elements of H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, southern gothic, and adolescent angst, Douglas Clegg subsumes us in horror with Neverland, a tale so chilling it infected my dreams. Clegg builds horror in rich detailed layers. It is a testament to Clegg’s gifts that we can’t turn away; scary though the trip may be, the fright reaches out from the pages and pulls us along…Neverland is scary stuff, the product of a skilled writer of horror, and best read with the lights on.” - San Francisco Book Reviews 

“I can tell you without hesitation that Neverland is a true gothic masterpiece. I am incredibly impressed with it. This is a remarkable piece of literature.”- Scott A. Johnson, Dread Central.com 

"Neverland is a scary work written by an author soaring to the top of his game." - The Merry Genre Go Round Review. 

“Neverland delivers . . . delicious slow horror…I’m going to put a library hold on one of Clegg’s other novels, because if they’re anything like this one, I’m an instant fan.” - Sci-Fi Saturday Night.



Read more
Collapse

More by Douglas Clegg

See more
A hero rises from the shadows of a Dark Age in this epic of "sword, sorcery — and vampires" from New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg.

Aleric the falconer meets his destiny in the bloody clutches of the seductive Pythia, sending him on a quest to unearth the mysteries and mythology of the ancient vampyre race. Set in a medieval world of pagan forests and buried kingdoms, dangerous magic and vengeance beyond lifetimes, The Priest of Blood is historical dark fantasy like none before

Be sure to get the rest of the Vampyricon trilogy:


The Lady of Serpents, Book Two 
The Queen of Wolves, Book Three 

“Astonishing. Douglas Clegg writes of…nightmares with such clarity and passion you don’t end up reading his books; you end up drinking them in. The Priest of Blood is a bloody gem.”— Christopher Rice, New York Times bestselling author. 

"A dark tale of swords, sorcery— and vampires." — Christine Feehan, NY Timesbestselling author 

"Douglas Clegg has accomplished a rarity in the horror vein...This book will sink its teeth into you" — The Kansas City Star 

"Richly layered, beautifully rendered foray into a past filled with sorcery and mystery -- and a rousing good story." — Kelley Armstrong, New York Times bestselling author 

"Stunning...gives the iconic vampire a massive makeover." — Publishers Weekly, starred review. 

Discover Douglas Clegg's fiction: 

Lights Out 
Neverland 
The Children’s Hour 
The Halloween Man 
You Come When I Call You 
The Hour Before Dark 
Nightmare House 
Bad Karma 
Goat Dance 
Breeder 
Afterlife 
Purity 
Dark of the Eye 
The Words 
Wild Things 
Red Angel 
Night Cage 
Mischief 
The Infinite 
The Abandoned 
The Necromancer 
Isis 
Naomi 
The Nightmare Chronicles 
The Attraction 
Night Asylum 
The Priest of Blood 
The Lady of Serpents 
The Queen of Wolves 

FIC009070 FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy 
FIC009020 FICTION / Fantasy / Epic 
FIC009030 FICTION / Fantasy / Historical 
FIC015000 FICTION / Horror 
FIC024000 FICTION / Occult & Supernatural

4.1
29 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Alkemara Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 14, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780990464808
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.